dnd 4e – How to omit non-adjacent ally from close burst?

I want to use Burning Spray while flanking, without hurting the ally I flank with. Warcaster Tactics (feat for Hobgoblins) lets you omit an adjacent field from a close attack, but the flanker is obviously not adjacent.

Is there any such possibility? Epic Destinies are too far away, but I am interesed in any other option.

dnd 5th – Can a pet use a help action to grant an advantage over an attack to a close ally?

Yes, pet can be used to gain advantage for allies.

Of Find familiar description of the spell (PHB, p240), accentuation of mine:

Your pet acts independently of you, but it always
obeys your commands. In combat, he drives alone
initiative and in turn acts. A pet cannot
attack but he can take other steps as usual.

Aid is listed as one of the actions that could be taken in battle and is a legitimate option for a pet.


And it is also a logical thing from the point of view of role-playing. Of Help me description of the action:

Alternatively, you can help a friendly creature in
attack a creature within 5 feet of you. You pretend,
distract the target, or in another way team up to
make your ally's attack more effective. if your ally
attack the target before your next turn, the first attack
the roller is advantageously made.

As you pointed out, even small pets can distract the enemy, which will help the ally in his attack.

The Word of Designer also supports this. Jeremy Crawford answered this question in the Sage Advice column for September 2016:

The pet you're talking about find familiar use the Help action to give you an advantage on your attack roll? A pet cannot attack, but it can perform actions without an attack, including help. As the text of the Help action indicates (PH, 192), the action does not require you to attack; you just need to be able to distract yourself.

dnd 5th – How do the Planar Ally and Planar Binding spells interact?

Let's say I'm a Mystra cleric, and I need her help, so I run Planar Ally:

You implore an entity from another world to get help. The being must be known to you: a god, a primordial, a demon prince or another being of cosmic power. This entity sends a celestial, elemental, or loyal demon to assist you, causing the creature to appear in an unoccupied space within range. (…)

When the creature appears, it doesn't have to behave in a particular way. You can ask the creature to perform a service in exchange for payment, but it is not required to do so. The requested task can go from the simple (make us fly through the abyss, or help us to fight a battle) to the complex (spy on our enemies or protect us during our incursion into the dungeon). You must be able to communicate with the creature to negotiate its services.

Payment can take different forms. (…)

My goddess sends a Deva with sparkling wings of fire or something to help me with a task, and I ask the angel to remain still and silent for 1 hour. Then I start to launch Planar Binding:

With this spell, you try to bind a celestial, an elementary, a fairy or a demon to your service. The creature must be in range for the entire cast. (…) At the end of the throw, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. In case of backup failure, it is intended to serve you for the duration. If the creature has been summoned or created by another spell, the duration of that spell is extended to match the duration of that spell.

A linked creature must follow your instructions to the best of its ability. (…)

Would I be able to control the angel against the will of my goddess without paying the cost of the planar ally? What happens if I run the binding at level 9, will I have a Mystra messenger at my service for a year, or only until the angel completed their first task?

dnd 5e – Planar ally interaction and planar link

Let's say I'm a Mystra cleric, and I need her help, so I run Planar Ally:

You implore an entity from another world to get help. The being must be known to you: a god, a primordial, a demon prince or another being of cosmic power. This entity sends a celestial, elemental, or loyal demon to assist you, causing the creature to appear in an unoccupied space within range.
When the creature appears, it doesn't have to behave in a particular way. You can ask the creature to perform a service in exchange for payment, but it is not obligated to do so. The requested task can go from the simple (make us fly through the abyss, or help us to fight a battle) to the complex (spy on our enemies or protect us during our incursion into the dungeon). You must be able to communicate with the creature to negotiate its services.
Payment can take different forms

My goddess sends a Deva with sparkling wings of fire or something to help me with a task, and I ask the angel to remain still and silent for 1 hour. Then I start to launch Planar Binding:

With this spell, you try to bind a celestial, an elementary, a fairy or a demon to your service. The creature must be in range for the entire cast. At the end of the throw, the target must make a Charisma saving throw. In case of backup failure, it is intended to serve you for the duration. If the creature has been summoned or created by another spell, the duration of that spell is extended to match the duration of that spell. A linked creature must follow your instructions to the best of its ability.

Would I be able to control the angel against the will of my goddess without paying the cost of the planar ally? What happens if I start binding at level 9, will I have a Mystra messenger at my service for a year, or only until the angel completes his first task?

dnd 5e – Can a potion be "administered" to a conscious ally in combat?

"Potions" (DMG, p. 139) says:

Drinking a potion or administering a potion to another character requires action.

Although I accept that a player can administer a potion (especially healing) to an unconscious character, it suddenly appeared last week that someone wanted to give a healing potion to the fighter while that he was conscious and in combat (with both hands holding the weapon / shield).

Is this allowed?

My sense of "administer" is that it is something that you have to make a creature that is still. You must grab a patient before administering a syringe, for example.

It also seems unrealistic for the wizard to slip into a melee fight to pour something down a combatant's throat while he dodges.

But before I make assumptions that everyone agrees with what I consider "obvious", I thought to myself that I should check and make sure I don't miss anything (that's already arrived!).


To answer from a comment, I think it's different from trying to force an opponent to drink a potion (poison, normally). An ally is actively trying to stand still and be fed the potion, while an enemy is actively trying to avoid drinking the potion.

Niche contextual blog posts only with eBuzz Ally

Hey,
SEMrush

Are you struggling with your website to improve the ranking of desired keywords? Has your website lost rankings in the past few months and you also want to improve the ranking of these keywords? Do you want to gain online popularity for your website? Then you've come to the right place!

To improve ranking, you need to create links for your website. There are different ways to link, but the only way that is much cheaper and more beneficial than any other is CONTEXTUAL LINK CONSTRUCTION BASED ON NICHE. The

I hereby provide niche contextual link building services to improve your website ranking more effectively than ever. I will provide relevant niche blog articles for your website that will help you link in the cheapest way.

But why will you choose me?
# 1] Sure:
I provide permanent blog posts as long as the blog is running
# 2] Gold at the price of bronze: I allow 3 Do-Follow links in a single blog post so you can get 3 links for the price of one.
# 3] Untouchable price: I provide blog articles at the lowest possible price because I also believe in customer benefits.
# 4] Presence on social networks: I will share the blogs published on social networks as part of Branding
# 5] Relevance: The content will be published in blogs only relevant to the subject.
# 6] No spam: The keyword would naturally be placed among the content to keep the job spam free.

Price:
$ 8 / post – Your content
$ 13 / post – Our content
The

FAQ:
1] What type of content is allowed if I provide content?
The content must be 100% original, handwritten and informative. The length of the content should be at least 400 words.

2] What should I provide if I authorize you to write the content?
You will just have to provide the keywords and link for your website, the rest is our duty.

3] Is there a bulk discount?
As I am already working on the lowest possible rate, I cannot give you an additional reduction.

4] Is content in the other language allowed?
No, the content should only be in English, but you can include other linguistic keywords in it.

5] What is TAT?
Well, it depends on the number of items you want to buy and do you want me to write the content. If you want me to write the content, it takes 24 hours to write and publish 500 words.

6] Do you guarantee improvements?
As there are various other factors that affect the ranking of the site, we do not guarantee any results.

7] Are casino and dating links accepted?
Yes, we have specific blogs for this.

Contact me for more:
E-mail:
Skype: eBuzz Ally
The

dnd 5th – How does this potential ally in Curse of Strahd become the party's ally?

in the Curse of Strahd Adventure, you learn from reading an ally's tarokka card which is intended to help you against Strahd. These possible allies are listed on pages 15-17 under the Enemy section of Strahd.

This ally often does not know it and must be convinced or at least informed of the reading of the tarokka card before wanting to join you. This is mentioned either as part of their description on pages 15-17, or as part of their description in the area where you meet them for the first time. As examples, the book describes:

This map refers to Ismark Kolyanovich (see chapter 3, zone E2). Ismark will not accompany the characters to Castle Ravenloft until he knows that his sister, Ireena Kolyana, is safe.

– p. 16, Strahd's enemy

This map refers to Clavin Belview (see chapter 8, area S7), the two-headed mestizo. Clavin serves the abbot out of fear and perverse loyalty. His job is to deliver food to the other half-breeds, whom he abhors. If the abbot still lives, Clavin does not want to gain the wrath of his master by trying to leave, and he refuses to accompany the characters. But if the abbot dies, Clavin has no reason to stay in the abbey, then he is ready to come if he is bribed with wine. Clavin offers no advantage to the party without its violation.

– p. 17, Strahd's enemy

If your card reading reveals that Sir Godfrey is Strahd's enemy and the characters persuadingly ask him for help, he offers to join the fight against the vampire. Fate has unlocked his memory of the love he and Vladimir once shared, and the power of that memory prompts Godfrey to help fight Strahd and restore the honor of order. (…) Although Sir Godfrey is not aware of the reading of the tarokka card, he somehow feels that he must do one last task before his mind rests with Vladimir, and he therefore accepts to help the characters face Strahd at Ravenloft Castle.

– p. 139, Ravenloft Fortunes

So on.


However, there is one ally in particular for whom there does not appear to be an exact description of how this character becomes your ally (there could be other allies who do not receive a description of how they become your ally, I didn't do an exhaustive search for a description of each possible ally; I know there are some who will obviously help you, like Ezmerelda, and therefore don't no need for a specific description of what it takes to convince them, but the ally I ask question is not as obvious):

B. Tempter (Queen of Diamonds)

I hear a wedding bell, or maybe a death knell. He calls you to a mountainside abbey, where you will find a woman who is more than the sum of her parts.

This map refers to Vasilka the flesh golem (see chapter 8, zone S13).

– p. 17, Strahd's enemy

Zone S13 can be found on pp. 150-151, and the entirety of its description (ignoring the "boxed text") is as follows:

The woman in tattered red dress is Vasilka, a Flesh golem who was wonderfully set up to serve as Strahd's wife. Figures within 5 feet of Vasilka can see the seams in his powdery skin where disparate body parts stolen from Krezkite graves have been carefully sewn together.

The abbot teaches Vasilka the intricacies of etiquette. He also intends to teach her to dance. Vasilka obeyed all of his orders. She cannot speak but lets out an impious cry if she is hurt. If she is mad, she fights until the abbot regains control or until she is destroyed. It has the supernatural strength of a typical flesh golem despite its small size.

– p. 151, S13. Main hall

Unless I forget something, there doesn't seem to be any guidance given to the DM on how such a character would become the party's ally against Strahd. Of course, as DM, I could come with Something, but I would prefer to have information on the possible advice of the adventure, because currently I do not know how I could give a narrative sense to this.

Are there any indications that I have ignored on how this character becomes the party's ally against Strahd?

dnd 5th – Can I take an ally out of the fight with Thunder Step?

As long as the ally is the same size or smaller than me, is within 5 feet of me and there is room for him in the space where I am teleports.

Thunder stage:
You teleport to an unoccupied space that you can see within range. Immediately after you disappear, a booming boom will sound and each creature within 10 feet of the space you left must make a Constitution saving throw, taking 3d10 thunder damage on failure. , or half the damage if successful. Thunder can be heard up to 300 feet away.
You can take items as long as their weight does not exceed what you can carry. You can also teleport a willing creature your size or smaller that carries equipment up to its carrying capacity. The creature must be within 5 feet of you when you cast this spell, and there must be an unoccupied space within 5 feet of your destination space for the creature to appear in; otherwise, the creature is left behind.

dnd 5e – What happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on an ally when the user and the ally are still within range of the grappler?

This question is based on this: what happens when the UA Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a battling ally when the maneuver user is out of range of the battling monster?


Variants of the Arcana-class features found include the bait and switch hunting maneuver (page 5), which states:

When you are within 5 feet of an ally on your turn, you can spend a superiority die and switch places with that ally, provided you pass at least 5 feet of movement. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity (…)

What happens when the Bait and Switch maneuver is used on a battling ally when the maneuver user and the ally are still within range of the battling creature's grip?

I see two possible results:

  1. The maneuvering user takes the place of the ally in the socket and can then attempt to get out of this socket.

  2. The ally is still struggling, but may have now been moved to a more advantageous position.

I'm not sure what would happen, because normally in a grapple, the grappling creature can never move. (And I could be confusing trying to think of how it would even work IRL.)

dnd 5e – What happens when the new UA Bait and Switch Maneuver is used on a struggling ally?

Recent variants of Arcana Unearthed class entities include the bait and fighter maneuver (page 5) which indicates:

When you are within 5 feet of an ally of your turn, you can use a superior dice and change places with this ally, provided you pass at least 5 feet of movement. This movement does not cause any attacks of opportunity (…)

The grappled condition indicates:

The condition also ends if an effect removes the creature grappling from the reach of the grappling hook or a grappling effect, for example when a creature is hunted by the a wave of thunder to spell.

Suppose a monster with a range of 5 feet attacks an ally and the Fighter is adjacent to the ally 10 feet away. What happens if the fighter tries to use Bait and Switch on a struggling ally?

For an image format, F is the fighter, has the ally and M the monster

FAM