Is it possible to securely factory wipe a phone directly after encrypting it?

I would really like to make my phone more secure. But at the same time I want to be able to factory wipe it any time. I’m afraid that factory wiping could brick the phone/makes it unusable. So is it safe to wipe the phone directly after encrypting it?