dnd 5e – How to change the state of *Arms of the Betrayers* weapons?

So at some point my character is going to end up finding or buying the Ruins Wake (The magical spear made by the Arms of the Betrayers). This is the Ruins Wake

This spear is made from the ivory bone of an ancient gold dragon and carved with an Orc hymn to Gruumsh.

Sentience. Ruin’s Wake is a sentient chaotic evil weapon with an Intelligence of 20, a Wisdom of 16, and a Charisma of 22. It has hearing and darkvision out to a range of 120 feet.
The weapon communicates telepathically with its wielder and can speak, read, and understand Abyssal, Common, and Orc.

Personality. A slaughter-loving balor named Yarrowish lives within Ruin’s Wake. The weapon desires only to draw blood and pushes its wielder to solve problems with violence.

Dormant. The spear grants the following benefits in its dormant state:
You can speak, read, and write Abyssal and Orc.
You gain a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with this magic weapon, and it deals an extra 1d8 piercing damage to any target it hits. Immediately after you make a ranged attack with this weapon, it flies back to your hand.
As a reaction when you are hit by a melee attack, you can make a melee attack with Ruin’s Wake with advantage against the attacker. You can’t use this property again until you finish a short or long rest.

Awakened. When the spear reaches an awakened state, it gains the following properties:
The weapon’s bonus to attack and damage rolls increases to +2, and the extra piercing damage dealt by the weapon increases to 2d8.
When you hurl the spear and speak a command word, it transforms into a bolt of lightning, forming a line 5 feet wide that extends out from you to a creature you can see within 120 feet of you. Each creature in the line, excluding you, must make a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw, taking 8d6 lightning damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. Ruin’s Wake then returns to your hand. This property can’t be used again until the next dawn.

Exalted. When the spear reaches an exalted state, it gains the following properties:
The weapon’s bonus to attack and damage rolls increases to +3.
While holding the spear, you can let out a battle cry as a bonus action. Each creature you choose within 30 feet of you gains advantage on attack rolls until the start of your next turn. This property can’t be used again until the next dawn.
When you reduce a creature to 0 hit points with an attack from the spear, you can regain hit points equal to the damage you dealt with the attack. This property can’t be used again until the next dawn.

So my question is that there is three listed states (Dormant, Awakened, & Exalted), and I am unsure of how to change the state and which state it starts on.