oracle – strange behavior pl / sql – the last character is removed from the select statement, but the actual data has a different length

We have a table with a column name A with the type nvarchar(23).

the next query will always return 23 which means that the actual length of all records are 23.

select length(trim(req.A)), count(*)
  from tableName req
group by length(trim(req.A));
|length(trim(req.A))|count(*)| 
------------------------------
|23                 |1006    |

But when we select in this table with this query, its behavior is different and it seems that the last character is always removed from the Gridview result in the pl / sql developer.

select LENGTHB(req.A) lenb, length(req.A) len, req.* from tableName req
where req.A = 'NHBBBBB1398052635902235'; -- Note to the equal sign and the last charactar (5) of the where clause

the result is:

|lenb|len|          A           |
---------------------------------
|46  |23 |NHBBBBB139805263590223|

As you can see the last character (5) is deleted in the selected result.

Can you please explain what is happening !? Is it related to the configuration pl / sql? How to solve this?

languages ​​- Can an average intelligence character be bilingual by default?

My friend recently started rebuilding his 1st Half-Monk character in Pathfinder 2nd. By context, it is about a man who grew up in a camp of killer whales and then lived in a monastery (essentially human) for a certain time.

Now, according to the new 2nd rules, half-orcs begin the game by speaking common (as opposed to common and orcque as in 1st) with the option to know more languages ​​if their INT score is high enough (or in adding points to linguistics., maybe?). Although I agree that a character should not automatically know a language by the mere fact of his ancestors (a half-orc raised by a single non-orcous parent would probably not speak the orc unless having explicitly studied the language), I nevertheless think that in this particular case, it is absolutely justified that the character knows two languages ​​- without taking a voluntary flaw in Wisdom or Charisma to increase the Intelligence from 11 to 12, because this Is how bilingualism works.

Am I right to insist that he should have his second language "for free", keeping in mind that it would be mostly just for the flavor anyway (we have another semi-orc character in the party)? Or am I unreasonable when trying to apply real world rules to game phenomena?

We play in turn, so there is not one person who has the last word. The question is rather to know if it is theoretically possible to justify the above on the basis of the rules, as opposed to a DM grant.

SQL server – XML ​​loading SSIS Invalid character in encoding specified

I am using SQL Server 2014 SSIS.

I have a C # script task that loads XML data from a third-party XML file that has worked. Recently, he failed, stating:

Invalid character in the given encoding. Line 201, position 169.

Using stop points, the following C # line corresponds to the moment when the error is generated:

XMLDataset.ReadXml(XMLFileNameWithPath);

fyi – XMLFileNameWithPath is a local variable to which I pass the XML file name.

When I open the XML file in Notepadd ++ and go to line 201 position 169, it appears that the character "ñ" is the culprit.

The first line of the XML indicates that it is in UTF 8:


How can I get around this?

magic items – How many charges does a multi-class character imbue a stick?

This is a question of Pathfinder Second Edition.

Let's say we have a fourth-level clergy member who took the dedication of the assistant and broadcast the basic assistant (both CRB, p.231) to the second and fourth levels, respectively. This character has second-level spell locations that they can use for divine spells, as they are clerics and a top-level location that they can use for arcane spells. Spellcasting basic assistant.

They acquire a fire stick (CRB pg 594), which can be used to hot hands. Hot hands is on their spells list because they have access to the arcane spells of the wizard's dedication, and they can cast that spell from the staff. The specific rule governing this is on CRB pg. 592:

You can only cast a stick spell if you have that spell on your spells list, are able to cast spells of the appropriate level, and spend a number of charges equal to the spell level.

Since they can cast a spell, they can prepare staff when they make their daily preparations and impregnate them with some charges. Here is the relevant rule from the same page:

During your daily preparations, you can prepare a team to add fees for free. In doing so, the staff earns a number of charges equal to the highest level of spell you can cast. (…) You can only prepare a staff if you have at least one of his spells on your spells list.

The question is how much does the staff earn? A charge because they can only cast first level spells from the spell list that allows them to use and prepare the staff? Or two charges, because they are strictly capable of casting second level spells?

Follow-up question: what happens if they do not have the basic Spellingcast function of the assistant?

dnd 5th – Does a character who casts Shape Change and morphs into a caster use innate spell casting to cast spells with a long casting spell?

Trying to launch town will end shape change

As you noted, shape change is a concentration spell which means that focusing on another spell or casting a spell with a long casting spell will put an end to it (see also this Q / A).

The Innate Spellcasting of Planetar only says that (it's me who points out):

The ability of the caster to cast a spell is Charisma (DC 20 spell save). The planetary can innately cast the following spells, does not require any hardware component:

So, the only special property of Planetar's Innate spells is that they do not require any hardware components. All other aspects of spell casting function normally, according to the rules for innate spell casting, including the concentration requirement to be able to cast a spell with a long casting spell that you already have cited.

Therefore, the casting town as Planetar requires concentration for the duration, which means that trying to do so would end shape change as soon as you started the casting town.

5th dnd – Can you use Shape Change with character feats to attack the Tarrasque?

As stated in this question, you retain the benefit of your exploits when you change form. And you're right, the legendary resistance will not let the tarrasque avoid a fight.

Even if you associate the tarrasque with your feat of grappling, all that it does is to disadvantage it in its attacks against you. His attacks are at +19 to hit, and the ca of a giant storm is 16, so the disadvantage will not help you much.

The Tarrasque deals an average of 212 damage per round (his attacks averaged 36, 28, 28, 32, 24 damage, and he also gets legendary actions that can represent two more attacks for 28 and 36 damage).

It seems that the attacks of the tarrasque are non-magic (!), So a stone skin the spell will halve the damage received. Your concentration controls seem surprisingly safe: the storm giant gets +10 at its constitution, and with the stone skin Spell, it is unlikely that you need more than a DC10 backup.

Two high-level clerics can heal you for several rounds (1cure restores 10 hp per level of the spell slot).

But the main purpose of this case is that you force the tarrascus to attack you (with your stone skin your size would make you too big to swallow) rather than attacking one of your most fragile allies. And you give your allies the advantage over their attack rolls once the tarrasque is withheld.

It seems worth it.

How fast can a character be?

I've always loved fast characters like Speed-o-Sonic Sound of One Punch Man, who move fast, attack fast, and so on.

The question is how can I create one on D & D?

It seems impossible to me, prove me if I'm wrong.

dnd 5th – Can a character have additional backgrounds, or at least their benefits?

No and yes

No, a character can not replace his story. It's already happened, so it would not make sense for them to lose the profit.

Yes, there are non-traditional ways to get most of these things. Here's what the faction officer provides you, according to SCAG 147-8:

  • Skills Skills (two of your choice)
  • Languages ​​(two of your choice)
  • Equipment: insignia or emblem of your faction, a copy of a seminal faction text (or a code book for a secret faction), a set of ordinary clothes and a pouch containing 15 gp.
  • File: Safe Haven: you have access to a secret network of sympathizers and agents, etc., etc.
  • Traits and motivations: by bottom of sidekick, with exchange of "faith" against "faction".

The first two are not very distinctive. The Gear section could literally be Bregan who would give your quack a backpack full of things. The Safe Haven is promising him clandestine support. The traits and motivations are mainly in the hands of the player.

So, basically, all this could come for free. However, as a deputy minister, you would not want to show favoritism and may want to provide rules support.

PHB 187, in the Stop Time Activities section, is a Training sub-section. With an instructor, 250 days and 250 gp, you can learn a new language (or set of tools).

DMG 227 begins a section titled Other Rewards. Towards the end of page 231 is a section entitled Training, which offers optional skill mastery.

For a faction emblem, go back to a page and consider the Prestige Marque option for a medal. This should cover the special item Equipment.

Finally, for the refuge, see the section Special Favors. This could provide a particularly interesting role-playing game as faction agents start calling you for favors due or in search of news.

Does the level requirement of Psi-Tech discoveries of the psychic refer to the level of the class or character?

In the list of psychological discoveries of the psychic, we find Force Field, which says:

You must be at least 3rd level to select this discovery.

Does it mean a psychic level 3 or a level 3?

5th dnd – Can you help a character prone to get up?

Yes you can

PHB Chapter 9: Combat, page 193, it's me who points out.

Your character can do things not covered by actions
this chapter
like breaking doors, intimidating
enemies, feeling the weaknesses of magic defenses, or calling
for a parade with an enemy. The only limits to the actions you can
attempt is your imagination
and the capacity of your character
scores. See the descriptions of the ability scores in Chapter 7
for the inspiration you improvise.
When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in
the rules, the DM tells you if this action is possible
and what kind of role you need to do, if any, to determine
success or failure.

D & D is not like a computer game. Your player may announce various things, including "I'm trying to help him get up." As a deputy minister, your job is to make a decision instead of simply saying "you can not do it because, you know, that action is not on the list."

RAW, the PC takes action trying to do it. You can ask the player to check the abilities if there is a risk of failure:

Actions in combat

When you perform your action in turn, you can perform any of the actions presented here, an action you have gained in your class, or a special function, or an action you improvise.
When you describe an action not described elsewhere in the roles, the DM tells you if this action is possible and what type of throw you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure.

I would say that this should be an automatic success in this case – the action itself is trivial, and spending an action in combat is already a decent price. Just let your players know, "Yes, you can help, but you will not have time to do anything else this time." Do you want to do it?

This should not only go to the price of the wizard's movement thinking – on the one hand, because it contradicts the rules (you have to spend an Action and you can not really "transfer" your feet movement to another character), and on the other hand, it sets a precedent of doing something useful in combat almost "free" (you usually have a lot of unused movements in combat).