dnd 5e – What is the action economy cost of using Bottled Breath?

The description of Bottled Breath from Princes of the Apocalypse says:

This bottle contains a breath of elemental air. When you inhale it, you either exhale it or hold it.

If you exhale the breath, you gain the effect of the gust of wind spell. If you hold the breath, you don’t need to breathe for 1 hour, though you can end this benefit early (for example, to speak). Ending it early doesn’t give you the benefit of exhaling the breath.

What is the action economy cost of using this item? Action? Object interaction? Is it different for “exhale it” and “hold it”?

dnd 5e – Does the Draconic Bloodline sorcerer’s Elemental Affinity feature apply to the spell Dragon’s Breath?

As quoted above, Elemental Affinity engages when(emphasis mine):

you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry…

When you cast dragon’s breath, you are not dealing damage. You are granting an ability for whomever it is cast on to(emphasis mine):

use an action to exhale energy of the chosen type in a 15-foot cone.

It is when you use that action, not when you cast the spell, that is dealing the damage.

You are using your action to utilize the effect granted by the spell, but not spell is being cast. The spell is only giving the creature the ability exhale energy.

**You are not meeting the requirement of casting a spell when you are dealing the damage and therefore can not use your Elemental Affinity.

The damage dealing effect is similar to Breath Weapon of a dragonborn.

There is no spell being cast, it is just an ability that uses an action to engage.
When you deal the damage, you are expending an action. Granted, it’s an action given to you from a spell, but the damage is dealt from the action – not from casting a spell.

The fact that a spell gave you that ability doesn’t change the mechanic of its use. When you’re dealing the damage, it is not from casting the spell. It is from using the action granted by the spell (which, again, is not casting a spell.)

Strict vs loose reading

Ultimately, I think there is some ambiguity and it depends entirely on how you read the spell. Given that we are talking about a feat here and one concentration-based spell, I don’t think it’d be a huge deal to grant it by stating that the spell is ultimately causing the damage on one breath attack action during the spell duration.

This is somewhat supported by the same initial line. The difference is in granting

cast a spell that deals damage…

to the end-action for the damaging effect and not just the spell itself.

If it becomes overused, then you can always go back to the stricter after discussing it with your player.

But the hard line reading does suggest that this interaction doesn’t work given you aren’t casting a spell to cause the damage.

dnd 5e – How much time would it take for a plesiosaurus to get enough breath at the surface?

I found some information about whales and dolphins which may suffice.

How do whales and dolphins breathe?

It only takes them a fraction of a second to take another breath. However, as their nostrils are actually a blowhole and the plesiosaurus would have to lift it’s whole head out of the water it would take fractionally longer.

As a round in 5th edition combat equates to 6 seconds, I would suggest it can do this as a bonus action.

dnd 5e – Would the advantage against dragon breath weapons granted by dragon scale mail apply to Chimera’s dragon head breath attack?

Dragon is a specific creature type.

From the Monster Manual:

A monster’s type speaks to its fundamental nature. Certain spells, magic items, class features, and other effects in the game interact in special ways with creatures of a particular type. For example, an arrow of dragon slaying deals extra damage not only to dragons but also other creatures of the dragon type, such as dragon turtles and wyverns.

[…]

Dragons are large reptilian creatures of ancient origin and tremendous power. True dragons, including the good metallic dragons and the evil chromatic dragons, are highly intelligent and have innate magic. Also in this category are creatures distantly related to true dragons, but less powerful, less intelligent, and less magical, such as wyverns and pseudodragons.

Since a chimera does not have the Dragon creature type, it is a Monstrosity, it’s breath weapon doesn’t count for Dragon Scale Mail.

It wouldn’t be unreasonable to rule otherwise.

Above is the RAW ruling, but it seems perfectly reasonable for a DM to rule that the Dragon Scale Mail gives advantage against the chimera’s dragon head breath weapon. It fits thematically, for sure.

Smite as breath weapon? [closed]

Dragonborn (blue) Paladin, can I use breath weapon and smite together to make a Godzilla-like attack?

dnd 5e – Owl familiar capabilities while executing the Dragon’s Breath cone

Your familiar should be able to obey your command…

…you just have to be clear in how you phrase it.

While a familiar has a mind of its own, it does obey any and all commands. If your DM wants to put a limit to the complexity of what you can demand of it I’d suggest having him agree to you, quite literally, telling him the commands you give your familiar to see how it will play out one by one. Working off of that your orders for this scenario would simply be “Fly over there, turn that way and unleash the spell I put in you; then fly away if you still have some movement.”

Here are two possible interpretations of what your DM may have tried to convey, although it’s honestly just educated guessing since not much is known about them or the full scenario as it unfolded.

1) An owl has a flying speed of 60ft per round. Perhaps they meant that your demand to reach the other end of the room to use the spell at your desired angle (and potentially fly away) would exceed its speed limit.

2) It could be that they felt that trick to be too powerful a solution to your current encounter. If your DM is rather new there’s a chance they have no experience when it comes to reacting to the unexpected.

Also a small clarification: Flyby doesn’t explicitly state anything about the complexity of manouvers a creature with that trait can take; it simply makes them not hittable by attacks of opportunity when they leave the attack range of any hostile creature.

dnd 5e – Gust of Wind vs Green Dragon Breath

I think this is similar to Can Warding Wind block the effect of a Green Dragon’s Poison Breath? but the wording of Warding Wind seems more conservative than Gust of Wind.

I just ran a combat where a druid used Gust of Wind against a green dragon. I had the dragon retaliate by flying (slowly) towards the druid and using its breath weapon. The players were delighted, immediately declaring that the monster’s attack should have been nullified because:

(Green Dragon)
The dragon breathes poisonous gas in a 30-foot cone

(Gust of Wind)
The gust disperses gas or vapor…

However, I ruled that the breath weapon worked as normal through the line of the wind, using similar logic to the most upvoted answer on the linked question, that “dispersing gas” is for handling cloudkill, wall of fog and other lingering effects that explicitly describe being dispersed, and that breath weapons (or other instantaneous area effects) do not get cancelled through dispersal. Instead, I would argue, breath weapons may only get blocked by spells that say it more directly e.g. Wind Wall which says that it “keeps gases at bay”.

It would not have been a big deal if the players were correct in my case, as the dragon had other tactical options – moving out of the of the gust of wind to attack from the side for instance – so the ruling did not change much about the outcome (although it disappointed the players because they were convinced they had outsmarted the dragon and made it lose an attack). And in the end the battle was won by the PCs.

Should I have allowed Gust of Wind to nullify gas-based breath weapon attacks made within it, according to rules as written? What exactly does “dispersing” mean in the Gust of Wind spell description?

dnd 5e – Is the Adult Gold Dragon’s Weakening Breath considered a curse, disease, or poison?

Weakening Breath is not curable by Panacea

The 5th edition version of the Weakening Breath breath weapon is not labeled as a curse, disease, or poison. As such, it can’t be cured by Panacea, which says:

You remove all curses, diseases, and poisons affecting a creature that you touch with the transmuter’s stone.

In addition, spells like lesser restoration:

You touch a creature and can end either one disease or one condition afflicting it. The condition can be blinded, deafened, paralyzed, or poisoned.

…and greater restoration:

You imbue a creature you touch with positive energy to undo a debilitating effect. You can reduce the target’s exhaustion level by one, or end one of the following effects on the target:

  • One effect that charmed or petrified the target
  • One curse, including the target’s attunement to a cursed magic item
  • Any reduction to one of the target’s ability scores
  • One effect reducing the target’s hit point maximum

…which can remove most conditions between themselves, can’t remove it either.

Past editions

This is a marked change from past editions, where the Weakening Breath was easier to handle.

AD&D 1e:

The attack of a gold dragon can be a claw/claw/bite routine or one of two breath weapons — fire in a 9” x 3” cone, or chlorine gas in a 5” x 4” x 3” cloud.

Chlorine gas is just a poison that the neutralize poison spell could handle:

AD&D 2e:

A gold dragon has two breath weapons: a cone of fire 90′ long, 5′ wide, at the dragon’s mouth, and 30′ wide at the end or a cloud of potent chlorine gas 50′ long, 40′ wide, and 30′ high.

Very little changes for the gold dragon in this edition, and the same spell helps here once more.

D&D 3.x:

A gold dragon has two types of breath weapon, a cone of fire and a cone of weakening gas. Creatures within a cone of weakening gas must succeed on a Fortitude save or take 1 point of Strength damage per age category of the dragon.

We finally have the term “weakening”, but in this case it is ability damage (something that doesn’t exist in the same magnitude anymore). The move away from ability damage in 5e extended to the gold dragon’s breath weapon. Back in 3.x, though, it was more common, and both lesser restoration and restoration spells could help with the effects.

D&D 4e:

Close blast 5; +19 vs. Reflex; 2d8 + 7 fire damage, and the target is weakened (save ends). Miss: Half damage

In 4e, this recharge power combines both breath weapons, making the fire breath include the weakened condition. You can use First Aid to allow an ally to make a saving throw against the condition, but there may also be powers (though I couldn’t find one) that can end the effect immediately.


As you can see, past editions made the gold dragon’s alternate breath weapon easier to counteract at least to some extent, while 5th edition’s version must simply be waited out.

pathfinder 1e – Does the cleric’s ability to spontaneously cast cure spells apply to the Breath of Life spell?

Unfortunately, the “spontaneous casting” class feature for clerics (which is the one that allows this trade) clearly states.

 A cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name

So no, a “breath of life” is not allowed by the rules as written.
Obviously, nothing is stopping your GM from allowing it anyway, but the rules are against you

pathfinder 1e – Breath of Life and cure spells

Unfortunately, the “spontaneous casting” class feature for clerics (which is the one that allows this trade) clearly states.

 A cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name

So no, a “breath of life” is not allowed by the rules as written.
Obviously, nothing is stopping your GM from allowing it anyway, but the rules are against you