dnd 5th – How / when does an ability like a dragon's breath weapon recharge, if listed as "Recharge 5-6"?

The dragon breath weapons were simple: 3 uses per day. They magically recharge at midnight or at dawn, depending on your DM.

As I read the dragon section, I see new (volume) information on Lair and Legendary's actions, environmental effects, etc. It all sounds pretty simple. However, when I get to the actual statistics blocks for dragons (for a black dragon), I see things like:

Acid breath (recharge 5-6).

Have I forgotten where this was explained? What exactly does 5-6 mean?

How / when does an ability like a dragon blast weapon recharge, if it is listed as "Recharge 5-6"?

dnd 5th – How / when does a dragon's breath weapon recharge?

The dragon breath weapons were simple: 3 uses per day. They magically recharge at midnight or at dawn, depending on your DM.

As I read the dragon section, I see new (volume) information on Lair and Legendary's actions, environmental effects, etc. It all sounds pretty simple. However, when I get to the actual statistics blocks for dragons (for a black dragon) I see things like:

Acid breath (recharge 5-6).

Have I forgotten where this was explained? What exactly does 5-6 mean?

How / when does a dragon's breath weapon recharge?

5th dnd – Would an anti-magic field block the user's targets of the Dragon's Breath spell?

An anti-magic field prevents the Dragon's Breath spell from affecting targets in an anti-magic field. In the description of the spell, it says

You touch a consenting creature and you give it the power to throw up magical the energy of his mouth …

(Emphasis mine)

This shows that this effect is meant to be magical, and therefore does not work in an antimagic field, where

Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or deity, are removed (on the inside) and can not be protruded

Dragon's breath (acidic) against the hull of a ship? [on hold]

If a party had water that was breathing and was under a ship at night, could they use Dragon Breath (Acid) to make a hole in the hull of a ship?

5th dnd – Would each head of a hydra be affected by the Dragon's Breath spell?

All the Hydra are affected, but it can only activate the spell once per turn and can only make one cone at a time.

A Hydra (or any monster) has only one action per turn and nothing in its block of statistics gives it multiple actions. Create a cone using The breath of the dragon is his own action because the spell asks a creature to "use an action to exhale energy." Thus, the hydra can only activate The breath of the dragon once in his turn. The multitude of heads will not help the hydra here; having them all attacked on the same turn forces the Hydra to take the specific "Multiattack" action, which it does not do here.

Only one damaging cone can be made at a time

the The breath of the dragon spell states:

You touch a consenting creature and give it the power to spit magical energy. of his stuffy, provided that he has one. Choose acid, cold, fire, flash or poison. Until the spell ends, the creature can use an action to exhale energy of the chosen type. in a 15 foot cone. Each creature in this area must make a Dexterity save roll, taking 3d6 damage of the chosen type in case of backup failure, or half less damage if successful.

The creation of a single cone is probably intended for the singular used in the description of the spell: "his stuffy","a cone ","this zone".

Apart from the possible intent, the spell indicates that the creature creates "a cone (singular)" and not "a cone for each head of the creature" and thus creates a (single) cone even though we read this rule strictly.

And so, as stated above, Hydra can use its action to activate this spell once at each of its turns and this activation creates a single cone.


To answer your other question ("Can each head have a different type of damage?"), When the spell is cast, the caster selects a unique type of damage and the creature exhales energy "of the chosen type" (and inflicts damage "of the chosen type"). Thus, the creature uses the type of damage chosen by the caster and, as its heads are part of the creature, each head also uses the same type of damage.


This is probably the case that all heads can make this cone damageable. The spell affects the entire creature and allows it to spit energy from its mouth, it does not specify that the same mouth should do it each time (although I doubt that the developers have thought of this situation). In addition, if you hear the phrase "A Hydra can spit energy from her mouth", you will assume that it means any of her mouths.

If instead you interpret "his mouth" as strictly singular, you encounter a problem because a Hydra has nothing that can be described as "his mouth", but only "one of his mouths".

The spell clearly assumes that an affected creature has only one mouth and, therefore, which mouth (s) of a multi-mouthed creature can activate the spell that should be left to your GM.

Feats – Is the Wild Shape Dragon's breath affected by Widen Spell?

The shape of the dragon says:

You can take the form of some of the world's most fearsome creatures. Add the forms listed in dragon shape to your wild form list. When you are polymorphic in another form using a wild form, you gain resistance 5 to your choice of acid, cold, electricity, fire or poison.

If we look at Dragon Form, it says:

Breath Weapon One action (arcana, evocation) The shape, damage and type of damage to your breathing weapon depends on the shape of your dragon (see below). A creature in the region is attempting a basic backup against your DC spell. This is a Reflex backup, unless otherwise specified in the description of the special ability of your dragon form. Once activated, your breathing weapon can no longer be used for 1d4 rounds. Your breathing weapon has the line corresponding to the type of damage it inflicts.

The respiratory weapon is not listed as a spell, but it is simply an ability that you can use, in the same way that the striking spurs of a Mu Spore are simply an ability. The blast weapon having the Arcane trait, makes it magical in nature.

Extend the spells:

You manipulate the energy of your spell, causing it to spread and affect a wider area. If the next action you use is from To put a spell on which has a burst, cone, or line area and has no duration, increases the area of ​​that spell. Add 5 feet to the radius of a burst that normally has a radius of at least 10 feet (a burst with a smaller radius is not affected). Add 5 feet to the length of a cone or line that is normally 15 feet or less, and add 10 feet to the length of a cone or a larger line .

Since Widen Spell only applies to the action Cast a spell, and that the blast weapon is his own action, Widen Spell does not apply.

5th dnd – Is this trait of alternative Draconic ancestry (which allows theft) a balanced replacement for the dragon dragon's Breath-Weapon trait?

A player with a Dragonborn PC recently asked that he be allowed to develop wings and gain speed of typing in our game. I did not really like the Dragonborn alternative options that allow theft, so here is my current idea. Is this option balanced against the Dragonborn as found in the PHB, with the following functionality replacing the Weapon Breath feature. (Leaving the resistance intact.)

Draconic Ancestry (Alternate): Because of your heritage, your character has wings and a tail that continues to grow slowly throughout your life. If the wings are chosen at the 1st level, you lose your standard breathing weapon ability, as your magic line slowly increases your flight and mobility.

1st level: The wings and the tail well out of the buds of your body and grow slowly as you get older. No flight is possible at this stage because the wings and tail are small and frail (easily concealed under normal clothes).

3rd level: Your wings have grown as long as your arms, your tail has half of your length and must be free to balance and maneuver if you fly. Your wings and tail are no longer concealable and you must spend + 20% of the base cost to change the clothes or armor you wear. You gain a flight speed equal to your normal walking speed. Flying is extremely tiring at this point, you can fly only for a number of turns equal to 1 plus your constitution modifier (min 0) by short or long rest. If you are still in the air when this limit is reached, you immediately descend to the ground and you have a disadvantage on attacks or proficiency checks made during this game.
You gain "Wrym Charge": your wings propel you to greater speed when you charge to attack an opponent. When you use this ability, your speed is x1.5 your base, but you must move in a straight line. If you charge this way for at least 20 minutes, you will gain an advantage on your next attack roll. This ability recharges on a long rest.

6th level: Your wings have reached the same size as you and your tail is half your size. Your flight speed increases up to x1.5 your base speed. You can fly for a number of turns equal to 1/2 of your CON score (rounded up) by short or long rest.
The load of Wrym is usable x2 by long rest.

11th level: Your wings grow up to 1.5 times your size and your tail is equal to your height. Your flight speed increases up to x2 your base speed. You can fly for a number of turns equal to your CON score by short or long rest.
The Wrym Charge is usable x3 per long rest.
You gain the ability "Flyover" (do not cause an opportunity attack when flying out of range of an enemy)

16th level: Your wings and tail do not increase much, but become stronger and thicker. The flight speed increases up to x3 your base speed, you can fly for a total number of laps equal to twice your CON score by short or long rest.

dnd 5th – Can the Dragon's Breath spell cause damage to enemies without a clear path to the caster?

Full coverage and protection of effect areas on the point of origin, not on the launcher

The breath of the dragon goes through two 'steps'; the spell is first cast on a creature targeted by a touchscreen. Standard touch targeting rules are applied. Then, the affected creature (as long as the spell lasts) can use its action to produce an area of ​​effect that deals damage.

The relevant extract from the Player's manual with regard to the effect areas:

The effect of a spell grows in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of origin to a location in the effect area, that location is not included in the area of ​​the spell. To obstruct one of these imaginary lines, an obstruction must provide total coverage […]

Player's manualp. 204

Who like The breath of the dragon There is no exception to this (some other spells say "this effect extends around the corners" or whatever), the area of ​​the spell's effect is blocked by corners.

However, the area of ​​effect of The breath of the dragon is a cone from the affected creature (the one who needs to use his action). The position of the wheel does not enter the picture.

Similarly, a spell with an area of ​​a sphere can affect a creature that has full coverage of the caster, provided that the origin point (in this case the center of the sphere) has a clear line with this creature.

dnd 5th – Does the Elemental Adept feat apply to Dragon's Breath spell?

the Basic Adept function does not qualify the fact that a spell damage must be rolled at the same turn like when the spell is cast. So, because the damage caused by The breath of the dragon comes from a spell, he would be eligible for this feature.

The caveat is that this is absolutely true only if the thrower targets himself with the effect of the original spell. If they target someone else, the decision is different.

There are two scenarios to consider:

Launcher The breath of the dragon on creature B, creature B has the Basic Adept functionality

In this scenario, creature B does not benefit from Basic Adept: The exploit specifically requires that the damage comes from a spell that the creature has cast itself. Because the effect was conferred by someone else, he would not qualify in this scenario.

Launcher The breath of the dragon on creature B, launcher A has the Basic Adept functionality

It's ambiguous because when a creature buffered with The breath of the dragon rolls the dice for their action, we do not know if they Count as launch damage dice or if it's the original caster who does it.

  • If, as a DM, we decide that Creature B rolls damage dice, then these the damage rollers would not benefit from Basic Adept.
  • If, however, we decide that Launcher A rolls the dice, then these rolls of damage would have benefit from Basic Adept.

So, although I do not know the correct answer to this particular puzzle (maybe the subject of another question?), I think that if you or your Deputy Commissioner decide the correct answer, one of the two affirmations above is correct.

5th dnd – Does the Elemental Adept apply to Dragon's Breath spell?

The feat of the elemental follower states:

[When] You deal damage for a spell you cast that deals damage of this type, you can deal with any 1 of a die like a 2.

the The breath of the dragon the spell deals damage, but not as a direct result of the spell:

Until the spell ends, the creature can use an action to exhale the energy of the chosen type in a 15 foot cone. Each creature in this area must make a dexterity save roll, taking 3d6 damage of the chosen type in case of failure of the save or half less damage if successful.

Would these exhalations be eligible for the application of Elemental Adept? If so, who needs the exploit (the caster or the exhaler)?