pathfinder 1st – Does the telekinetic explosion of a kinetician literally mean to manually launch a physical object?

Does the telekinetic explosion of a kinetician literally mean manually launching a physical object?

Telekinetic explosion

Element (s) ether; Type simple explosion (Sp); Level -; Burn 0
Breath type: physical; Bleeding, perforating or nicked damage

You cast an unattended object nearby on a single enemy in the form of a ranged attack. The item should not weigh more than 5 pounds per level of kineticist you own. If the attack hits, the target and object thrown each take damage from the explosion. Since the object is wrapped in ether strands, even if you use this power on a magic weapon or some other unusual object, the attack does not use any of the bonuses or effects of the magic weapon; it's just about your blast damage. Alternatively, you can loosen the ether strands in order to inflict damage to both the object and the target, as if you had launched it yourself (instead of Inflict your normal explosion damage).

You substitute your constitution modifier for your force modifier if the launch of the object would have added your force modifier to the damage roll, and you do not take the penalty of -4 on the attack roll for throwing an object that was not designed to be launched. . In this case, the special effects of the object apply (including the effects of its materials), and if the object is a weapon, you must be competent with it and be able to handle it with one hand; otherwise, the item deals damage as a one-hand improvised weapon for a creature of your size.

I've always thought that it worked a lot like the Telekinesis spell using the Push Thrust option. This also has a weight limit of 5 pounds per level. Does this not mean that you need X Str to be able to lift bigger objects?

Also, how does this affect the Physical and Energy Explosion option of this capability?
How can you do a remote touch attack with a physically launched object?

Violent thrust:
Alternatively, the energy of the spell can be spent in one turn. You can cast an item or creature by a maximum of 15 spellcasting levels within range and within 10 feet of each other to any target within 10 feet per level of all items. You can cast up to a total weight of 25 pounds per pitcher level (maximum 375 pounds at the 15th level).