dnd 5th – Interacting Protection Links and Twin Spells

Twin spell:

When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and has no rank of self, you can spend a number of ritual points equal to the level of the spell to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 point of ritual if the spell is a cantrip).

Protective link:

This spell protects a consenting creature that you touch and creates a mystical connection between you and the target until the end of the spell […]

The spell ends when you drop to 0 or if you and the target are more than 20 meters apart. It also ends if the spell is cast again on one of the connected creatures..

Verdict:

No, you can not (or should not) use this spell with a paired spell. In Warding Bond, it is written:

& # 39; It also ends if the spell is again launched on one of the connected objects.
creatures.

Considering you are one of the connected creatures, it would end with the first target and then reform on the second target (if you had to use it with a paired spell).

EDIT:

With the comment of @ Blckknght, it would be possible to select several targets with the spell as long as you are able to fulfill the requirements (touch the targets, pronounce the spell and use two platinum rings to launch them).

Here's where it's difficult because the spell requires platinum rings to be worn by the caster and the target, but since the spell is not thrown againyou do not use another pair of rings to bind to the second target. Because you need each target (and yourself) to wear a ring, with the basic rules, it does not seem possible to cast the spell correctly. If you were to talk to your DM and work on a situation of 4 rings, the spell could be cast "correctly".

dnd 5th – What skill modifier should I use to knock out a dead goblin?

I know that I can use a dead goblin as an improvised weapon (and I simply use the goblin as an example) and that if I use it in melee, I use my strength for the attack.

I also know that when you cast a melee weapon with the launched property, it uses Force for ranged attack, but goblins do not own the Pier property or the Finesse property.

So, when I run my goblin, that is to say. to make an attack with a ranged weapon with an improvised weapon, what ability (Force or Dexterity) should I use?

5th dnd – Does Holy Water deal damage when an attack roll is missed?

If the attack roll fails, it does not do any damage

As the description of Holy Water says, this water must be treated as an improvised remote weapon and will use the rules applied to other improvised remote weapons. If you miss your attack roll, the target demon / undead will not take any damage. There was damage to the area of ​​effect that the holy water caused (as in the Ice knife spell), then the description of the article would say it.

In short, Splashed Holy Water / Jetty is an improvised remote weapon. If you miss, it does not hurt. The separation of the clauses ("Step 1" and "Step 2") simply serves to clarify that in a stroke, holy water will only damage enemies or undead. If you throw your bottle of water on a cleverly done, even after a hit, it would end up being a little wet.

dnd 5th – How many opportunity attacks can you make by turn before becoming exhausted?

Usually a creature has only one opportunity attack available

To make an attack of opportunity, a creature must use its reaction to do it. Rules on opportunity attacks (underlined by me):

You can launch an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To get the attack off the opportunity, you use your reaction make a melee attack against the provocative creature.

And you only receive your reaction at the beginning of your turn. The rules on reactions stipulate:

When you take a reaction, you can not take another one before the start of your next turn.

Therefore, you usually only have an attack on an opportunity (you actually have a reaction that you can use for an attack on an opportunity).

Having multiple opportunity attacks available does not necessarily interact with the depletion mechanisms

Some abilities allow a person to have more of an opportunity attack, as can be found in this related Q / A.1. However, even in the case of a creature with this ability that is capable of attacking more attacks in one turn, it does not mean that a creature will be exhausted unless the ability expressly states it.

Indeed, exhaustion is a completely different mechanism that does not generally interact with the opportunity attacks:

Some special abilities and environmental hazards, such as starvation and the long-term effects of frost or hot temperatures, can lead to a special condition called burnout.

In general, any skill or circumstance that causes a creature to reach a level of exhaustion will need to be phrased as accurately and as far as I know, no abilities that confer more opportunity attacks do not mentions exhaustion.

Differences with D & D 3.5e

You said that you had started playing for a long time, so I'm going to add a little note explaining how this is a D & D 3.5e change that might baffle you:

In D & D 3.5e, you had immediate action (similar to the reaction of the 5th) and the opportunity attacks were a thing apart. In 5th, an opportunity attack uses your reaction instead of being a separate mechanism (as stated above), so it's not necessary to set a limiting rule more the number of possible opportunity attacks.


1. Found by illustro

dnd 5th – Druid Wildshape Proficiency

In my next campaign, I will play the druid. I did not really understand how the skill / saving throw worked while wildshaped and other internet publications did not solve the problem.

I will try to explain how I think it works and I would like to be corrected.

Example:
Skill: Dexterity (Stealth)

MA Dexterity: +2 (15)
ANIMAL Dexterity: +1 (12)

My skill bonus: +3
ANIMAL skill bonus: +2

Modifier if I'm proficient in stealth but NOT the animal:
1 (ANIMAL Dex) + 3 (MY Competence Bonus) = 4

Modifier if the animal is proficient in stealth and I am NOT:
1 (ANIMAL Dex) + 2 (ANIMAL Proficiency Bonus) = 3

Modifier if me and the animal are proficient in stealth:
1 (ANIMAL Dex) + 3 (max of 3 (MY Competence Bonus) and 2 (ANIMAL Competence Bonus))

Is this correct or did I understand the rules?

dnd 3.5e – Does the recovery of the functions of the invisible monk's secondary class begin when the ability begins or when it ends?

It seems that readers are supposed to have the intuition of this meta-rule. As far as I know, this is not said directly anywhere, but rather seems to be simply an element of the underlying structure of the game that has never deserved a direct explanation. Fortunately, the game provides at least a similar clear example that demonstrates that the rule is true.

Dragon's blast weapons can have various effects, but a dragon must usually wait 1d4 rounds before using the blast weapon again. the Draconomicon on the rules: Breath Weapons says

The weapon of the breath of a dragon is a supernatural ability. It does not work in the anti-aggression areas. The use of a breathing weapon is a standard action. As indicated in Manuel Monsterwhen a dragon uses a breathing weapon, he must wait 1d4 rounds before he can breathe again. In this case, the turn lasts until the beginning of the next turn of the dragon (see The Fighting Round, page 138 of the Player's manual). For example, if a dragon breathes in the first round of combat and the die roll so that the weapon of the breath can then be used is equal to 1, the dragon can breathe again on turn 2. If the die is a 4, the dragon could not breathe before the fifth round. (22 and link added)

This covers all breathing weapons, including breathing weapons of a duration similar to that of the smoke drake:

As a standard action once every 1d4 rounds, a smoke drake can breathe a cloud of cloudy smoke over a 30-foot radius that conceals (20% missed chance) all creatures that are inside. Thanks to his blindsense, the duck ignores this missed opportunity. The mist lasts 1 minute … (157)

So when the alternative class function invisible fist says: "As an immediate action, you can become invisible for 1 round. You have to wait 3 rounds before you can use this ability again" (Examples of evil 21), this means that, like a dragon's breath weapon, the monk could, in turn 1, take immediate action to activate the invisible fist. The monk can not reactivate the ability this turn, turn 2, or turn 3, but may turn it back on turn 4 or later. And, to be clear, it would be invisible from the count of initiatives during the ability has been activated and until just before this same initiative relies on turn 2. (Adjust the exact moment when the ability can be reactivated appropriately if the monk activated the ability while it was not his turn.)

The invisible fist alternative class function continues saying: "At the 9th level, as immediate action, you can use wink, as a spell, for a number of turns equal to your wisdom modifier (minimum 1 round). You must wait 3 turns before you can use this ability again "(ibid. and link added). Therefore, the monk of turn 1 in turn can take immediate action to activate the invisible fist in order to win a wink The effect continues until the second turn (but not until the end), but if its wisdom score is 14, it continues until the last turn (without going through the turn 3). If his wisdom score is 16, he continues until the last turn (without going through turn 4). The wisdom score is 18, it continues until the (5) round (5), and so on. However, the monk can not reactivate the ability before the 4th turn. wink the effects are probably covered by the same effect rules more than once for different forces (PH 172), the longest duration wink effect of replacing the shorter one.)


Note: Other non-monk class features available at character levels 9 and above lead this reader to wildly speculate that may have thought that waiting periods worked differently, perhaps thinking that waiting periods were measured from the expiry of the duration of one's ability instead of one's activation. That is to say, benefit continually of an effect like the wink to spell is a pretty serious buff – a few classes in addition to warlock receive a continued A third level spell equivalent very early, but the mix of abilities shadows is just as impressive, if not more, and this ability was available at level 7. Really, as a good thing for the monks, this submarine sees no reason to put the special skill in value. invisible fist, even if it's something as boring as a continuous wink effect.

dnd 5th – Does 5th follow the primary source rule?

In D & D 3.5, there is a hierarchy of sources as a concept of rules so that if something in a text contradicts a passage in another of the sources can officially prevail. An important advantage of this often muffled publishing paradigm is that the basic rules (PHB, MM and DMG) take precedence over any other source that contradicts them, with the exception of errata, and that, therefore, the possession of the rules Basic lets you know how these rule books work; you do not need more books to find out, for example. how to fall "actually" works, because the rules presented in the base game are modified only by freely available errata documents, at least in theory. Other books may have optional rules or rule systems, but they can not add new rules that change even slightly the way the old ones work. So you can be sure, if you have the basic game, that you are not. something is missing.

Of course, the assistants then made publish content (for example, the FAQ or Compendium of Rules) that was not an errata and yet tried to change the way things worked and that did not work as well. But I'm misleading.

In the 5th edition, I'm not sure what the conflict resolution structure is supposed to be, or even if there is one. I know that most systems use a rule that "the last thing printed is the right one", often without even coding it, and I suspect that 5th real Resolution system is that the official rules are not meant to be consistent and sorting is the work of the SM, but I'm not sure if there is a statement / rules printed on how it works somewhere .

Does 5th have publication primacy rules similar to primary source rules 3.5 and, if not, what is it?

3.5nd dnd – What is the effect of blinding on grapple checks?

If a creature becomes blind while fighting, what are the effects on its grapple checks? From blind:

The character can not see. He deals a -2 penalty to the armor class, loses his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any), moves to half speed and takes a -4 penalty on the checks and checks. most skill checks based on strength and dexterity. All verifications and activities that are based on vision (such as reading and spot checks) automatically fail. All opponents are considered to have total concealment (50% chance missed) vis-à-vis the blind character. Characters who remain blind for a long time are accustomed to these disadvantages and can overcome some of them.

It seems that there might be no effect on grapple checks. Is that the case? Or maybe he is extremely powerful to fight, even more than to attack regularly. I do not ask for details about attacks, spells, etc. while I am struggling because I feel that these are already quite explicit. Where I am confused is when it comes to activities requiring grapple control only:

  • Does the grapple rest on vision and fail automatically, automatically blinding your opponent in a grappling hook? "I win" install?
  • Does hiding affect grappling results in any way (ie, can it be missed?)

dnd 5th – How does moving a creature struggle?

Only the relevant rules as far as I know (p.195).

Move a grappled creature. When you move, you can drag or drag the creature you are dealing with, but your speed is halved unless the creature is half the size of you.

So, if you drag the creature to grips, how / where do they move? Where is the grappling hooked in relation to the grapple?

The most common decision that I have seen is that the grapple can rotate the grapple as much as it wishes. This combo with peak growth for infinite damage could not it?

dnd 5th – Could Strahd do something with a Sigil key that would allow him to escape Barovia?

Not without a fiat of DM that goes against the tradition

On page 24, Curse of Strahd's campaign book says:

No spell – not even desired – allows escape from Strahd's domain. Astral projection, teleportation, airplane change, and similar spells launched in order to leave Barovia simply fail, as do the effects that banish a creature on another plane of existence. These restrictions apply to magic items and artifacts with properties that transport or ban creatures to other planes..

To allow anyone to leave Barovia (per page 208):

The death of Strahd grants a reprieve to Barovia. The fog that surrounds the country dissipates and no longer harms those who cross it […] escape is now possible.

So Strahd is not lucky here 😛


If you want to dig a little in the crates, the 2nd Sourcebook on Sigil (In the cage: A guide for Sigil) speaks about the erratic nature of the sigil portals starting on page 8. There is not really a good phrase to quote here, but it basically says that even if you have a key for a portal, you have to know where is the portal. . It may be that it does not connect to the plane you are currently on. Or it could have been briefly but then switched to another place:

Temporary portals follow no pattern: they appear and disappear on a whim.

In addition, the map of pages 10/11 of the known permanent portals shows no connection to Shadowfell.

That said, going out of this old tradition, while non-permanent portals are really too random and unstable to be used, in theory there is a non-zero chance that we can open directly into the Strahd salon.

But then this comes into conflict with the current 5th edition mentioned above. So, using a DM fiat and saying "How lucky!" A portal opens easily in Barovie and corresponds to the key by which Strahd is passed! you would have to radically change the CdS tradition.