dnd 5e – Does the reaction melee attack from the Sentinel feat’s third benefit trigger through an Echo Knight fighter’s echo?

Not unless the attacking enemy is within 5 feet of you.

The third benefit of the Sentinel feat reads (PHB, p. 169-170):

When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a
target other than you (and that target doesn’t have this feat), you
can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack
against the
attacking creature.

The description of the Echo Knight fighter’s Manifest Echo feature says (EGtW, p. 183):

You can use the echo in the following ways:

  • As a bonus action, you can teleport, magically swapping places with
    your echo at a cost of 15 feet of your movement, regardless of the
    distance between the two of you.
  • When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make
    with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space.
    You make this choice for each attack.
  • When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at
    least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an
    opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s
    space.

The second bullet point of the Manifest Echo feature lets the Echo Knight attack from their echo’s space when they take the Attack action. The third benefit lets them make an opportunity attack from the echo’s space when a creature moves away from it.

However, neither Manifest Echo nor any other Echo Knight feature lets you make attacks from the echo’s space in any other situation, as written. No feature lets your echo count as “you” for the purposes of other reactions that are based on a trigger occurring within a certain distance of you – so you can only take such a reaction if that trigger occurs within that distance of you (not just your echo).

As a result, the reaction from the third benefit of the Sentinel feat won’t be triggered by an enemy within 5 feet of your echo who’s attacking one of your allies – unless the attacking enemy is within 5 feet of you as well.

Does the reaction melee attack from the sentinel feat trigger through an Echo Knight’s echo?

In the following scenario, would my echo get a reaction attack from the sentinel feat on the enemy?

  • I can see the echo, the enemy, and the friendly
  • The echo is within 5 ft of the enemy
  • The enemy attacks the friendly

dnd 5e – If your target has an enemy within 5ft, can you sneak attack without using a finesse or ranged weapon?

A rogue and fighter are engaged in melee combat with a goblin. The rogue is unarmed. Can the rogue activate Sneak Attack?

The rules for Sneak Attack state:

Beginning at 1st level, you know how to strike subtly and exploit a foe’s distraction. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.

You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll.

The question arises from the difficulty in parsing the bolded sentence. I have heard 2 interpretations:

  1. You can sneak attack if (you have advantage and the attack is made using a finesse or ranged weapon) or (an enemy of the target is within 5ft, etc).
  2. You can sneak attack if ((you have advantage) or (an enemy of the target is within 5ft, etc)) and the attack is made using a finesse or ranged weapon.

The first interpretation hinges on the idea that when the second paragraph says “on the attack roll” it is still talking about the same “attack” as in the first paragraph. The second interpretation hinges on the idea that the first interpretation is bizarre and unnatural – if that was the intent, there are many ways that it could have been worded to be clearer.

Thematically, I am leaning towards the first – not having a finesse or ranged weapon shouldn’t stop the rogue from exploiting a distracted foe.

Considering RAW only (no twitter please), how should this feature be interpreted?

dnd 3.5e – Does Ocular spell make every eligible damage spells have a critical chance since it becomes a ranged touch attack (ray)?

The Ocular Spell Feat changes a spell‘s effect to a ray, thus makes it become a ray spell.

If a ray spell deals damage, you can score a critical hit just as if
it were a weapon. A ray spell threatens a critical hit on a natural
roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit.

This damage can be hit point damage, nonlethal damage, ability
damage, or even energy drain.

WEAPONLIKE SPELLS: Any spell that requires an attack roll and deals
damage functions as a weapon in certain respects, whether the spell
deals normal hit point damage, nonlethal damage, ability damage, or
energy drain. Such spells can threaten critical hits, can be used in
sneak attacks, and can be used with favored enemy damage bonuses.

Complete Arcane, p 85 (emphasis mine)

denial of service – Will brute force attack exhaust web server, resulting in DOS

I used to own a shared hosting business and, while being at a party on a weekend night, I received an automated monitoring notification triggered by a resource exhaustion. I immediately left to the office and when I arrived I found out a bruteforce attack against a client’s WordPress admin panel was the cause of it.

Always make sure your firewall rulesets are up to date and that a service can’t take others’ resources in case of an anomalous event (containerization is your friend here).

dnd 5e – Can you grapple a creature as an opportunity attack?

As Miniman’s answer points out, you cannot grapple as an opportunity attack because an opportunity attack does not give you an Attack action. However, your situation doesn’t actually call for an opportunity attack. Instead, it sounds like you had readied an action. From Basic Rules page 72:

Sometimes you want to get the jump on a foe or wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you can take the Ready action on your turn so that you can act later in the round using your reaction.

First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your speed in response to it…

When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger. Remember that you can take only one reaction per round.

When you ready an action, you declare that you intend to do something out of your turn in response to something specific happening. For example, you can ready an action by saying “If an enemy comes through that door, I will fire an arrow at them.” If an enemy does come through the door, you can then immediately use the readied action and shoot them.

Therefore, if you state on your turn, “I want to grapple the gnome if he tries to get past me,” and you have not taken another action on your turn, you would be able to grapple the gnome as he moves past you. If the gnome doesn’t try to get by you, the action is wasted. You can also choose to ignore the trigger and take an attack of opportunity as your reaction instead.

Keep in mind that you must declare a Ready action on your turn. Ready actions are actions, like attacks or casting spells. If your turn had already passed when you declared you’d grapple the gnome, your DM would be right in ruling that you can only make an attack. However, if you declared it on your turn, and hadn’t already attacked or acted, your DM should have allowed you to grab the gnome.

dnd 5e – Would the Haste Spell allow you to cast a second, singular weapon attack effecting cantrip (such as Greenflame Blade)?

Yes, the bonus action from a Haste spell can be used to cast a second spell as long as the spell requires an attack roll.

The rules are quite clear that any spell that requires an attack roll is classed as an attack and is covered as an attack action.

The second paragraph of the description of the Attack Action states (PHB, page 192):

With this action, you make one melee or ranged attack. See “Making an Attack” section for the rules that govern an attack.

The first paragraph of the “Making an Attack” section states (PHB, page 194; this is just the fluff, BTW):

Whether you’re striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure.

The last paragraph in this section is the clincher:

If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: If you’re making an attack roll, you’re making an attack.

I don’t think it could be any clearer.

dnd 5e – Does the Mage Slayer feat impose disadvantage on concentration saves from all damage you deal, or only if damaged by the feat’s reaction attack?

According to my character sheet on D&D Beyond, the Mage Slayer feat says:

When a creature within 5 ft. of you casts a spell, you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against that creature, and when you damage a creature that is concentrating on a spell, that creature has disadvantage on the saving throw it makes to maintain its concentration. You also have advantage on saving throws against spells cast by creatures within 5 ft. of you.

Say a mage is concentrating on a spell. If this player character hits the mage with the Attack action on the player character’s turn, does the mage have disadvantage on that Con saving throw to maintain concentration?

Or does the caster only have disadvantage on the Con save to maintain concentration if damaged by the reaction attack that is triggered by a spell being cast by the mage within 5 feet of the player character?

dnd 5e – Do creatures charmed by Charm Person/Animal Friendship attack your allies?

As a general rule, spells only do what they say they do and no more, so whether or not the animal considers you or your allies hostile is unaffected by the spell. (Source)


For example, let’s us consider a case where you cast this on a wolf so you can get inside its lair where the ancient plot mcguffin is buried. Ignoring the spell, the GM might decide the players can either fight the wolf, or make a persuasion or intimidation check to get past it if they act accordingly.

If you approach the wolf threateningly, and possibly even start a fight before casting the charm spell then yes, the wolf will continue to consider your allies hostile, they just can’t attack you and you get advantage on social interaction checks with them. The GM could also rule that you’re at a disadvantage on this check now if you’ve hurt the wolf, so the advantage from the spell would cancel out leaving you at a normal roll.

If you instead approach alone and cautiously, cast the spell at the earliest opportunity and try to calm the wolf (persuasion) or scare it out of the way (intimidation) you’d be at advantage on the roll, and will find it much easier to get past the creature.

blockchain – Hashgraph public ledger (51% attack)

I have some basic doubts about consensus algorithm like hashgraph. For instance, let’s take Raft the simplest leader based consensus algorithm, we cannot use it in a decentralised setting because it’s very easy for a single attacker to take control of the cluster by spinning thousands of nodes to support him.

“In summary, the voting based algorithm makes it very easy for the attacker whether its leader based or leaderless. So we cannot use it in a decentralised setting.”

Algos like PoW make its difficult for a single attacker to take over the network through the computational puzzle.

Taking about hashgraph it’s again a voting based algorithm, so wondering how it prevents a single attacker from getting control of the network in a decentralised setting (where you cannot trust your peers)???

I do understand how hashgraph works but wasn’t able to visualise it in a decentralised setting. Any insights? Thanks