finder – Macos alternate merging and replacing folders when copying?

For some reason, macos offers me to merge folders from time to time when I copy a folder to a destination that already has one of the same name. Other times a almost the same A dialog box appears in which I am offered to "replace" the folder instead. I do not know why Apple is trying to get me to overwrite my data this way, but they have recently succeeded.

How can I systematically obtain the possibility of merging files?