5th dnd – Does Absorb Elements combine with the far fate of a wizard?

According to this question "Is a melee attack also a melee attack?" a melee spell attack is a melee attack. This means that if I cast the Absorbent Elements after being hit by a Firebolt, I can add 1d6 Fire damage to my next stunning shot.

My question is: as a wizard, can I associate this with the Metamagic option for remote spells? Using a witchcraft point allows me to give a touch a range of 30 feet. Is Shocking Grip now a melee attack with a range of 30 feet and therefore eligible for additional damage dealt by Absorb Elements?