Should progress be retained if browser Back button is pressed during a progress tracker task?

If I have 3 steps and I’m actually in the 2nd one, what should happen when I press on the back button?

Would a user expect to maintain the previous configuration of the 1st step, or should it reset and I have to set it up again?

example of back button