dnd 5e – What are the consequences if I allow a Bard to use Bardic Inspiration on himself?

Bards are meant to be social characters that buff the party. Having a bard in your group is wonderful, because it means your rogue can be that much sneakier, your fighter can lift that much more weight, and your monk can do that many more flips in mid-air when they’re inspired by their bard. It builds party cohesion and it makes the other players feel really cool.

Because the bard is not able to give herself inspiration, she is necessarily going to spend the majority of her out-of-combat time buffing the party. People love being buffed! And with bounded accuracy being such a huge presence in 5E, the addition of a d6(3.5), d8(4.5), or d10(5.5) to a skill check is huge! It’s massive! It’s amazing!

…Until you realize that it is huge, massive and amazing for anyone. In 5E, the world’s strongest, most athletic barbarian has a pretty decent chance of losing when arm-wrestling anyone off the street. A monk who has spent her entire life training to be an acrobat can expect to lose a tumbling contest against the local tavern owner, and when asked to do even trivial tasks like climb a ladder, she will fall off about 10%-15% of the time. A 9 foot tall, battle-scarred fighter who has fought literal gods can very easily fail to intimidate a small child. Bardic inspiration can make huge differences in these checks. When you add that to the fact that the bard is already an extremely skilled class (Jack of all trades and expertise skills), you’re giving the bard less and less reason to waste his precious bardic inspiration die on the unskilled losers in the rest of the party, and more and more reason to buff themselves to the heavens.

If your party bard is very selfless, this rule change will likely not affect the game. However, if this bard has any amount of selfishness, there is a great potential for them to spend the bardic inspiration dice solely on themselves. In fact, when your bard gets Cutting Words, they will be able to make checks with a +d6/+d8/+d10 themselves, AND a -d6/-d8/-d10 to other people (including party members), meaning a midlevel bard can expect to have a 9 skill point advantage on any check they want. Someone with that kind of power will be able to easily make themselves party leader and essentially go unchallenged in any and all skills. That same bard can lie to the entire party and virtually never be found out, pickpocket anything from any party member with no chance of being caught, and intimidate even the most seasoned barbarian in their sleep.

If you don’t foresee your bard doing this then you’re really just giving him a high-level bard ability for free. If you do see your bard having a bit of a devious streak, out-of-combat encounters are going to become ‘The Bard Show’ and the rest of your party will likely just sit around, waiting for combat while your bard raises armies, topples kingdoms, and charms great swaths of people with ease, all while out-acrobating the monk, out-lifting the fighter, and out-perceiving the druid.

dnd 5e – Will multiclassing my warlock into bard with bardic inspiration give me an effective way to use my bonus action in battle?

In a party with a level 3 Warlock Tiefling – The Fiend (Pact of the Tome). We are noticing that the party members benefit more from bonus actions than the Warlock. Since that member is the only caster barely using weapons and solely their spells we are discussing the options to multiclass with a Bard next level.

Will multiclassing a warlock into bard (with bardic inspiration) give me an effective way to use my bonus action in battle?

dnd 3.5e – How many uses of bardic music does the Heartfire Fanner get?

I am having a really hard time making sense of the heartfire fanner here.

First, it says you “immediately” gain access to all bardic music effects, “subject to their usual Performance skill and level requirements,” which is not really “immediate” at all. It also says you “do[] not gain the normal bardic music abilities as [you] advance[] in heartfire fanner levels,” which seems to directly contradict the previous statement that all of those become available. And it specifies a 5th-level bard, before saying to stack heartfire fanner levels with bard levels to calculate things.

In other words, it’s a complete mess. Almost every statement is seemingly contradicted by another one. And taken literally, the way it treats a bard entry and a non-bard entry have some really weird consequences.

For instance, the line about “All bardic music effects […] become available to [you] immediately” seems to be referring to a non-bard heartfire fanner. The line about “not gain[ing] the normal bard music abilities” seems to be referring only to a bard who enters the class. Why would a non-bard get all of those things, but a bard would not?

Worse, it keys off of whether you are a bard or not, not off of how many levels of bard you have. In other words, a 1st-level bard gets nothing and at best counts as a 2nd-level bard, while someone with zero levels in bard gets the abilities of a 5th-level bard. That makes no sense.

And it still gives us no answer to the actual question here. I have no idea if you have 1, 5, or 6 uses of bardic music each day.

You are going to have to discuss this with your DM. I would suggest that, at best, heartfire fanner works like Practiced Spellcaster but for bardic music: you start with a base of your bard level plus your heartfire fanner level, and then on top of that you get a +5 bonus but that bonus cannot cause you to exceed your actual total level. Thus a 5th-level bard/1st-level heartfire fanner counts as a 6th-level bard—and so does a 5th-level something else/1st-level heartfire fanner, and a 1st-level bard/4th-level whatever/1st-level heartfire fanner. And so on.

I still don’t know if you’re supposed to get the various usual bardic music abilities, though. It really seems to say you both do and don’t get those.

bard – What was bardic performance like in the D&D Next playtest?

My RPG group is made up of players who had all played either 2nd or 3rd edition before, where bards had a combat-bonus ability significantly different than what’s in D&D 5. In both older versions, the bard was able to grant a combat bonus to all of its allies within earshot.

This was significantly changed for 5e, with bards instead being able to give their allies a “bonus die” which can only be used on a single roll. The bonus is so different from what everyone’s used to that, so far, no one’s actually used the bardic inspiration die to modify a roll.

Based on statements like this answer to “What changed between the playtest and 5e?”, it seems like for at least part of the playtest bards had a significantly different ability. While we wait for whatever optional rule is (hopefully) in the DMG, can someone describe in broad strokes what the 5e “bardic performance” was like?

dnd 5e – Can Bardic inspiration be used in portent creation?

No, the foretelling rolls are not an ability check, saving throw, nor attack roll

The Portent feature says:

When you finish a long rest, roll two d20s and record the numbers rolled.

Player’s Handbook, p. 116

While similar to ability checks, saving throws and attack rolls in that you roll a d20, and used for those later, making this roll is none of those. You are just rolling a d20.

Barding inspiration can only be used on ability checks, attack rolls, or saving throws:

(…) the creature can roll the die and add the number rolled to one ability check, attack roll, or saving throw it makes.

Player’s Handbook, p. 53

Since rolling those foretelling rolls are not one of those roll types, Bardic Inspiration can’t be added at that time. They can however be used when the foretelling rolls are used (ie. used as a roll by a creature). See: Can Bardic Inspiration be used on a roll replaced by Portent?

dnd 3.5e – Ventriloquism and Bardic Music

Suppose a bard is trying to remain invisible while still inspiring companions. If the bard starts singing, they make themselves a target. If the bard uses Ventriloquism, they can potentially make noise without drawing attention to their actual location. However, this means their allies will be listening to a figment, not the actual bard, so bardic music fails.

What happens if the party makes the save vs ventriloquism? Now, they know the spell voice is fake. Does that mean they hear the real voice? Would they be able to hear the bard singing for real? Or does the ventriloquism spell still block the bard’s actual voice?

From the Ventriloquism spell in the SRD:

With respect to such voices and sounds, anyone who hears the sound and rolls a successful save recognizes it as illusory (but still hears it).

This does not state the original voice could not be heard. Nor does it state that it could. Typically, with spell descriptions, it does not grant anything it does not say it grants, but nowhere does it say the original voice is gone…

From the description of “Saving throws and Illusions (Disbelief)” in the SRD:

A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.

This only discusses visual illusions. It does not mention whether or not the original image is visible when an illusion is defeated.

So, back to my original question: would a party member who made the save against ventriloquism receive the benefit from the Inspire Courage?

Note: I recognize an easier method is using the Message spell, but my group is trying to determine the limits of Ventriloquism and how it interacts with other magic.

dnd 5e – "Continuous" bardic inspiration

The Bardic Inspiration function of the bard indicates:

You can inspire others by stirring words or music. To do this, you use a bonus action in turn to choose a creature other than you within 60 feet of you who can hear you. This creature wins a bardic inspiration die, a d6.

Once within 10 minutes, the creature can roll the die and add the number to an ability check, attack roll, or save roll it makes.

It comes down to being "you can do it!" or "Break a leg!", or just play the lute to create suspense, to affect a thing at a time.

However, I was thinking about changing this to a more "constant" variation. A lower gain (+2, for example) for the all period, much like listening to your favorite song when you are doing something difficult; The eye of the tiger or Dangerous zone during a fight, Stay alive while doing a healing or resuscitation check, or just your favorite song to get you in the zone, and your blood pumping.

Also, the original timeout is "within the next 10 minutes", which means anytime within the next 60 shots; so a compromise of a constant +2 for example, 1 to 3 minutes (that is to say the duration of your "boom-box inspired music") not only would adapt more effectively to combat, but would also be more balanced in the bonus: duration report.

So; would a constant bonus of +2 over a shorter duration (1 minute) be balanced?

dnd 5e – Is this Bardic College of Revolution homebrew balanced?

I decided to try to homebrew a 5th bard subclass. I was looking for a good mix of role-playing abilities based on combat and charisma. I'm still in the early stages of the campaign, but I anticipate a fairly decent balance between combat and plot scenarios. There is a clear campaign objective around certain BBEGs, and the fight with its servants will be very present. At the same time, there are a lot of political troubles linked to the presence of BBEG, and these political troubles are linked to my character and his story. In particular, the political ideologies described in the description of the college below must play a major role in the narrative; my character attended this university and was exiled from Vale, the elven capital of our world.

For these reasons, I wanted to go for a kind of "best of both worlds" approach when it comes to role-playing combat style and political intrigue, but I'm looking for something roughly similar to other bardic colleges in terms of power of the subclass. .

Description of the college:

The University of Vale has one of the best arts programs in Animosia. During the day, their students are trained in all kinds of skills adapted to the bardic profession. But not everything is as it seems.

Forged in the shabby and poorly lit basements of residences and fraternity houses, political extremists train warriors both in arms and in speech. These students are versed in both the art of speech craftsmanship and the art of bloodshed. Freedom is their cause, and they see both words and war as a means to this end. Their rhetorical tact is generally their preferred means of realizing their ideals, but deeply rooted in their ideology is the reality that often blood is the price of freedom.

Aroma. Not part of the balance.

Bonus skills:

When you take this college at the 3rd level, you acquire expertise in deception and persuasion and a mastery of the counterfeit kit.

The only balance problem I anticipate here is taking Bard four expertise at level 3 and two others at level 10.

Charming gesture

From the 3rd level, you have acquired an acute awareness of your body language. As an action, you can spend a use of Bardic Inspiration and select a creature that can see you within 30 feet. For the next 10 minutes, you have the advantage on the skill tests based on charisma against the creature.

I think this one is balanced by the next feature also related to bardic inspiration.

Bleeding strike

From the 3rd level, you learned to imbue your strikes with persistent necrotic effects. If a weapon attack you make during your turn hits a creature, you can spend one use of your bardic inspiration to achieve the following effect: At the start of their turn, the target must make a Constitution saving throw with a DD equal to your lot. save DC. If the save fails, the target takes 1d6 necrotic damage. This effect continues until the target succeeds on the saving throw and the saving DC decreases by 2 each subsequent turn.

Necrotic damage increases when you reach certain levels in this class, increasing to 2d6 at 6th level, 3d6 at 10th level and 4d6 at 14th level.

This seems more powerful than the College of Swords ability, but almost certainly less powerful than the College of Whispers ability. I think having the two level 3 abilities related to bardic inspiration helps to balance things out.

Additional attack

From level 6, you can attack twice, instead of once, each time you perform the attack action on your turn.

Already two existing colleges that give this to the 6th level, can not be so broken, right?

Undeniably convincing rhetoric

From the 14th level, you master the art of rhetoric. Once a day, you can cast the Glibness spell without spending a level 8 spell slot.

I'm not sure about this one. He gives Glibness, a level 8 spell a level earlier – the earliest the Bard can take Glibness is level 15. So, he releases this 8th level spell slot for an upcast, a second glibness cast, or taking an 8th level spell entirely. Also, I don't know how much more powerful Glibness is when used in tandem with Charming gesture above.

Thanks for taking the time to read it again.

dnd 5th – How does a change in combat to a bard's charisma score affect his available bardic inspirations?

The uses of Inspiration available from the Bard are constantly evaluated and may change at any time if their charisma bonus changes.

The rule for Bardic Inspiration ends with this information:

You can use this functionality a number of times equal to your Charisma modifier (at least once). You regain all the spent uses when you finish a long rest.

There is no time specified for the amount of bardic inspiration uses to be assessed. Without such a limit, it is therefore constantly under evaluation.

If the maximum amount of uses increases as the bard gains charisma, it immediately gains additional use. Likewise, if the bard loses charisma and a corresponding use of bardic inspiration, this reduced maximum is applied the moment this occurs. This could deprive the bard of any unused use if he had at least one use left.

The bard would recover until whatever the new maximum is after completing a long rest, provided the change in his charisma score is maintained.

5th dnd – Is it possible to add a bardic inspiration to a stop of time?

The roll 1d4 + 1 to see how many turns stop time does not give you a capacity test, an attack roll or a save roll, and Bardic Inspiration can not be applied to it. You can say that the jet is none of that because it does not call any of them, and also because the ability checks, the attack jets and the jets Backup all use d20s, not d4s.