5th dnd – Can a fireworks alchemical homunculus (2019 AU) take measures that are not included in its description?

The alchemical homunculus of the AU 2019 artisanal agent is described with a list of actions that he can perform, most of them. causing the craftsman to use a bonus action to clear the order. The listed actions are Dodge (default option when no command is issued), Dash, Disengage, Help, Acid Spitle and Alchemical Salve. In particular, the description gives the impression that it is the only actions that the homunculus can be instructed to perform:

In combat, the homonculus shares your count of initiatives, but it takes its turn immediately after yours. The only action that he in turn performs is the action of dodging, unless you take an additional action in turn to order him to take one of the actions of his block of statistics or perform the action Dash, Disengage or Help.

The description never explicitly says that the homonculus can not perform other actions, but if we take the wording literally, it seems that ordering him to perform another action is not possible at least not in combat – it will simply take Action Dodge.

To add another complication, the homunculus may not be physically able to perform certain actions. The examples given for the appearance of the homunculus do not include hands, for example (not underlined in the original):

You determine the appearance of the homunculus, which includes wings and pieces of alchemical equipment. Some alchemists prefer mechanically looking birds, while others like winged flasks or miniature cauldrons.

In addition, the Languages ​​section of his statistics block says "understands the languages ​​you speak," which implies that he can not speak.

Thus, considering both its physical capabilities and the mechanism of issuing orders, what other actions, if any, the alchemical homunculus can be forced to achieve? The "normal" actions listed in the ground rules that do not appear in the description of the alchemical homunculus are: Attack (presumably a bare-handed strike), Hide, Ready, Search, Use a object and of course improvise an action. In addition, some magic items require an action to be activated (separate from the normal action using an object) or a command word. If the homunculus can perform any or all of these actions (and that it can be ordered to execute them), does it matter whether or not it is in combat? Are there any actions that the homunculus can undertake without the need for an order, such as feeding a healing potion with its master when it is knocked out (and therefore unable to give the 39; order)?

In addition, although the homunculus alone can not perform bonus actions, it could perhaps be assigned a magic object activated by a bonus action. In this case, could the homonculus activate the item (and can it be ordered again)?


Note: Another similar question has already addressed the question of mental the capabilities of the homonculus, but the answers do not address its physical capabilities nor the possible limitations of the mechanisms of order setting.

dnd 5th – Are Homunculus Alchemical Companion creatures and 2019 AU Artificer Defender-creatures receiving lifejackets?

In the Unanathed Arcana update of May 2019, two of Artificer's four options may invoke constructions as companions: the alchemist invokes an "alchemical homunculus" and the Battle of Smith invokes a "ferrous defender".

Unlike the gunner's turret, which is a magic object, these companions are considered creatures and there is no text that specifically says what happens when they are zeroed out. If they die, to revive them, you have to spend some time for spells. I would therefore like to know how easy it is for them to get killed in combat.

If any of these constructs are reduced to zero health, does it die immediately or does it start throwing save throws as a player character?

5th dnd – What can the artificer alchemical homunculus do outside of the fights?

This answer is based more on the interpretation than on the rules as they are written. The first thing to note is this:

The homunculus is friendly with you and your companions and obey your orders.

The second thing to note is this: the mental statistics of the alchemical homunculus are …

Int: 10 WIS: 10

For comparison purposes, these are the same mental statistics that a communist possesses. This means that your Homunculus is about as intelligent as a typical human being.

So, you have a tiny and flying construction that is about as smart as a typical human being and that obeys you to the best of one's abilities. This makes it significantly smarter than a familiar (the smarter has Int: 3).

So, yes, I would certainly say that it strongly supports the idea that your Homunculous can understand how you "signal". In fact, I said it strongly supported the idea that a Homunculus could be given and executed without problems. In terms of "difficulty", if a random player could understand how to do what your homunculus tries to do, he should also be able to understand it.

dnd 5e – What is the good calculation for the hit points of the Homunculus for the 2019 UA Alchemist Artificer?

Since no parenthesis or other mathematical indicator is given in Points of damage section of the Homunculus statistics block,

Life points equal to five times your level in this class + your Intelligence modifier

translated directly into "HP = 5 * [your level in this class] + [your Intelligence modifier]", which means" HP = (5 * [your level in this class]+ [your Intelligence modifier]", because of the order of operations.