spells – How do Wildfire + Burn it interact?

There is no reason these don’t stack

Burn It! works on spells that deal fire damage and Wildfire is a spell that deals fire damage. Thus, the Wildfire spell gains a bonus to its damage, which happens each time somebody enters a Wildfire square. Thus, they take more than 1 damage for each square.

Supporting that increasing the per-square damage is even possible is the Heightened effect of Wildfire itself:

Heightened (+2) Increase the damage and persistent damage by 1.

“The damage” is the per-square damage so when Burn It! similarly increases the damage, it is increasing this per-square damage.

dnd 5e – Cloudkill and floor holes: how do they interact?

The cloudkill spell says,

The vapors, being heavier than air, sink to the lowest level of the land, even pouring down openings.

Does that mean that a hole on the floor is an effective countermeasure to the spell (as it drains away from your floor), that the spell effect extends downwards if given the chance in a cylinder or some other shape (making it terribly efficient in a tower), or something else entirely?

In any case, what happens in future turns after the hole interaction? (Vague, I know, but even wording the question is contingent on the above’s answer).

unity – How can i have someone press a button on a mobile client and have it interact with the pc client?


Your privacy


By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our Cookie Policy.




class feature – How does Eldritch Shot interact with multiple-attack spells?

Eldritch Archers get to launch spells that have a spell attack roll (a surprisingly limited list as of yet) using a Strike with Eldritch Shot

Activate (Three Actions) Eldritch Shot; Requirements You are wielding a bow;

Effect You Cast a Spell that takes 1 or 2 actions to cast and requires a spell attack roll. The effects of the spell do not occur immediately but are imbued into the bow you’re wielding. Make a Strike with that bow. Your spell flies with the ammunition, using your attack roll result to determine the effects of both the Strike and the spell. This counts as two attacks for your multiple attack penalty, but you don’t apply the penalty until after you’ve completed both attacks.

Scorching ray, introduced in the new Secrets of Magic book, allows you to launch 1-3 rays depending on how many actions is used casting the spell (similar to the function of magic missile).

For each additional action you use when Casting the Spell, you can fire an additional ray at a different target, to a maximum of three rays targeting three different targets for 3 actions. These attacks each increase your multiple attack penalty, but you don’t increase your multiple attack penalty until after you make all the spell attack rolls for scorching ray. If you spend 2 or more
actions Casting the Spell, the damage increases to 4d6…

How would using scorching ray work with Eldritch Shot? I see a few possibilities (although there may be a more correct interpretation than any of these)

  1. Scorching ray and similar spells are not a valid spell choice for Eldritch Shot and cannot be used at all
  2. Scorching ray is valid choice, but only in its 1-action iteration; other spells would need separate adjudication
  3. You can cast multi-target spells with Eldritch Shot; you can use the 2-action version of scorching ray to get the bonus damage, but you only get a single attack and the other is wasted
  4. You successfully cast the spell regardless of Eldritch Shot; you can use your bow for one of the attacks provided by scorching ray and select another target (within the spell’s range) for its second attack

dnd 3.5e – How does Factotum’s Arcane Dilettante (Sp) interact with the feats: Empower Spell-Like Ability and Quicken Spell-Like Ability?

This is another one of my theory crafting dives:

Factotum grants the Arcane Dilettante (Sp) feature at 2nd level.

In summary it is a spell like ability that lets you choose a limited number of spells each day to cast as spell like abilities. There is a limit to the maximum spell level that can be emulated, and it uses your class level as it’s caster level.

Found in the feats section of Monster Manual 3 are two feats that allow you to enhance spell like abilities with either Empower or Quicken, similar to standard meta-magic. Each is usable 3 times per day, and there is a math formula to how high of a simulated spell can be altered with the feat (based on caster level).

My questions are:

  • Do these feats interact with the Arcane Dilettante (SP) class ability? If so, how?
  • Does this mean I get to 3 “Free” castings of empower or quicken if I take the feat so long as spell level limits are observed?
  • If they don’t interact with the class ability, can they interact or be applied to the actual spells being emulated and casted as spell like abilities?

dnd 5e – How does the Evocation wizard’s Potent Cantrip feature interact with an enemy rogue’s Evasion feature?

A 7th-level Evocation wizard hits a 7th level rogue with a cantrip that requires a Dex saving throw, like acid splash.

The wizard has the Potent Cantrip feature that means any creature that succeeds the Dex save will always take half damage:

Starting at 6th level, your damaging cantrips affect even creatures that avoid the brunt of the effect. When a creature succeeds on a saving throw against your cantrip, the creature takes half the cantrip’s damage (if any) but suffers no additional effect from the cantrip.

The rogue has the Evasion feature, which means a save for half damage becomes save for none:

Beginning at 7th level, you can nimbly dodge out of the way of certain area effects, such as a red dragon’s fiery breath or an ice storm spell. When you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you instead take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, and only half damage if you fail.

Since both of these are passive abilities, which takes priority and how much damage does the rogue take if it succeeds the dex save?

dnd 5e – How does the Grung playable race’s Poisonous Skin ability interact with unarmed strikes?

The relevant text of the ability in question is as follows:

Poisonous Skin. Any creature that grapples you or otherwise comes into direct contact with your skin must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw or become poisoned for 1 minute. A poisoned creature no longer in direct contact with you can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success.

An unarmed strike would seem to plausibly cause direct contact between your skin and the target, but if they are wearing clothing or armor it may or may not necessarily make contact with the target’s body directly.

Also – is there no limit on this ability? It doesn’t seem to specify a frequency, so can I make several unarmed strikes per round and force them to save against each of them?

dnd 5e – Does ‘Superior Technique’ interact with ‘Combat Superiority’?

A fighter receives a 1D6 superiority die for choosing Superior Technique fighting style, then reaches level 3 and chooses Martial Archetype; Battle Master.

A good answer will address:

  • Does the fighter now have 5 superiority dice, four of which are D8 and one which is a D6?
  • Can the superiority die from superior technique be used to perform the newly learned maneuvers?

Relevant Rules info:

SUPERIOR TECHNIQUE You learn one maneuver of your choice from among
those available to the Battle Master archetype… You gain one superiority
die, which is a d6 (this die is added to any superiority dice you have
from another source). This die is used to fuel your maneu­vers.
(Tashas p.41)

And

COMBAT SUPERIORITY When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you
learn maneuvers that are fueled by special dice called superiority
dice…

Superiority Dice. You have four superiority dice, which are d8s. A
superiority die is expended when you use it. You regain all of your
expended superiority dice when you finish a short or long rest. (PHB p.73)

dnd 5e – How does the Battle Master fighter’s Sweeping Attack maneuver interact with additional damage dealt on a “hit”?

How does the Battle Master fighter’s Sweeping Attack maneuver work with extra damage, both rolled and static?

The description of the Battle Master fighter’s Sweeping Attack maneuver states (PHB, p. 74; emphasis mine):

Sweeping Attack. When you hit a creature with a melee weapon
attack, you can expend one superiority die to attempt to damage
another creature with the same attack. Choose another creature within
5 feet of the original target and within your reach. If the original
attack roll would hit the second creature, it takes damage equal to
the number you roll on your superiority die
. The damage is of the
same type dealt by the original attack.

The description is very specific with the damage the 2nd target receives; in particular, it leaves out any bonus to your damage from your ability modifier. That leads me to think all other bonuses are also ignored, but I just want to confirm.

Specifically, I’m wondering whether the Great Weapon Master feat’s bonus damage applies. The second benefit of the Great Weapon Master feat says (PHB, p. 167):

  • Before you make a melee attack with a heavy weapon that you are
    proficient with, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack
    roll. If the attack hits, you add +10 to the attack’s damage.

I’ve looked at some other questions regarding Sweeping Attack. It seems like the 2nd hit is not necessarily an attack, so if that’s the case, then the wording in the feat “if the attack hits” could make it so the additional damage from Great Weapon Master does not apply to the 2nd target.

But what about enchanted weapons? Would a simple +1 weapon apply the +1 damage bonus to the 2nd target? How about something more complicated, such as the flame tongue?

The description of the flame tongue reads, in part (emphasis mine):

While the sword is ablaze, it deals an extra 2d6 fire damage to any
target it hits
.

Does the verbiage “any target it hits” imply or require an attack? Or does that bypass the attack rule?

pathfinder 1e – How does the 5th (and higher) level Unchained Rogue Skill unlock for the Intimidate skill would interact with the Taunt feat?

How does the 5th (and higher) level Unchained Rogue Skill unlock for the Intimidate skill would interact with the Taunt feat?

All of the likely interpretations lead to weird results,

a) If you rule that the skill unlock applies whenever I use the Taunt feat, then it follows that it’s possible for me to unlock the Intimidate skill’s extra abilities with 5 ranks of Bluff, even if I have zero ranks of Intimidate, since Bluff would be doing it’s job. This doesn’t seem right, and violates the text of the rule, but this is still a fairly sensible interpretation of an unusual situation, since the feat specifically references the Intimidate Skill to describe what it does.

b) If you rule that the skill unlock requires 5 ranks in Initimdate to open, then I end up activating the Intimidate Skill abilities at a time when I’m actually using Bluff. This actually seems like the Rules-As-Written interpretation, but that doesn’t make it any less strange.

c) If you rule that I can’t use the skill unlock at all while using the Taunt feat, then you’re gutting the text of the feat itself, which states “You can demoralize opponents using Bluff rather than Intimidate (see the Intimidate skill description for details).”

I think all three answers lead to fairly odd outcomes, so there’s no sensible way to decide between them other than GM interpretation. Thoughts?