dnd 5e – For the specific campaign of “Odyssey of the Dragon Lords”, can a javelin be considered a “ranged Weapon” for the purpose of using DEX to hit/dam?

In core 5e RAW rules, Javelins are simple melee weapons (STR based). However in this particular players guide they talk about Ranged weapons, which Javelins are mentioned.

On Page 20 of the “Odyssey of the Dragon lord” players manual:

Thylean Weapons
Warriors in Thylea typically use spears, shields, and swords. There are exceptions, of course, but the armies of Mytros and Aresia train thousands of soldiers in the use of these simple armaments. Heavier weapons, such as halberds and greataxes, are thought to be barbaric.

Ranged weapons are typically limited to javelins, slings, longbows, and shortbows, although there are some who have adopted the use of complex recent inventions, such as crossbows. These weapons are engineered in small quantities by the Academy and are not widely available.
Thylea boasts a handful of unique cultural weapons, which can be found at just about any blacksmith or adventuring shop. With the exception of the chakram, they function identically to their normal counterparts (unless they are magical).

There are other places where they change/add new descriptors to existing core weapons. For example page 49 of the same players guide:

Vagrant Soldier
Despite your roguish demeanor, you have all the training
of a common soldier. When you choose this archetype at
3rd level, you gain proficiency with shields. Additionally,
spears and tridents count as finesse weapons for you.

If anyone has played this campaign and can prove a definitive ruling on this question – using RAW or other items from the publishers, that would be great.

As usually, it is up to the DMs discretion for a final ruling – this is a known and doesn’t need further mentioning as part of an answer.

Thank you.

dnd 5e – Does a Javelin of Lightning allow a cleric to use Thunderous Strike?

To quote Naut Arch’s answer

It’s going to be up to the situation and up to the DM

There are no rules that specify who does what when it’s not a directly related cause and effect that can easily be traced back to a creature. Heck, it’s not even always cut and dry to trace back to a creature.

Because of that, the situations will matter and it will end up being a DM decision as to if the warlock is the source or something/someone else.


Personally, clearly the thrower of the Javelin is dealing damage

This specific case does not give any truly explicit indication of who/what is dealing the damage. That said, the weapon does state the following:

(…) Make a ranged weapon attack against the target. (…)

Where you, the attacker, the one using the Javelin, are making the attack. However, this is, technically, not 100% utterly and entirely explicitly stating that you are also the one dealing the damage. In fact, the same weapon later states (emphasis mine):

(…) the target takes damage from the javelin plus 4d6 lightning damage. (…)

I believe “from the Javelin” here is merely meant to convey that the target takes the regular damage as well as 4d6 lightning damage instead of just 4d6 damage, but this could still be construed as meaning the Javelin itself is dealing its normal damage and then also the 4d6 lightning damage.

The weapon’s description is not perfectly clear, but I would rule, in a heartbeat, that the one using the Javelin is dealing damage with said Javelin and thus they are the one dealing the damage. Perhaps the Javelin is also dealing the damage (after all, damage need not be caused by only one thing), but until a scenario arises where that call is required, I do not know how I would rule. I almost can’t imagine anybody even claiming the attacker isn’t the one dealing damage because it would be like arguing somebody swinging a sword isn’t dealing damage when they very much are.


What about the saving throw damage?

It is, of course, also ultimately up to the GM. That said, I would similarly, personally rule that this damage is also caused by the one attacking with the Javelin. They are the one who is dictating its path and choosing where the Javelin is sent, they have a great enough amount of agency in this scenario, they can, to me, meaningfully be said to be the causer or the damage, that I would conclude the damage can be considered to be being done by them as well.

dnd 5e – Who or what does the lightning damage from a Javelin of Lightning?

To quote Naut Arch’s answer

It’s going to be up to the situation and up to the DM

There are no rules that specify who does what when it’s not a directly related cause and effect that can easily be traced back to a creature. Heck, it’s not even always cut and dry to trace back to a creature.

Because of that, the situations will matter and it will end up being a DM decision as to if the warlock is the source or something/someone else.


Personally, clearly the thrower of the Javelin is dealing damage

This specific case does not give any truly explicit indication of who/what is dealing the damage. That said, the weapon does state the following:

(…) Make a ranged weapon attack against the target. (…)

Where you, the attacker, the one using the Javelin, are making the attack. However, this is, technically, not 100% utterly and entirely explicitly stating that you are also the one dealing the damage. In fact, the same weapon later states (emphasis mine):

(…) the target takes damage from the javelin plus 4d6 lightning damage. (…)

I believe “from the Javelin” here is merely meant to convey that the target takes the regular damage as well as 4d6 lightning damage instead of just 4d6 damage, but this could still be construed as meaning the Javelin itself is dealing its normal damage and then also the 4d6 lightning damage.

The weapon’s description is not perfectly clear, but I would rule, in a heartbeat, that the one using the Javelin is dealing damage with said Javelin and thus they are the one dealing the damage. Perhaps the Javelin is also dealing the damage (after all, damage need not be caused by only one thing), but until a scenario arises where that call is required, I do not know how I would rule. I almost can’t imagine anybody even claiming the attacker isn’t the one dealing damage because it would be like arguing somebody swinging a sword isn’t dealing damage when they very much are.


What about the saving throw damage?

It is, of course, also ultimately up to the GM. That said, I would similarly, personally rule that this damage is also caused by the one attacking with the Javelin. They are the one who is dictating its path and choosing where the Javelin is sent, they have a great enough amount of agency in this scenario, they can, to me, meaningfully be said to be the causer or the damage, that I would conclude the damage can be considered to be being done by them as well.

dnd 5th – What is the attack bonus with a Javelin of Lightning?

Your attack roll is 1d20 + strength modifier + skill bonus

The Javelin of Lightning says (maybe spoilers, you don't know how much your GM has told you and wants you to know):

This javelin is a magic weapon. When you launch it and say its command word, it turns into a lightning bolt, forming a line 5 feet wide that stretches from you to a target within 120 feet. Each creature in the line that excludes you and the target must do a DC 13 Dexterity save throw, taking 4d6 lightning damage on failure, and half the damage on success. The thunderbolt becomes a javelin again when it hits the target. Carry out a ranged weapon attack against the target. On a hit, the target takes damage from the javelin plus 4d6 lightning damage.

The property of the javelin can no longer be used until the next dawn. In the meantime, the javelin can still be used as a magic weapon.

Mastering a javelin allows you to add your skill bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with it.

If you have creatures save throws, there is no attack roll against them, but the person you target with the attack will need a roll # 39; attack.

You add your Strength modifier because it is a melee attack:

The ability modifier used for a melee attack is Strength, and the ability modifier used for a ranged attack is Dexterity.

You add your skill bonus because the weapon later declares that you count as competent if you are competent in javelins, and as a fighter, you are competent in javelins.

Thus, you would add your skill bonus (since you are competent) and your strength modifier (since you are carrying out an attack with a melee weapon). It happens like a regular javelin.

For additional help, there is this fairly comprehensive answer from Xirema to the question "How can I calculate the dice and bonuses for attack and damage rolls ?.

dnd 5th – Can you draw and / or throw a javelin on one or more successive turns while using a two-handed weapon for opportunity attacks?

Assuming you do not have any extra attacks in play, can you start your turn by holding a two-handed weapon with one hand, use your free-object interaction to draw a javelin, then throw the javelin with your attack and replace your hand on your 2- handgun for the opportunity attacks (such as that granted by the Master of Firearms)?

5th dnd – In 5th, can you draw and / or throw a javelin on one or more successive turns while using a 2-handed weapon for the opportunity attacks?

Assuming you do not have any additional attacks, can you start your turn by holding a 2-handed weapon, use your free action to draw a javelin, then throw the javelin with your attack and put your hand back on your 2-handed weapon for the opportunity attacks (as tuned by the master of the pole arm)?

5th dnd – Where did a Lightning javelin land when he missed his target?

We were arguing about what happens when Javelin of Lightning misses his target.

Here is the important text for the article:

When you launch it and utter its word of order, it turns into a lightning, forming a line 5 feet wide that extends from you to a target within 120 feet. […] Lightning returns in a javelin when it reaches the target. Make a ranged attack against the target. At once, the target suffers javelin damage plus 4d6 lightning damage.

If you miss the shot with the javelin, does he reach his target? Or does it continue to be a five-foot lightning corridor until you reach something? Does he use the momentum of movement at the speed of light to travel miles?

As a comment, I feel that the answer is simple: "No, it turns into a javelin. before you do the remote control, so it should fall like a normal javelin. "

However, it seems that I am the only one to see it this way in our group. Deputy ministers can determine what they want of course, just curious about his behavior as written.

dnd 5th – What action is used to throw a lightning javelin?

When you use a lightning javelinexactly what kind of action do you perform?

I had initially assumed that it would only use all of your action, but this is not specified. On the contrary, the text suggests that this is part of an attack action, which means that if you have more than one lightning javelins and the Extra Attack class function, you can launch several in an Attack action.