5th dnd – Is there a way to increase the damage caused by the attack by the claw of a Tabaxi?

Two basic methods: increase statistics, increase the number of attacks

One of the features of D & D 5th is that weapons have fixed damage dice unless they possess versatile property: their one-hand or two-handed utility. The claw does not fall into this category as would a long sword (1d8 / 1d10) or a personal quarter (1d6 / 1d8).

Unarmed strikes also have fixed damage: a tabaxi claw attack is an unarmed strike.

If you hit them, you deal sharp damage equivalent to 1d4 plus your
force modifier, instead of normal blunt damage for a
unarmed strike. (Volo Monsters Guide, 115)

Without attack bonus, the claw is 1d4. (Average 2.5).
With a strength of 18, the claw is 1d4 + 4. (average 6.5)
This is an increase of 160%.
Compare this to a normal unarmed strike: 1 + Str mod.

On one stroke, an unarmed strike deals blunt damage equal to 1 + your Force modifier. You control your unarmed strikes (Basic Rules, page 76)

In short, tabaxi already has "more damage" with claw attacks.

With more attacks, the claw is 2d4 (5), 3d4 (7.5), 4d4 (10), depending on how you set up your computer for additional attacks: as a Fighter, Ranger, Monk, etc. Depending on the strength or dexterity applied to the attack, add the bonus to the damage dealt.

An additional way: to score a critical hit

This will add an extra d4 to the damage.

If the tabaxi wants to do more damage (in terms of larger damage) per hit, he must use a weapon like any other humanoid race (or become a monk and gain levels in that class).

To be a monk

You can use dexterity instead of strength for attack and damage
rolls of your unarmed strikes and monk weapons.

The choice of Monk's character class will ensure that the unarmed strikes are 1d4, like the Tabaxi attack; damage is increased for unarmed strike damage at 1d6 at level 5, 1d8 at level 11 and 1d10 at level 17. Technically, this damage is sharp, but you may be able to work with your DM to reduce it accordingly. the type of damage of Tabaxi.

Magic object: claw badge

This article appeared in the Horde of the dragon queen published adventure. It adds +1 to hit and +1 to damage inflicted on both unarmed attacks and natural weapons (Tabaxi's claws meet both criteria). Whether or not it appears in your campaign depends on your DM.

The jewels of this dragon cult candlestick badge with a purple light as you enter into combat, reinforce your natural fists or natural weapons. When you wear the badge, you gain a +1 bonus for attack rolls and damage rolls that you suffer with both hand and natural weapons attacks. Such attacks are considered magical.

pathfinder 1e – How to increase the attack bonus of an arcane trickster?

I'm starting to build an arcane swindler in Pathfinder. As you can imagine, it would be difficult to use weapons with a wizarding attack bonus. I am already taking two levels of Rogue Unchained that gives Weapon Finesse, but I would like to increase my bonus further.

What are my options for effectively increasing my attack bonus?

I would prefer to avoid using an exploit unless it is really effective. Items, spells or a thug trait (which I only have one) are good.

My deputy minister only accepts the content of Paizo's official material. The answers must therefore remain within this limit.

Spells – Increases Arcane Trap Attack Bonus in Pathfinder

I'm starting to build an arcane swindler in Pathfinder. As you can imagine, it would be difficult to use weapons with a wizarding attack bonus.

My question is: what are my options for effectively increasing my attack bonus? I would not want to use a feat for this unless it's really effective. Objects, spells or a red stroke (that I only have one)

EDIT: PS: I get 2lvl of Rogue Unchained that already gives Weapon Finnes.

What kind of attack?

enter the description of the image here
I could find the tear-shaped attack.
However, there is another but I could not explain it. It continues to receive the warning: The source MAC must not be a group address. Is it some sort of ARP spoofing to steal data?

capture file

5th dnd – Can a Level 5 fighter use an Extra Attack with a Longbow?

Yes: on the 5th level, the extra attack includes the longbow

The fighter, the barbarian, the monk, the ranger and the paladin all suffer additional attacks at the fifth level. None of them specifies "scrum" or "remotely", so there is no limitation according to the written rules. All read the same way.

Starting at the 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, every time you take action Attack on your turn.

The properties of longbow weapons show no restriction

There is no declared restriction on longbow attacks. If the longbow possessed a special property going beyond heavy, two-handed or ammunition, it would be listed in the list. Weapon properties section of the PHB and on the table.

  • Your deputy minister does not apply the rules as written with this decision.
    Getting the arrow out of the quiver is part of the attack, it's not
    "interaction with an object." The rules are clear on this. (The
    shortbow also has no such restriction).

    Ammunition. You can use a weapon with the properties of ammo to launch a ranged attack only if you have ammunition to shoot from the weapon. Every time you attack with the weapon, you spend a piece of ammo. Draw ammunition in a quiver, crate or other container is part of the attack {Basic rules, p. 47, my accentuation. (In the PHB under the section "Weapon Properties")}}

I recommend you discuss it with the DM before the next game session, before the game starts. Based on the mechanics / rules of the game, the long bow does not have the same loading feature like the crossbow of the hand and the heavy crossbow. At the 5th level, each turn, you can attack twice with the Longbow. (My ranger likes to do this now that he is at the fifth level). If the SM decides otherwise after this discussion, you will need to determine whether you can live with it or not.

Extract from the Weapons table on page 48 Basic rules (Same information in PHB):

begin {array} {r | ccc}
text {} & text {Weapon ranged martial} \
hline
text {crossbow, hand} & text {1d6 piercing} & text {light} & text {__} & mathbf { text {loading}} \
text {Crossbow, heavy} & text {1d10 piercing} & text {heavy} & text {both hands} & mathbf { text {loading}} \
text {Longbow} & text {1d8 piercing} & text {heavy} & text {two-handed} & text {__} \
end {array}

Loading. Due to the time required to load this weapon, you can only use one piece of ammo when you use an action, bonus action or reaction to shoot it, regardless of the number of attacks that you can normally do it. (Basic rules on page 48, also in the Property section of the PHB weapon)

There is no Loading Longbow property, unlike the two crossbows on this list; there is no limit "once per action" with this weapon.

5th dnd – How does the extra attack and the two weapon fight work for a fighter?

As suggested in this answer, the maximum The amount of attacks you can do as a level 5 fighter is 5 attacks. However, this is only if you have your free bonus action to make the final attack. By summoning the additional weapon (s), you lose 1 attack.

  • Main action to attack (shoot with a crossbow)
    • Extra Attack trigger, after taking the action of attack (throwing the ax)
  • Bonus action to summon one or more additional weapons
  • Action Surge to attack (hammer)

However, if we want to have a technical technique, the two-armed combat indicates that you use your bonus action to make a second attack with your other hand. PHB p. 195 (it's me who points out):

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you hold in one hand, You can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you hold in the other hand. You do not add your ability modifier to bonus attack damage unless this modifier is negative. If one of the weapons has the property launched, you can launch the weapon instead of attacking it in hand-to-hand combat.

This means that, in your specific example, you already give up your bonus action by attacking with your left hand (ax or crossbow), thus rendering you unable to summon additional weapons.

attack prevention – How to defend against the theft of identification information in EC2 via the API http://169.254.169.254?

AWS has a feature called instance metadata, which on EC2 gives you access to AWS credentials through HTTP calls:

curl http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/iam/security-credentials/

The functionality itself is intentional, so technically not a vulnerability. The risk is also indicated in the documentation:

If you use services that use instance metadata with IAM roles, be careful not to expose your credentials when the services are making HTTP calls on your behalf. The types of services that might expose your credentials include HTTP proxies, HTML / CSS validation services, and XML processors that support XML inclusion.

As long as an application can not be deceived by an attacker to make such a request and to produce its response, it is certainly a practical feature. Unfortunately, it is a common source of attacks.

Of course, a server must first correctly check all URLs, but in the spirit of defense in depth, I wonder if it is possible to disable it, or to allow it only at startup (before opening ports).

Questions:

  • Is it technically possible to disable this feature? In other words, how can I make sure that the requests for http://169.254.169.254/ are blocked?
  • If this is technically possible, are there any disadvantages to blocking it?
  • Is there a way to always have access to the safe parts of the API, but not the critical elements? Maybe by whitelisting specific paths? For example, I see the point of allowing /meta-data/spot/instance-action, which tells you if your point instance EC2 has been programmed for termination.

5th dnd – Interaction between launched spells and attack action

Say I have a spell like flame arrows, flash arrow or absorb elements, these spells are cast before attacking, but deal damage when an attack hits.
In that case flame arrows would inflict 1d6 fire damage, flash arrow 4d8 lighting damage, or absorb elements deal 1d6 elemental damage absorbed on the turn after absorb elements was used as a reaction of a melee attack.

When the attack with the spell hits, does it count as a spell for other mechanical purposes?

For example, if I had Elemental Adept Elemental for fire or lightning, I launch an attack charged with one of these spells; I then say that rolls a 1 on damage dice made for the attack, if Elemental Adept applies that damage roll now counts as a 2 and reduces resistance to its element.

Personally, I'm not sure because this is a tricky case in which it's hard to know if the current cast spells historically confer spell status when they take the Attack action.

In addition, do magic spell damage caused by magic items count?

dnd 5th – Can a Horizon Walker ranger teleport before launching his extra attack with the Remote Strike function?

The ranger class Horizon Walker from Xanathar's guide gains the Remote Strike function at level 11 (page 43):

At level 11, you have the option of switching from one plan to the other. When you perform the attack action, you can teleport up to 10 feet before each attack in a visible unoccupied space. If you attack at least two different creatures with the action, you can make an extra attack with it.
against a third creature.

If you attack two different creatures and gain an additional attack against a third creature, could you also teleport before that third attack?

5th dnd – Does a Savethrow type attack cause critical damage to an unconscious creature?

An attack is no matter what with an attack jet; Backup throws do not have an attack roll, so they are not attacks and do not interact with the rule of the unconscious.

the Player's manual States:

If you are wondering if something you are counting as an attack, the rule is simple: if you make an attack roll, you make an attack.

(See the question "What counts as an attack?" For other evidence / aids)

Since frostbite cantrip involves a saving throw and not an attack roll, it is not an attack and is not turned into a critical hit. In fact, saving throws can not be critical hits because they do not even do it. hit. Attacks are the only things that can hit or miss, and so these are the only things that can hit or miss critically. This is explained in the question "If you roll a 1 on a saving throw against a damage spell, do you take additional damage?"