5th dnd – Can an intellectual devourer use Devour Intellect when he lives in the body of a creature?

In the MM (p.191), it is said that a devouring intellect, while using its Body Thief action:

keeps his scores of intelligence, wisdom and charisma, as well as his understanding of deep speech, his telepathy and his traits. It also adopts target statistics.

is Devour the intellect, an action that the devouring intellect has, considered a trait?

It seems to me that traits range from scores of his abilities to monster statistics block actions, so he could not use Devour the intellect by controlling the body of another.

Does anyone have a glimpse of that?