dnd 5e – Does the Spiritual Weapon spell take a bonus action or an action to use?

Spiritual Weapon attacks using Bonus action, not an Action

Bonus Actions and Actions are not interchangeable in Combat.

Bonus actions don’t become Actions

You ask

Does this mean that you get a bonus action on a bonus action, or does the first bonus action become an action?

Neither. It does not become an Action, and you do not get a Bonus action on a Bonus action. Your PC gets one bonus action per turn.

How the Spell works when cast

From the spell description, you cast spiritual weapon with a Bonus action on round 1. You can attack with it on round 1 as part of casting the spell.

You can also take some other Action during your turn on round 1,beyond using your bonus action to cast spiritual weapon. For example, you can Dash, Shove, Disengage, Dodge, Attack (with something else).

You can continue to attack with spiritual weapon on rounds 2 through 10 (and move it as needed) as a Bonus action and use your Action to do another thing, as before.

Actions and bonus actions aren’t interchangeable1. (Sage Advice Compendium, p. 9)

A Bonus action1 is its own thing in D&D 5e, and is separate from Actions. (CH-9, PHB). It is treated separately from Actions (capital A) but is a kind of action (small a). Yes, it can be confusing.

What can a creature do during a round, and during their turn?

During a round a creature can take an Action, Move, take a Bonus action (if it has one) and Interact with an Object on their turn. They can use a Reaction on another creature’s turn if something triggers a Reaction. (PHB, p. 189-190)

How does spiritual weapon work? Illustration

I will illustrate by using five rounds of Combat. A Cleric (level 3, Str 14, Wis 16, Con 14)) versus a Bandit Captain (BC). Initiative roll for Cleric is 11, for BC is 10. Cleric goes first.

  • Round 1

    Cleric. Takes Dodge action and Moves to within the spell’s range of the BC. Casts spiritual weapon as a Bonus action; makes an attack. Rolls 5, misses.

  • BC. Moves to melee range, has no Bonus action, attacks Cleric. Rolls 18, 17, and 9. (Attacks are with disadvantage due to Cleric Dodge) Rolls second d20’s of 10, 8, and 20 respectively. Cleric’s AC is 16. All miss.

  • Round 2

    Cleric. Casts guidance (Action); with Bonus action attacks BC with spiritual weapon. Rolls 15, hits for 1d8+3 force damage. (Roll 4, so 7 damage).

    BC. Attacks cleric, rolls a 17, 10(Scimitar) and 12(Dagger). Does 11 damage total. (Cleric has 14 Con / 24 HP). Cleric makes a concentration save for guidance but not for spiritual weapon. Rolls 12. Concentration is not interrupted. If she had missed that save, guidance would end but spiritual weapon remains active.

  • Round 3

    Cleric. Shoves BC (Action) to knock it prone. Strength of 14 (+2); proficiency Athletics (Sailor background) +2 and adds 1d4 (rolls 3) from guidance: . Rolls an 11 on the d20 shove attempt; results is 18. BC rolls 11, adds Strength bonus (+2), Athletics (+4) makes 17; BC knocked prone. Cleric uses Bonus action, attacks with advantage (spiritual weapon). Rolls are 5 and a 14. Hit. Roll of 4 (1d8+3) yields 7 more damage. Moves back 30 feet; provokes opportunity attack(OA) from BC, who is prone; OA with disadvantage. Rolls 19 and 7. Misses.

    BC. Gets up (uses half of its movement) pursues the Cleric but it can’t reach her as only 15′ of movement remains. Throws two daggers. Rolls an 11 and 13. Both hit, 10 points of damage. Cleric is in trouble(has 3 HP left), but does not need to make a concentration check on spiritual weapon.

  • Round 4

    Cleric. Casts Hold Person. (DC Wisdom save 13). BC Rolls 12. Wis mod of 0. Fails. BC is paralyzed. Cleric moves next to BC, uses a Bonus action to attack with spiritual weapon (with advantage, due paralyzed BC). Rolls a 2 and a 13, hits (Automatic critical hit due paralyzed). Rolls 2d8+3; 9 force damage.

    BC. Unless he makes a saving throw on its next turn, and turns subsequent, can’t move or attack. BC misses save (Rolls 11).

    Cleric can attack with mace or a spell (Attack action), and with spiritual weapon on the following turns (with advantage). Concentration is used for hold person, not for spiritual weapon. She could take the Dodge action (in case the BC makes a save) and still attack using the spiritual weapon (Bonus action). But instead …

  • Round 5.

    Cleric tries a nova-type attack. Drops her mace, casts inflict wounds(touch) to attack (with advantage). Rolls 4 and 10. +2 for spell proficiency, and +3 for Wisdom – 15 hits AC 15. She does 3d10, and another 3d10 (critical hit) so rolls 6d10 for 33 damage. (BC still alive!) Uses Bonus action to attack with spiritual weapon rolling 1 and an 11. Hits, 2d8+3 damage, rolls 9 (+3) for 12 force damage. Finally kills BC (who had 65 HP to start with).

Spiritual weapon allows for a lot of combinations on rounds 2-10.

The point of the above illustration is to show how the spiritual weapon, once created with a Bonus action, can be used with a Bonus action to attack on subsequent turns in combination with a variety of other Actions. The Cleric never needs to make a concentration check for spiritual weapon.


1Bonus Action
Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. (p. 189)… You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don’t have a bonus action to take.

dnd 5e – Would there be a problem to incorporate Pathfinder-2e’s “Step” action in place of DND 5e’s “Disengage” action?

Pathfinder’s Step:

You carefully move 5 feet. Unlike most types of movement, Stepping doesn’t trigger reactions, such as Attacks of Opportunity, that can be triggered by move actions or upon leaving or entering a square.
You can’t Step into difficult terrain, and you can’t Step using a Speed other than your land Speed.

DND 5e’s Disengage:

If you take the Disengage action, your Movement doesn’t provoke Opportunity Attacks for the rest of the turn.

My intention would be to create for DND 5e something like:

If you take the Step action, you can move 5 feet to an unoccupied space not in difficult terrain without triggering any opportunity attacks.

As Disengage applies for a creature’s full movement, I think giving the creature an extra 5 feet of movement when taking the Step action makes up for the loss. This would of course apply for NPCs and PCs, so I don’t see this giving an unfair advantage to one group over the other, except for maybe those with the ability to disengage as a bonus action, like Goblins or Rogues; switching that for the Step action about may be a slight nerf to the class/creature/race.

I find the Pathfinder Step makes more sense than the DND Disengage, as I can’t make sense of Disengage working for more than the enemies directly threatening the character: a creature that takes the disengage action could then run there full movement, potentially avoiding a dozen or more attacks.

dnd 5e – Does the bonus action shove from Unearthed Arcana’s Telekinetic feat move the target through the air, or only on the ground?

Imagine a party of PCs exploring a dungeon inside a volcano. After a climactic confrontation with the Big Bad, the volcano begins to erupt, and the PCs must flee for their lives. Unfortunately, one of the PCs — Tarly Target — is badly injured and can barely walk. Working together to carry Target, the PCs race toward the volcano’s mouth. Just as freedom nears, a sudden quake tears open the path before them, creating a 15-foot chasm that begins filling with molten lava. There’s no way Target can make the jump.

Psimon Psion, a PC with the Telekinetic feat from Unearthed Arcana’s “Psionic Options Revisited”, proposes to use the feat to try to hurl Target across the chasm. The feat’s third bullet says:

As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, roll your Psionic Talent die, and the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved toward you or away from you a number of feet equal to 5 times the number you rolled. A creature can willingly fail this save.

Assuming Psion could roll a 3 or greater on his Psionic Talent Die, sufficient to move Target the full 15 feet required to clear the chasm, is this a viable use of the feat? Must Target remain in contact with the ground the entire time he’s being moved by the shove, such that he’d immediately plunge to his doom once moved over the chasm? Or can the shove actually propel him through the air to the other side?

For completeness’s sake, I note the following:

  • The normal shove action (PHB p. 195-196) only moves a creature a maximum of 5 feet, so it does not offer much guidance here.
  • The telekinesis spell (PHB p. 280-281) can move a creature, but the move is not characterized as a shove and explicitly can hold the target in mid-air, so it is not helpful here either.

ajax – Woocommerce custom webhook -> action woocommerce_before_calculate_totals

I want to create a custom webhook in woocommerce. I have done something like this before, but can’t remember the syntax and am having trouble finding it in the docs.

I have a custom plugin with the following code

function add_new_webhook_topics( $topics ) {
    // New topic array to add to the list, must match hooks being created.
    $new_topics = array( 
        'order.gift_card' => __( 'Order Gift Card', 'woocommerce' ),
        );
    return array_merge( $topics, $new_topics );
 }
 add_filter( 'woocommerce_webhook_topics', 'add_new_webhook_topics' );

I want to replace the Order Gift Card Section with a redeem gift card, now I assume the ‘order.gift_card’ is my topic which is supposed to fire on submission of payment. What I am actually wanting to do is fire a ajax function before submitting the payment which updates the checkout price with woocommerce_before_calculate_totals function.

Now I am debating if I am supposed to create a custom webhook which fires on a new form on the checkout page, which updates the total price before paying based on my returning payload from the webhook. Or I just do a Ajax request without tying into woocomerce webhooks since it is not an event based on woocommerce which fires the request I am trying to make.

Feel free to ask questions for clarification.

This is a previous post for context, with what landed me here
Is it possible to update the total price on the checkout page in woocommerce from a custom field

8 – Configurable Action Form Builder Not Called by Views Bulk Operations

I have a configurable Action that I implemented back in VBO 8.x-3.8, and it was working fine.

<?php

namespace Drupalmy_modulePluginAction;

use DrupalCoreActionConfigurableActionBase;
use DrupalCoreEntityDependencyTrait;
use DrupalCoreFormFormStateInterface;
use DrupalCoreSessionAccountInterface;

/**
 * Some description.
 *
 * @Action(
 *   id = "assign_distributor",
 *   label = @Translation("Assign Distributor to users"),
 *   type = "user",
 * )
 */
class AssignDistributor extends ConfigurableActionBase {

  use DependencyTrait;

  /**
   * {@inheritdoc}
   */
  public function execute($entity = NULL) {
    $nid = $this->configuration('distributor_nid');
    // Add the nid to field_distributors.
    $entity->get('field_distributors')->appendItem((
      'target_id' => $nid,
    ));
    $entity->save();
  }

  /**
   * {@inheritdoc}
   */
  public function access($object, AccountInterface $account = NULL, $return_as_object = FALSE) {
    $access = $object->access('update', $account, TRUE);

    return $return_as_object ? $access : $access->isAllowed();
  }

  /**
   * {@inheritdoc}
   */
  public function defaultConfiguration() {
    return (
      'distributor_nid' => '',
    );
  }

  /**
   * {@inheritdoc}
   */
  public function buildConfigurationForm(array $form, FormStateInterface $form_state) {
    $form('distributor_nid') = (
      '#type' => 'entity_autocomplete',
      '#title' => $this->t('Select Distributor'),
      '#target_type' => 'node',
      '#required' => TRUE,
      '#selection_handler' => 'default',
      '#selection_settings' => (
        'target_bundles' => ('distributor'),
      ),
    );
    return $form;
  }

  /**
   * {@inheritdoc}
   */
  public function submitConfigurationForm(array &$form, FormStateInterface $form_state) {
    $this->configuration('distributor_nid') = $form_state->getValue('distributor_nid');
  }

}

Since then, I also started using Views Bulk Edit to do some bulk editing, and we ran into an issue (like this one) where the Apply button on the form will not work. At the same time, I figured out that what is not working with my custom action is that the buildConfigurationForm() method is not being called at all, and instead, it goes right to the execute(). method, and since no config data was entered, there is nothing to save.

I have tried rolling back versions of both VBE and VBO, and even the dev versions of both modules, but nothing has changed. It seems that the base problem is VBO. I will be filing an issue in the issue queue, but I’m curious to see if anyone has seen these issues with VBO besides me. Or, is there possibly something missing from my Action plugin above. It was working fine recently, so I’m not sure what might have changed that would have broken it.

UPDATE: One thing I have noticed is that my action extends the core ConfigureableActionBase, while VBE uses ViewsBulkOperationsActionBase. Both have worked in the past, so I don’t see why one would still work and one wouldn’t.

I will provide a SEO audit report and action plan for $10

I will provide a SEO audit report and action plan

You are looking for a person who Audits your website? If YES, then you are at the Right Place

Hi, I am a professional SEO expert having two years of professional experience. I will analyze your website with professional tools and provide an SEO audit a report with useful advice.. The search engine optimization report is fully compatible with Google’s new algorithm. I will give you the following module:

Technical SEO AuditAnd Analysis, including

  • ·List of 301redirects· List of 4xx errors on the website·
  • List of 5xx errors· robots.txtrecommendations·
  • Sitemap optimization suggestions

. On-page Website SEO Analysis, including

  • Domain analysis
  • Title tag
  • Meta description
  • Organic Traffic Analysis
  • Google Preview
  • Image ALT Tags
  • keywords consistency
  • Broken links
  • Blocking factors
  • page load speed test
  • visitors statistics
  • XML site map
  • Website Content Optimization
  • SEO Competitors analysis
  • Complete search engine optimization audit report
  • technical issues

· Off-page backlinks Analysis

· List of backlinks your website has with their metrics

Backlink analysis

Best Recommendations for Improvement based on the detailed analysis. Competitors analysis helps to understand the strengths and weaknesses of your competitors. So we take action accordingly to Compete with them and Do the Best SEO for our site.

100%satisfaction guarantee

THANKS

.

dnd 3.5e – Does failing to tumble through an occupied space end your action?

In all cases, readied actions, some immediate actions and attacks of opportunity, game flow is interrupted; an action is started, and that action itself, provokes a response. The response is then resolved, then provided circumstances have not changed, the action that was interrupted continues.

Although an interrupting action is resolved before the action that triggered or provoked it, the response does not retroactively prevent the action from starting.

attack of opportunity

An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).

readied action

Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it.

immediate action

Some special abilities or spells use immediate actions in response to other actions (or consequences of other actions, like damage)

an immediate action can be performed at any time — even if it’s not your turn.

In most cases, actions may not be split up, so an interrupted action that cannot be continued is no longer available (lost, consumed, wasted, whatever you want to call it). With Tumbling, it is during a move action that the check may be failed, so provided circumstances no longer prevent it, the move action may continue.

Even though an interrupting action is resolved before the action that elicited it, that eliciting action had to start in order to elicit the response.

Tumbling is not unlike moving out of a threatened square; it is the movement that provokes and it is resolved before leaving the threatened square, even though that action is what caused the provocation.

The Tumbling description does not mention whether or not you have to move back into your square.

Faliure means you stop… and provoke

On the other hand, Overrun does.

If you fail (…) you have to move 5 feet back the way you came, ending your movement there.

As does Bull Rush

If you fail (..), you move 5 feet straight back (..)

If you treat Tumble like Overrun or Bull Rush, then there is a movement cost for entering the square, then failing and going back.

If you treat Tumble like it’s written, then you would ignore any movement from the failed attempt.

I think it would be unfair to impose penalties not listed (like interpreting stop as ending your movement), but I do think using the movement cost in Overrun as a guide for tumble makes sense, as both are attempting to move through an enemy’s square (as noted in the descriptions under Movement Position and Distance -> Moving through a Square).

As written

If you treat Tumble as written, and different from Bull Rush or Overrun, then in your example, Abe moves 10′ then attempts to move into Bob’s square, but fails. There is no cost to the attempt, so Abe has 20′ of movement left.

As Overrun and Bull Rush

However, if we treat Tumble like Overrun (and Bull Rush); Abe uses 2 squares (10′) of movement to approach Bob, two more squares (10′) to attempt to move into Bob’s square (since it’s difficult terrain), where he fails his Tumble and uses two more squares (10′) moving back out. If he can otherwise continue (Bob’s attack of opportunity didn’t change circumstances), Abe would be able to move, although at this point, he’s used 30′ of a 30′ move action.

Best placement for action buttons on product comparison page

I’m trying to decide the best place to display action buttons for the user. The user’s main goal is to monitor products in their current and track for better options.

The user is comparing products on the page. Essentially, viewing their current product alongside a potentially better product. Side by side comparison.

Once a decision is made the user can watch the item, notify a team member of this item, or hide this item for some time.

I’m trying to determine if the buttons should be placed.

A] Top of the page next to the product name
B] Middle near the content where the comparison is shown
C] Bottom of the page after a decision is made

Here’s a quick markup of the comparison page.

dnd 5e – Does Strahd von Zarovich’s Move legendary action trigger damage if he moves through an area of sunlight?

Rules as Written, Strahd (CoS, p. 239) won’t take any damage from moving through sunlight as a legendary action. He also won’t take damage from moving through an area of sunlight during his turn. He (and other vampires) only take damage if they start their turn in sunlight, per the following entry under “Vampire Weaknesses” (bold for emphasis mine):

Sunlight Hypersensitivity. While in sunlight, Strahd takes 20 radiant damage at the start of his turn, and he has disadvantage on attack rolls and ability checks.

In the context of a round in D&D 5th edition (which is 6 seconds long), this makes sense – if he starts his turn in sunlight, he’s spent at least a couple of seconds exposed to the sun. If he’s just running through, then it’s not long enough to cause damage.

Note that he will still suffer disadvantage on attack rolls and ability checks during this brief exposure.

Partial Successful Action behaviour

I’m building an app where a user might perform bulk-acceptance on items (for example – shifts he’s eligible to work in). Now when the request reaches backend some items has expired.

I can think of showing this info in 2 ways :

  1. Accept eligible items and show error message to user about in-eligible items(remove them from UI).
  2. Ask user to refresh and sync up latest eligible items to perform action on.