3.5nd dnd – Can you count an improvised weapon like a melee weapon and a ranged weapon? Can you add an improvement to an improvised weapon?

Improvised weapons are mostly left to the DM. There is very little that we can tell you for sure; you will have to ask most of these questions to your deputy minister.

Improvised weapon in melee and remotely

A weapon can count as both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon; many weapons to launch do it. An improvised weapon might be the same: you can hit a brick against someone's head, or throw a brick on someone, and both attacks would be attacks with an improvised weapon. On the other hand, while, in the appropriate fantasy setting, we can imagine a playing card jetty that could hurt someone, I can not imagine how you can hit someone with a card in melee that could hurt him. (The mere fact of hitting them with the card wrapped around the fist probably does not count.) Your DM may or may not allow it, but that will probably depend on whether or not they can imagine it hurting someone.

Mastering melee weapons and controlling ranged weapons with dropped weapons

Anyway, if they are allowed, the thrown weapons can be both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon, and the wording of Melee and Ranged Weapon Mastery is that you get the bonus when using the appropriate weapon type, regardless of the type of weapon used. of attack that you do. And, officially, they pile up. So, you could get +4 to attack and damage with a discarded weapon if you took both. However, you should ask your DM because some DM may find it derisory to have both of them like that. Personally, given that you have accomplished four feats on this subject, I do not think it is a very strong choice, even if your DM allows it – the focus on weapons, the specialization of weapons, the control of melee weapons and the mastery of ranged weapons are rather weak prowess.

Magic improvised weapons

To become magical, a weapon must first be a master weapon. An improvised weapon is, by definition, something that was not designed to be a weapon. If you made a card designed to be a weapon and designed with the quality of a masterpiece, it would no longer be improvised – it would be a real weapon. Whether it is possible or not in your gaming world depends on your DM.

Conclusion

Ask your DM for sophisticated, perhaps exotic, weapons that are actually playing cards. Sharpened metal edges, perhaps. Use the statistics for a dagger, maybe. Then you can get masterpiece versions and add magic without asking any questions. Having Actually Improvised weapons are a bad idea – there is really no benefit in using them, I checked.

In addition, you probably should not take Weapon Focus unless something really good does not require it. You probably should not take four levels of fighter – a feat per level for the first two levels is acceptable, a feat for all other levels is really low. And even if you do, you certainly should not be following the specialization of weapons. This destroys the feats of gun control, but they are not so good anyway. Instead, I recommend looking in Launcher Master's Complete Warrior. Blade of the bloodstorm of Battle Tome is pretty good to launch, too. If you want to be based on strength, the brutal throwing of Complete adventurer is good and the rangers can make you perform dual-use exploits or remotely without Dexterity. If you want to be based on Dexterity, Dead Eye's Compendium of the Dragon can deal damage to Dex, and if you treat the cards as if they were daggers, Shadow Blade's Battle Tome will also be (they stack). The sword is useful for getting Shadow Blade and can also allow you to do more useful things.

3.5nd dnd – Are there any conflicts when casting Fire Wings in wild form?

The rules on the combination of magical effects do not fit into these specific details, but as a general rule, the purpose of these rules is that things work (as far as possible):

Magic spells or effects work normally as described, no matter how many other magic spells or effects operate in the same area or on the same recipient. Except in special cases, one spell does not affect the operation of another spell.

And there are rules for armless creatures that use "arm lunge" magic items, which is a precedent for replacing ankles with wings. fire wings.

Creatures with more than two legs can treat their most important pair of limbs as their arms (allowing them to access the arms, hands and rings of the body), even if these limbs are used for locomotion instead only for manipulation.

(Compendium of magic objects pg. 219)

But in the end, the details of any spell interaction will be left to the DM to decide. I doubt that the deputy ministers are probably opposed, but you will have to ask yours to be sure.

3.5nd dnd – What is the story of "WotC abandoned the Polymorph repair"?

It has been well established that Polymorph is broken. However, I often see the statement that "WotC has abandoned Polymorph's repair". Is there any kind of history to this? From what I've been able to understand, it seems like they had to suffer several erratums before giving up completely, but I do not think I had the proof. The only thing I know for sure is that Shapechange has received a big nerve between 3.0 and 3.5e and that there are dead links that would be blog posts from WotC on Polymorph.

To be explicit, I ask Polymorph's story between his impression in the PHB 3.0 and the end of 3.5e and I'm waiting from this story to explain where and why "WotC gave up the Polymorph fix". I suspect that other Polymorph School spells will show up in this story, but aside from making fun of the original footage change, I do not think they will be necessary.

3.5nd dnd – Can the feat of the born warrior give more damage per shot?

Thanks for contributing a response to the Games Stack Exchange role-playing games!

  • Please make sure to respond to the question. Provide details and share your research!

But to avoid

  • Ask for help, clarification, or answer other answers.
  • Make statements based on the opinion; save them with references or personal experience.

Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.

To learn more, read our tips for writing good answers.

3.5nd dnd – Is it possible to count as Evil to qualify for a feat?

The Changelings have the gift to leave them among the other qualifying races. The Goliaths and the Half Giants have a powerful structure that allows them to count as Grand in many circumstances. Many classes and races allow you to ignore certain requirements for certain exploits / classes. And many characters can use UMD to be considered something that they do not want to use, well, a magic device.

Is there a way to count the misalignment to qualify for feats?

3.5nd dnd – How many attacks does Ettin get?

The description of a superior two-weapon combat does not mention iterative attacks with a passive player, and it lacks at ETTIN the improved two-weapon combat feat that would otherwise be needed to "iterative" attacks.

But then the complete attacking line of the ettin state block is wrong … probably? As a creature with BAB + 7 / + 2, Ettin should, assuming that he uses two-weapon combat (and takes advantage of a fight greater than two weapons) that it performs a morning attack at +12, an immediate morning attack at +12, then a simple morning attack, with either hand at +7.

What we get is

Full attack 2 stars in the morning + 12 / + 7 (…)

It's not very clear to me if the two morning stars are destined to each get attacks at +12 and +7 (for a total of four attacks, adding an "iterative" to the indirect attack), or if this line does not include two-weapon combat and simply shows the + 12 / + 7 which would be the basic case of Ettin (which can be composed of two morning stars). The first contradicts the text insofar as the text offers no way to get it iteratively, and the latter is simply useless and useless, because the ettin should never attack in this way. That seems to me to be a mistake, but I can not decide what, exactly, ettin is supposed to have here.

To summarize, you can argue for + 12 / + 12 / + 7 or + 12 / + 12 / + 7 / + 7, and it is not clear what it is meant to be.

3.5nd dnd – How does racial class mechanics work? On half-giant example

For example, I want to be half-giant.
This is a racial class of the d & d 3.5 Psionics Complete manual.
I choose it as a race? right?
But I take my racial abilities by taking the level. So, when I take a level, I get a racial AND class level, according to a special upgrade table, right?
for example
1 level semi-giant 1 level priest
Half-giant priest with 2 levels
Half-giant priest with 2 levels on 3 levels
Semi-giant priest with 4 levels on 3 levels
Half-giant priest with 4 levels on 5 levels

And last question, can I use all racial abilities from the beginning, like an LA + 1 character?

3.5nd dnd – How does the Freedom of Movement spell interact with the "Move" action during the fight?

Cleric spell of 4th level freedom of movement (abjur) (Player's manual 233) is notoriously vague. (See this question.) The most liberal reading of the spell allows the subject to move normally through the walls, while the most conservative reading considers the fate of the spell. even in the first sentence of the spell description as and thus limiting the subject to exactly and only to the effects that the spell mentions by its name. (My experience has been that most people are somewhere in between.)

This means that you should ask your DM. However, I can explain how I would rule on the two issues raised by the question.

  • The subject of a freedom of movement to do a successful grapple test to exercise the grapple option move? Yes. This DM would consider that simply because the subject of the freedom of movement The effect can succeed automatically on the grapple controls to escape a grappling hook, here the subject is not. Instead, the subject tries to bring in a struggling opponent with whom he is struggling elsewhere on the battlefield. the freedom of movement The effect is of no help in this task.
  • If the subject of a freedom of movement effect successfully moves the grapple, can the subject move at full speed? No. In the campaigns of this DM, a freedom of movement The effect does not include the ability to withstand excessive weight and to always move and attack normally, nor the ability to move at a normal speed while wearing medium or heavy armor. Dragging around an opponent in trouble, at this DM, falls into the same general category as these two ideas.

Again, the freedom of movement The spell is not very clear on what it covers, and a player should expect that each DM has established different house rules to allow the spell's functionality. DM freedom of movement is very unlikely to be exactly the same as another DM freedom of movement.


Note: The rules of my house actually say: "When one wonders if freedom of movement affect, if the SM does not have an opinion, the people present at the table will vote, and the freedom of movement effect will affect or not affect this effect later. "My original plan for my house rules was to include a list of all possible things in the game that spell freedom of movement could and could not affect, but the list remained unfinished after three pages. I have excluded this incomplete list and included this presentation text instead. It just seemed like a better tactic to take.

3.5nd dnd – What is the caster level of a creature summoned with the Greenbound pattern?

The Greenbound pattern gives your summoned creatures the ability to cast spell-like abilities at will, with the following description:

The caster level is equivalent to the character level of the creature linked to the green; save DC 10 + spell level + charisma modifier of the creature linked to the greenery.

Now, Greenbound gives the +8 level setting. Some models have no level adjustment. Others have some here and there.

So, help a noobie, what is the "level" resulting from your invocation of Nature Summon's Ally, if only to know the level of the caster in this case?

3.5nd dnd – Does the Spell Focus exploit increase the static backup static backups described inside certain spells?

Yes, there is a reason for this: because these DEPs are not meant for the "Spell Focus" save throw. The "difficulty class for […] saving throws against spells" is the one indicated by the line of saving throws of the spell. Other backup jets described in the effect of a spell, such as firebrandDC 15 fire-save backups do not act as backup throws against the spell, but save throws against other effects and conditions that the spell has enforced – in the case of firebrand, to be on fire. Putting you outside when you're on fire is always a backup DC 15 Reflex –firebrand is just to usefully remind you of that and confirm that the fire of firebrand This is not a special fire that is particularly difficult or impossible to extinguish.

It's basically the same thing as trying to use Spell Focus to improve the backup spikes of the effects used by the summoned creatures, and that does not work for the same reason.