monsters – 5e creatures that ignore armor?

I’m trying to homebrew a nasty hornet swarm with some added attacks to make it more dangerous. One of the ideas that I had was to make the hornets crawl under the armor/clothes when attacking, thus ignoring the armor/shield bonus. I was wondering if there are already mechanics for something like this in the game or monsters that do something similar. I could not find anything during my search, but my book access/knowledge is not absolute unfortunately.

If there are no rules for it, I would probably give them an ability like:

Attack from within By spending 5 feet of its movement, the swarm can crawl in between the armor of the target, attacking them directly. Use a target AC of 10 + Dexterity modifier for any attacks made in this state unless the target is wearing protective clothing, has unarmored defense or similar. This effect ends by the end of the swarm’s turn when it crawls back out.

dnd 5e – Iron Flask and spell-summoned creatures

If I’m a wizard on the material plane and I cast Summon Lesser Demons, then capture one of the demons with an Iron Flask, what happens to the captured demon when the spell ends one hour later? Does it disappear and return to its home plane, leaving the Flask empty, or is it bound by the Flask now?

dnd 5e – Are tiny creatures carried in a backpack protected from AOEs?

If I carry tiny creatures in my closed backpack, would they be immune to Fireball and other area of effect spells?

For example, is it possible to carry a horde of Tiny Servants (from the spell of the same name) in one’s backpack, and have them stay in the backpack fully protected until they are needed?

Can a swashbuckler parry creatures he cannot see if he has blindfight and combat reflexes?

Can a swashbuckler parry an attack from an invisible creature or creature they cannot see if they can make AOOs while flatfooted via combat reflexes and have blindfight?

dnd 5e – Do features that say they let you see invisible creatures and objects actually let you see invisible creatures & objects?

The 2020 Sage Advice Compendium has the following question & answer:

The frightened condition says “while the source of its fear is within line of sight.” Does that mean you have dis-advantage on attack rolls and ability checks even if the source is invisible but you have a clear line to its space?

No. If you can’t see something, it’s not within your line of sight. Speaking of “line of sight,” the game uses the English meaning of the term, which has no special meaning in the rules.

This says in no uncertain terms that being unable to see means it’s not in your line of sight.

The Divination Wizard’s “The Third Eye” feature says:

See Invisibility. You can see invisible creatures and objects within 10 feet of you that are within line of sight.

The Wild Magic Surge result 03-04:

For the next minute, you can see any invisible creature if you have line of sight to it.

My interpretation is that both of these features simply don’t work despite their intended function being to see what cannot be seen, since the new ruling requires that the creatures/objects are already seen for the feature’s requirements to be met.

Is my interpretation accurate?

dnd 5e – Does a 3rd-level Wolf Totem barbarian give advantage to friendly summoned creatures and other allies that are not strictly speaking “friends”?

A 3rd-level Wolf Totem Barbarian has the following feature:

  • While you’re raging, your friends have advantage on melee attack rolls against any creature within 5 feet of you that is hostile to you. The spirit of the wolf makes you a leader of hunters.

I wonder what qualifies as a “friend” for the purpose of the spell?

Does it require some sort of lasting relationship between the Barbarian and the creature, or is it enough that the creature be “friendly” to the Barbarian?

Would friendly allies such as an hired escort, a conjured animal, a friendly skeleton, or the beastmaster’s pet qualify as “friends”?

dnd 5e – Can an Echo Knight fighter’s Manifest Echo move through another creature’s space?

No

It’s not immediately clear, because the echo knight is not a creature, but some particular attributes are ascribed to it that are normally only ascribed to creatures.

There are several reasons for which we might state that the echo can occupy another creature’s space:

1. The Echo isn’t a creature

The basic rules impose the following restrictions on player movement, which are assumed to extend to all creatures, except in the case of exceptions:

You can move through a nonhostile creature’s space. In contrast, you can move through a hostile creature’s space only if the creature is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you. Remember that another creature’s space is difficult terrain for you.

The echo projected by an Echo Knight is not a creature, so this restriction does not apply to it.

2. The Echo doesn’t have a movement speed

None of the rules for movement, including the above, can be applied to the echo, because the echo does not ‘move’ in the way that creatures move. It has no speed of any kind, and moves ‘up to 30 feet in any direction’ when mentally instructed to do so by the Echo Knight. This movement includes upwards movement and is more akin to a caster moving their Mage Hand than to a creature expending their movement to traverse space in a physical way.

3. The echo is ethereal

Even if the Echo weren’t a creature and didn’t have a speed, it might still be constrained by the common sense adjudication that corporeal bodies cannot pass through one another freely. The echo, however is:

a magical, translucent, gray image

An ‘image’ is an ethereal object, which means that the echo can pass through creatures and objects alike.

But…

All of the above is overwritten by the ruling that the echo:

… is the same size as you, and it occupies its space.

‘Occupy’ and ‘space’ here are not meant in their most general sense, but are mechanical terms usually reserved for creatures. So whilst the echo is not a creature, it inherits the capacity of creatures to occupy space, and the restrictions of space-occupation which come with them. Whilst these rules refer explicitly to creatures being unable to occupy one another’s space, they are extended to the echo because the echo is a space-occupier even though it’s not a creature. This is a difficult edge case brought about by poorly written rules.

dnd 5e – Do weapons looted from creatures that are larger than Medium in size retain their damage when wielded by Medium-sized PCs?

Technically speaking, yes. The looted weapon will still deal extra damage.

Big monsters typically wield oversized weapons that deal extra dice of damage on a hit.

The “that” is pretty clear – the weapons deal extra damage, not the monster.

However, you should be extremely cautious in making these rules (and weapons) accessible to players. The rules on creature size are in the PHB, but these rules are in the DMG. They’re not meant to be easily accessible to players.

A player who is making a conscious effort to gain advantage on their attacks can do so fairly easily. That makes wielding oversized weapons a pretty nice option for any player who wants to build around it. At the very least, if you’re planning to allow this, consider implementing the suggested rule that it is impossible to use a weapon two sizes too big.

How many actions does a Bida need to use to sustain its Improved Grab on multiple creatures?

A Bida has grabbed three people with its tail via its Eight Coils and Improved Grab ability. How many actions does it need to use to keep all three of those people grabbed? 1? 3? I’d guess it works like Constrict (one action for all of them), especially since it’d be impossible to grab 8 people otherwise.

dnd 5e – Does the spell Destructive Wave allow choosing hidden creatures as targets?

Many spells where you can select targets specify you must select targets that you can see, for example Seeming:

This spell allows you to change the Appearance of any number of creatures that you can see within range.

However there are some spells which don’t require seeing. I am considering the Paladin spell Destructive Wave for a character of mine (for its ability to knock targets prone), and it has this text:

You strike the ground, creating a burst of divine energy that ripples outward from you. Each creature you choose within 30 feet of you must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take (damage and be knocked prone, save for half damage)

I would think this clearly allows using this spell even when blind, or against invisible creatures, if the target is not hidden. Also, line-of-effect rule is also in effect, because why wouldn’t it be, right? (This is not the question, just assumptions I am making, and I’m pretty sure the DM will also make.)

But is it allowed to choose creatures which are also hidden from the caster, when the spell doesn’t require caster seeing the targets?

There are at least these cases to consider:

  1. Creatures which the caster knows about, but which are hidden, so their location is uncertain to the caster. They may or may not be within range, but the caster wants them to be affected if they are.
  2. Hidden creatures, which the caster doesn’t even know about, but the caster wants to choose every creature within 30′.
  3. Creatures the caster knows, but has no reason to think they might be within the spell range.