Mac deleting files that can’t be recovered

I just tested this out with a folder I didn’t care about. And it’s really terrifying to know that Mac has no failsafe for this that I know of!

Say you have an empty folder – let’s call it “FOLDER 1” but you don’t know it’s empty…

so you drag it into a “parent folder” that contains a copy of “FOLDER 1” with all the files in it it’s supposed to have.

You’ll be asked to “replace” that folder but never warned that you are replacing the full folder with an empty folder.

Why? Please someone – tell me why!? And when you try to undo this – you’ll get an error – and those files are not in recycling bin – or anywhere after that. Just gone. lol