5th dnd – Do you lose witchcraft if you try to apply metamagic to a spell from a scroll but you do not cast it?

To cast a spell from a scroll listed on your list but at a higher level, you must initiate a spell casting ability check (lose the spell's parchment in case of failure). ).

What happens if a low-level wizard tries to apply metamagic to a high-level spell that he tries to cast from a spell spell, but fails? Is it also wasting witchcraft points, or not?

Ex: Bob the 3rd level wizard with the twining metamagic trying to cast a paired haste from a spell scroll and failing to check the DC 13. Would he also lose 3 Witchcraft points?

dnd 5th – Can a wizard cast a spell on his first round of combat if he commits himself by releasing a prepared spell?

The fight should have started when the door opened and the wizard should not have been able to cast a Ready spell before the fight started.

First of all, as Jeremy said:

The options, including Ready, from the "Actions in Combat" section (PH, 192-93) are for use in combat after an initiative has been launched.

This is not just an arbitrary restriction, it's a rule intended to simplify the game. To see why, let's look at how the fight begins: determine if a person involved in the battle is surprised, what happens so:

The GM determines who might be surprised. If neither side tries to be stealthy, they automatically notice each other. […] Any character or monster who does not notice any threat is surprised at the beginning of the game.

crucial, if the orcs were surprised, they actually lose their first turn and the wizard has yet to cast their fireball before the Orcs have a chance to do anything. In general, the same ambush you described happens, but we did not have to deal with the complexity of the Ready action.

If the orcs were not surprisedthen you essentially have an impasse that articulates (pun intended) around that door. I can understand why the assistant would like to prepare an action, but for the same reasons, the Orcs would also like to prepare an action. If everyone reacts when the door opens, how do you determine who plays first? Well, that's exactly why we have a turn order: just play in the first round with, we do not need the complexity of the Ready action, because the same events happen.

dnd 5th – At what level can a dragon cast his spells innately?

Can be converted to the third level (if the spell can be upcast)

Dragons as Inborn Spellcasters (MM)

A young or older dragon may innately cast a number of spells equal to
its charisma modifier. Each spell can be cast once a day, requiring
no hardware components, and the spell's level can not be higher than
one-third of the Dragon's Challenge rating (rounded down).

The charisma modifier for a young red dragon is +4.
The challenge is 10 (young red dragon, MM)

This is a rule variant, so make a decision (or recommend one to your DM)

At first glance, casting the spell at its lowest level is not a restriction. Since both spells can be cast according to their text and the dragon has the ability to cast the spell to the third level, he can then cast it to the third level. (Up cast them). It would more or less treat the dragon as a caster like a warlock.

But wait! Innate Incantation has a restriction

Innate Spellcasting

A monster with the innate ability to cast spells has the special Innate Spellcasting trait. Unless otherwise stated, an innate lot of level 1 or higher is always cast to its lowest possible level and can not be cast to a higher level.

This text suggests that the invisibility spell should be launched at level 2d and could not be launched.

Is there a loophole? May be. You can argue that there is an "otherwise noted" in the variant capacity of the dragon.

the spell level can not be greater than one-third of the Dragon Challenge value (rounded down)

This can be invoked as a specific case rather than a general one, which opens an exception to the general rule in that it limits only the dragon in its upper part. You can also argue (as Szega does) that this is not specific enough to override the general rule of casting innate spells.

Dragon variants are not described as having spell locations

A monster can cast a spell from its list at a higher level if it has
the location of the spell to do it. For example, a drow mage with the 3rd level
The Lightning spell can be cast as a 5th-level spell using one of the
his 5th level Spell Slots.

This leaves one to decide whether slot machines are even a thing for a dragon. If they are not, they are only limited by their CR at what level a spell is cast.

When a caster casts a spell using a higher slot
level as the spell, the spell assumes the highest level for this
molding. For example, if Umara launches Magic Missile using one of its
Level 2 slot machines, this magic missile is level 2. Indeed, the
the spell grows to fill the slot in which it is placed.

Once again we see how wide this variant is. Most other innate pitchers (such as the Archmage) have spell locations listed and represented. The dragon does not do it. So that goes back to the way the DM wants to deal with the Dragon spell spell: as a restriction or not? If as a restriction, opt for the simple decision. Otherwise, opt for the more nuanced decision.

Simple decision: can not be operated.

Because of the general limitations of the innate distribution, the easiest way to approach it is to "launch at the lowest level".

A more nuanced decision: yes, it can be upcast

The restriction specified at the spell level is based on the CR. The call to a specific general is that the text specific to the dragon only limits spells to the maximum level. This is not a solid argument, but it is a way of applying more specific than general. And it's a dragon.

As it is a variant of rule, its application will have to be decided by the SM.

Which decision is more fun at your table? Talk with your DM. It's a dragon – they named the game after these creatures.

Pathfinder – Can an assistant search for a spell at a level higher than the one he / she can currently cast?

TL; DR – Can a Level 6 Wizard search for an existing Level 4 spell?

As a 13th circle wizard, I need some 4th level spells. I am unable to find scrolls to purchase and the time I have to go for research is limited. I have a small team of personal dummies, each as powerful as a 6th circle magician. As such, they can easily cast 3rd level spells, but the 4th level goes beyond them.

As the effects are known and only the formulas need to be developed, is a sufficient skill in Spellcraft and an appropriate expenditure of resources necessary?

Time to stop

Search a spell

The standard rules allow you to perform a spell search, either to create a new spell, or to learn an existing spell from another source. In the system of unavailability, the steps of the daily spell search are as follows.

  1. Pay 100 in. × the level of the spell for research costs and rare ingredients. You can spend property or magic to cover this cost.
  2. Determine the total number of days of progress required to complete the search, which is 7 × the level of the spell.
  3. Determine the spell search CD, which is 10 + twice the level of the spell.
  4. Attempt to check Spellcraft and check for knowledge (arcane for a spell, religion for a divine spell) against DC. You can not take 10 on these controls. You can use Magic to edit a control result. A point of Magic adds 2 points to your total (maximum +10). If both checks are successful, you make 1 day of progress to complete the spell. When your days of progress are equal to the total number of days needed, the spell is completed and added to your spell book or known spell list.

If one or both spelling checks fail by 4 or less, you make no progress. For each control that fails by 5 or more, your searches have led to poor results and you lose a day of progress in completing the spell.


Magic

Independent research

An assistant can also search for a spell independently, duplicating an existing spell or creating a new one. The cost of searching for a new period, and the time required, are left to GM's discretion, but this should probably take at least a week and cost at least 1,000 inches per level of the study period. This should also require a number of Spellcraft and Knowledge (arcana) checks.

dnd 5th – Can a Druid cast the Flame Blade spell and then use the Wild Shape Blade?

Yes, you can use flame blade in wild form …

You can certainly cast the spell and then continue to focus on it while being in a wild form. In addition, you are allowed to perform all the actions that the spell attributes to you (in particular, evoke the blade and attack with it) while focusing on you, thanks to this Wild Shape feature (emphasis mine):

You can not cast spells and your ability to speak or take any action requiring hands is limited to the abilities of your dumb form. Transformer, however, does not stop you from focusing on a spell you've already cast, and does not stop you from taking actions that are part of the spell, such as call lightning, which you have already cast.

So, as if you could continue using your action to recall lightning while focusing on call lightning In your wild form, you can use your action to attack with your flame blade while being in a wild form.

… but only if your wild form can hold a blade

However, the part where you are experiencing problems is

If you let go of the blade, it will disappear

This means that if you become a wolf, the blade will disappear, and even if you evoke it again with a bonus action, it will disappear again because you have no way to hold it between your paws . However, if you were to take a wild form in a monkey, which has hands with opposable thumbs, I see no reason why you can not handle the blade as usual. Since you keep your wisdom score, you would even use the same attack modifier when you attack with it, as it is a melee attack (not an attack). with a melee weapon).

If you want to turn into a giant owl with flying over and make passes by brandishing the blade of flame in your greenhouses, I would advise you to ask your SM first.

dnd 3.5e – What happens when you cast a spell with the activated spell?

As written, I think it's not clear (bad wording, as you say), what is supposed to happen and it will really be up to the DM to decide. But I will try:

Let's break a little the description of the spell. According to Turning Spell the description:

Spell-like spells and effects are returned to the caster.

This DM would judge that Turning Spell would return to the fate, as the description says. Therefore, if you target yourself, you are still the target, but you also lose x levels of Turning Spell do that.

Now there is the question of the resonance field:

If you and a caster attacker are both protected by spell reversal effects, a resonance field is created.

The spell does not and can not differentiate the pitchers (you do not focus on it) and so on, as it is written and because the spell does not know attacker of Non-striker, there may be a case for the resonance field effect. Certainly – and this could be a very fun and random thing.

However, there are also good reasons to argue that there are not really two Spell Turns react against each other so that this effect does not occur. For this DM, a resonance field requires this set of events:
– a spell cast on you by the enemy
– returned to "enemy" by your Turning Spell
– then returned to you by their Turning Spell
– creates a resonance field effect (I imagine a spell stuck between two bubbles exploding randomly)

Despite RAW, this DM should state that no resonance field effect would occur (unless the above scenario is met). All this to say that once you have launched Turning Spell, do not expect to target with spells or lose Turning Spell levels.

Now, if you launch Turning Spell on you while you already have Turning Spell up …;)

dnd 5th – If the Heat Metal spell is cast on the armor of a mounted character, does that hurt their mount?

A chain shirt and a breastplate are just the upper body.

Chain shirt. This armor offers modest protection to the upper body of the wearer

Pectoral. This armor consists of a fitted metal chest piece, worn with soft leather.

The scales of mail, half-plate and all heavy armor have a complete body.

Scale of the mail. This armor is composed of a coat and leggings

Half plate. The half-plate consists of profiled metal plates that cover most of the wearer's body.

When rolling, only the bottom of your body is in contact with your mount (often by a saddle). Depending on your realism, your DM can have your mount take damage when you wear armor that extends to the lower body.

More realistic tables can discuss saddles and other barriers providing protection. However, an armor such as Chain Shirt is worn between layers of clothing or leather and should cause damage to the user. Is not a saddle similar? It depends on DM fiat and table style.

It is interesting to note that the number of contacts that can cause the damage does not matter. Even if it was a simple ring on your finger, you would suffer 2d8 points of fire damage. Thus, a small part of the armor touching the mount also causes all the damage.

5th dnd – A wizard using a quarter of staff at Arcane Focus and a shield can he still cast Somatic Component Spells?

If there is a wizard who, by some means, has gained sufficient control of the use of shields, can he use his shield in one hand and his arcane concentration weapon quarter in the other and continue to cast somatic component spells?

Since the quarter-staff was designed to be also an arcane focus, and the Sage Advice Compendium Compendium indicates that you can provide the somatic components of spells with the same hand wielding the arcane focus, in this case a able to perform somatic component spells while using a shield in the other?

I understand that War Caster is the exploit that allows you to cast somatic compound spells while using a shield and a weapon or two weapons in each hand, but is it a simple way to get around these rules? this "weapon" is your arcane focus? I would like to believe that this is not the case, but I do not fully master the methods of casting spells.

dnd 5th – Can I cast a spell in the Invoke Duplicity clone while in a Forcecage?

Can I cast a spell that requires concentration, through the clone granted by the Summon duplicity Characteristic of the cleric of the domain:

Summon duplicity

From the 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity
create an illusory duplicate of yourself.
As an action, you create a perfect illusion of
yourself that lasts 1 minute, or until you lose your
concentration (as if you were concentrating on a spell).
The illusion appears in an unoccupied space that you
can see within 30 feet of you. As a bonus action on your
turn, you can move the illusion up to 30 feet to a space
you can see, but it must stay within 120 feet of you.
For the duration, you can cast spells as if you
were in the illusion space but you have to use your own
the senses. In addition, when you and your illusion
are within 5 feet of a creature able to see the illusion,
you have an advantage over the attack rolls against this creature,
given the distraction of illusion for the target.

As long as I'm under the effect of the Forcing to spell?

Forcing

An invisible, mobile and invisible, cube-shaped prison composed of
the magical force is born around a domain that you
choose in range. The prison can be a cage or a solid
box, as you choose.
A cage-shaped prison can be up to 20 feet long.
one side and consists of spaced 1/2-inch diameter bars
1/2 inch apart.
A box-shaped prison can have up to 10 feet long
one side, creating a solid barrier that prevents any material
to get through and block the spells thrown into
or out of the area.
When you cast the spell, any creature that is
completely inside the cage is trapped. creatures
only partially in the area, or those that are too big for
within the zone, are far from the center of the
area until they are completely outside the area.
A creature inside the cage can not leave it by non-agical
means. If the creature tries to use teleportation or
interplanar travel out of the cage, you must first make a
Charisma saving throw. If successful, the creature can
Use this magic to get out of the cage. In case of failure, the creature
can not get out of the cage and wastes the use of the spell or
effect. The cage also extends into the ethereal plane,
block the ethereal journey.
This spell can not be dispelled by dissipation of magic

Pakistani actors banned in Bollywood …?

Hello friends,

Tell me, why are Pakistani actors banned in Bollywood …?

.