pathfinder – Can a caster deliberately fail in Wrest Resources to produce adamantium?

You do not have to deliberately fail. All you have to do is not to meet the unprecedented demands. Keep yourself in a state where it is impossible to perform DC 42 checks in Knowledge (Nature), Knowledge (Geography) and Survival is not difficult, especially in view of the strict limitations on technical assistance

Attention, it is not completely free. You will have to find 500 gp of Adamantium by casting. This will cost you 1000gp in diamond dust for the Restoration. This will cost you 100 GP for the magic pot, and, for the non-devilish path, 1000 GP for the clone. You must also fail your backup, but it is voluntary.

Dispelling the magic does not work because Flesh to Stone is instant, rather than duration. Flesh to stone is also at the 6th level, which means that Break Enchantment will only work if it can be broken by Dissipation of Magic or Stone to Flesh. Mythical break Enchantment would do the trick, but if someone casts you mythical spells, you probably already have problems.

Stone to Flesh is … questionable. He is aiming for either a petrified creature or a quantity of stone. If you are categorical, you are not a quantity of stone, and broken / sliced ​​pieces are clearly not a creature. Moreover, Flesh to Stone makes no reference at all to the petrified state, and the petrified state itself specifically says that it refers to a state that has been turned into stone (this which, again, is not categorical). A DM may well assert that Stone to Flesh's goal is to counter Flesh to Stone, and therefore that it works, but he should have also decided that removed parts of the statue (such as limbs) would still count as parts of the creature, in a way that is simply not for removed parts of a non-petrified standard creature.

On the bright side, even if the SM is right against you on Stoen to Flesh, all is not lost. Very few people would think that throwing Stone to Flesh on an unyielding golem would make sense, to the point that if someone tries it and there are no hostile deities involved, it's almost certainly because the DM abuses knowledge of the OOC. Break Enchantment is a more plausible tactic, but the casting time is one minute during which the Golem has the opportunity to formulate objections to the process.

In addition, if you are evil, there is a way to do it that requires much less spell casting. Find a miserable one not to be missed and apply the appropriate levels of mind control or diplomacy to convince him that you are a friend. Teach him the ritual. To have him launch it, solo. Be sure to hit him with something that makes him lose his backup bonus, and maybe something that will feed him from time to time to the point that the 6d6 damage will not kill him outright. (If he's dead, he's no longer a valid target for Flesh to Stone.)

Of course, this is the kind of resource-generating system that leaves traces and can produce interesting complications. You have to find the ritual, you have to learn it, and since the ritual literally attempts (whatever it is) to steal all that is categorical in an area whose radius is measured tens of kilometers, it seems be it that kind of thing. this could attract attention.

Last warning: for the ritual, the mineral / metal / gemstone must be "natural". As a skymetal, adamant may or may not be eligible, depending on the exact definition of "natural". His Probably agree, but your deputy minister may disagree.

5th dnd – Does allowing the Thunderwave spell to be centered without affecting the caster increase its power level?

the a wave of thunder sort to description:

A wave of thunderous force invades you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube coming from you must make a constitution save roll. In case of failure of a save, a creature suffers 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed a hundred yards away from you. In case of successful backup, the creature suffers half the damage and is not pushed.

When I read this for the first time, long ago, I thought it meant that the caster was the center of the 15-foot cube, thus affecting all the creatures around you. I've also assumed that it would not hurt the thrower. For clarity, I play that it is always centered on the caster, not that they have the choice of his area of ​​effect.

I've since learned from this and other questions on the site that this interpretation is incorrect. Indeed, nitsua60's response to this question explicitly calls my misconception directly. This other question also excludes a potential solution that complies with RAW.

As I prefer my incorrect version of the spell, I always used it at my table without really worrying about its balance. I did not find it too powerful; However, I have never used it in raw ways, so I am not sure that there is a difference.

My question is:
Change Does a wave of thunder to be centered on but not to affect the caster to increase his power level?

dnd 3.5e – Ranger with Practice Caster Feat

A Level 6 Ranger with Practical Spellcaster has the 6th thrower level, that's right. But he still has the spells of a level 6 ranger daily: a spell of level 1. Spellcaster practiced has no effect on spells a day (nor known spells, for classes with spells) known at each level, the ranger is not one of these classes).

[Practiced Spellcaster] does not affect your spells per day or known spells. This only increases your caster level, which would help you penetrate SR and increase the duration and other effects of your spells.

When the Ranger becomes a Level 7 Ranger, his launcher level also drops to 7th – always 3 on guard levels, now +4 to Practiced Spellcaster. He always has only one first level spell. At rangers 8, 8, 4 and 4, he now has "0" level 2 spells, which means he is eligible for additional level 2 spells per day from a high Wisdom score. And in the 9th row, his launcher level remains the 8th position, since Practical Spellcaster can give at most +4 to a class, he gets 4 of his level of guard, +4 instead of Practiced Spellcaster.

To get the spells of a level 12 ranger you will need to actually be a level 12 ranger or at least 12 effective levels of ranger spellcasting among rangers and prestige classes that advance the spread of Ranger spells. There is no way around this throughout the match.

You can improve the casting of rangers, although

While a level 6 ranger will still have the day spells of a level 6 ranger and nothing will ever make him have the spells a day from a higher level ranger, you can change the caster of the class of rangers. In Dragon Volume 336 of the magazine contains the "mystic" variant of the ranger. This version gets the privileged enemy and combat style bonuses at more advanced levels than normal rangers, but generates more spells, at lower levels, than normal rangers. This is often recommended because casting spells is much more important than the exploits of the privileged enemy or bonuses, get those, just a little later, that's all.

dnd 5th – How confident is the caster when his spell will end?

In D & D 5e, many episodes have a fixed duration measured in common time units – minutes, hours, days, and so on. Does the caster have a clear idea of ​​when he will cast his spell, and if so, is this knowledge vague ("half," "almost gone") or accurate? ("in five, four, three, two …")?

5th dnd – Is a character with the exploit of War Caster able to call a lock with Call Lightning instead of launching an opportunity attack?

No, War Caster does not let you do that

Unfortunately, War Caster offers the following benefits:

When the movement of a hostile creature causes an opportunity attack on your part, you can use your reaction to: to put a spell on to the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a cast time of 1 action and must target that creature only.

When you use your action to call lightning as described in the Flash Appeal spell, it does not cast a spell; it's its own kind of action, manipulate a spell that has already been cast and that is not covered by War Caster.

You can not use the reaction offered by War Caster to launch Flash appeal like a new spell, that is, since Flash appeal do not just target that specific creature; Lightning has an effect area, so it can potentially target multiple enemies, even with only the initial lock, and you can continue to use the spell to hit many different targets during its duration.

dnd 5th – Can another caster teach ritual spells to a warlock with a book of ancient secrets?

This question already has an answer here:

Assistants, for example, must explicitly copy scroll spells and only learn parchment spells. However, the book of secrets of ancient Eldritch Invocation is very general about how ritual spells can be learned:

During your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the spell level is equal to or less than half your warlock level (rounded up) and you have time to transcribe the spell.

"Finding such a fate for your adventures" seems very general. Specifically, could the learning spells of another launcher be eligible?

dnd 5th – Can the Dragon's Breath spell cause damage to enemies without a clear path to the caster?

Full coverage and protection of effect areas on the point of origin, not on the launcher

The breath of the dragon goes through two 'steps'; the spell is first cast on a creature targeted by a touchscreen. Standard touch targeting rules are applied. Then, the affected creature (as long as the spell lasts) can use its action to produce an area of ​​effect that deals damage.

The relevant extract from the Player's manual with regard to the effect areas:

The effect of a spell grows in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of origin to a location in the effect area, that location is not included in the area of ​​the spell. To obstruct one of these imaginary lines, an obstruction must provide total coverage […]

Player's manualp. 204

Who like The breath of the dragon There is no exception to this (some other spells say "this effect extends around the corners" or whatever), the area of ​​the spell's effect is blocked by corners.

However, the area of ​​effect of The breath of the dragon is a cone from the affected creature (the one who needs to use his action). The position of the wheel does not enter the picture.

Similarly, a spell with an area of ​​a sphere can affect a creature that has full coverage of the caster, provided that the origin point (in this case the center of the sphere) has a clear line with this creature.

5th dnd – War Caster, a whip and provocation of opportunity attacks

This is a sequel to War Caster, a whip and a dagger, and causing opportunity attacks, but without the dagger part.

Question: If I hold a whip but not another melee weapon, can I still cast a spell in response when an adjacent enemy moves 5 feet from me?

The logic here is that I could use an unarmed strike to launch an opportunity attack. So, I am allowed to replace this attack with a spell.

Is my logic correct?

3.5nd dnd – Can a caster help another to form a craft contingency spell?

In the craft quota is written

Craft Quota Spell Type: Object Creation
Sources: Complete Arcane
Inapplicable East

You know how to attach semi-permanent spells to a creature and set them
activate under certain conditions. Prerequisites: launcher level
11th. Advantage: You can create any sort that you know.
The development of a quota takes one day for every 1,000 inches.
base price (spell level x roll level x 100 in). To make a
quota, you have to spend 1/25 of this base price in XP and use
raw materials costing half of the basic price. Some spells incur
additional costs in hardware components or XP (as indicated in their
descriptions), which must be paid when the quota period is
created.

In the DM manual, on page 215, is written

Prerequisites: Certain conditions must be met for
character to create a magic object. These include feats, spells and
various requirements such as level alignment, race or gender.
The prerequisites for the creation of an article are given immediately
following the launcher level. A prerequisite can be
provided by a character who prepared the spell (or who knows the spell
spell in the case of a wizard or a bard), or by the use of a
spell completion or spell trigger magic element or spell-like ability
which produces the desired spell effect. For each day that passes
During the creation process, the creator must use a spell to complete his spell.
element (such as a parchment) or a charge of a spell trigger, item (such as
magic wand), if one of these objects is used to provide a
prerequisite. It is possible that several characters cooperate
when creating an element, each participant providing one or
more preconditions. In some cases, cooperation may even be
necessary, for example if a character knows some of the necessary spells
to create an object and another character, know the rest. If two or
more characters cooperate to create an object, they have to agree
themselves who will be considered the creator for the purposes of
determinations where the level of the creator must be known. (His
Generally reasonable, although not mandatory, for the highest level
character involved to bet considered the creator.) The character
designated as the creator, pays the XP required to make the object.
Typically, a list of prerequisites includes an exploit and one or more
spells (or another requirement in addition to the exploit). When two
the spells at the end of the list are separated by "or", one of these spells
is necessary in addition to all the other spells mentioned before the
last two. For example, the prerequisites for a three wish ring
are "Ring Forge, wish or miracle", which means wish or miracle
is necessary as well as the exploit of Forge Ring

  1. Can two characters collaborate to create a contingent spell with this feat?

  2. Can the contingent spell depend on the will of the character casting the spell?

More specifically, I have a clerk and I want to buy a contingency with Antimagic Field. The condition is this: if an enemy launches the disjunction of the mage, the contingency is activated. However, I also wish to be able to interrupt the antimagic field.
I thought that if my clerk cast the spell, he could also interrupt it later since he was the main caster.

dnd 5th – How can the Truth Zone spell be defeated without the knowledge of the caster?

Mechanically, Truth zone can be defeated only by high-level features

As you say, any attempt to resist or avoid the effects of Truth zone alert the launcher. And in the context of a loyalty test, avoiding the effect is synonymous with admitting disloyalty. The only exceptions to this rule are some high-level features: Mastermind Rogue's Soul of Deceit feature (as mentioned in Louis Wasserman's answer) destroys the truth-detection system and the level-8 spell. glibness provides a similar ability:

[…] No matter what you say, the magic that determines if you tell the truth indicates that you are truthful.

Note that while glibness causes Truth zone read what you say true, do not you necessarily protect against the obligation to tell the truth. If you intend to use it, you should first ask your deputy minister how it will work. Truth zone to avoid arguments when this actually happens. (On the other hand, Soul of Deceit says explicitly that you can not be forced to tell the truth by magic, so there is no ambiguity there.)

In any case, unless you have access to available features or spells around level 15-17, you will need to pass your Loyalty Test by saying what your character thinks is the truth.

Believe your lies

However, there is at least one small, hard-to-exploit loophole that requires no powerful capacity: Truth zone only prevents a creature from speaking a deliberate lie. If you manage to believe your lies, you will be able to say them while having the effect of Truth zone. For example, if the question of loyalty is something like "Are you loyal to the Empire?", Then you will be able to answer with a simple "yes," even if you plan to murder the person. Emperor, as long as you wish. really and honestly believed it would help the Empire. Obviously, it's a very circumventing the situation, but I want to emphasize that this is materially different from being evasive or "lying with the truth". This is a case where you give exactly the truthful answer expected of you, but for a completely different reason (praying that you will never be asked to specify this reason).

In practice, when you try to use this, you should probably expect reactions from your DM, asking you if your character really believe that. This "loophole" has a concentration on character rather than mechanics. Therefore, if you plan to do so, be prepared with a solid story to justify your honesty. And of course, be prepared to accept the fact that a slightly different question might reveal that your interpretation of loyalty differs from that of your interrogators. In the example above, you would not go well if you were asked instead "Are you loyal to the emperor?"

Unfortunately, I have no experience to share about using this "loophole" in a real game. I simply emphasize that this is the only loophole I can think of.