dnd 5e – Understanding the Rune Knight Fighter’s 15th level feature

dnd 5e – Understanding the Rune Knight Fighter’s 15th level feature – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

dnd 5e – Rune Knight Fighter 15th level festure

In the description for this feature, it says

Master of Runes:
You can invoke each rune you know from your Rune Carver feature twice, rather than once, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a short or long rest.

The first half is obvious, but what is the latter half referring to? All the runes with triggerable features already recharge on a short or long rest .

dnd 5e – How do runes work? Can a Rune Knight forge them?

Rules-as-written, runes as described in the Rune Knight’s class feature do not, as you note, create anything that could really be sold. So no, if you want to just like “make a fire rune to sell”, that’s not really an option. However, that said, I always prefer to look for ways to let players do something cool rather than telling them ‘no’, unless there’s a really good reason to refuse them.

This sounds like a great time to flex your DM muscles and let this character use a form of magic item crafting. Pick existing magic items that fit within the conceptual/thematic space of the runes the character knows, enforce all the usual requirements of time and special components, let knowledge of the runes count as the necessary “spellcasting” prerequisite for crafting, and you can either make him hunt down formulas or just declare that he knows some of them based on comparing his level to the rarity of the items in question.

For example, with a Fire rune, he could craft a flame tongue sword, a ring of fire resistance, or other items that are fire-related; with a Cloud rune, he can create items related to weather creation and control, or to illusions. You could also have him inscribing runes on bits of breakable material to create potions and elixirs in an alternate form, if they fit thematically. (I would use this latter as my preferred item if I were carving runes for sale.)

There really shouldn’t be any balance concerns about letting “non-spellcasters” craft magic items. Thematically, a rune knight is clearly connected to physical crafting to harness magical power, if not spellcasting per-se, and the only reason to be concerned about spreading around item-creation capacity would be if you had a lot of PCs trying to all assist with the task in order to reduce the number of days required. You might have to lay down the law at some point to say “your magic is very different from the wizard’s, so you can’t really help each other on crafting projects”, but even that is probably not needed unless it becomes a serious problem.

dnd 5e – How do runes work in D&D 5e? Can a Rune Knight forge them?

One of my players, new to D&D, is playing a Rune Knight, but in his background he’s a son of merchants, and he asked me if he can produce runes to use or sell. Now, I’m aware that from the Rune Knight’s class features there is nothing of the sort, but it does grant proficiency with smith’s tools, so he wanted to know if it would be possible for him to create simple runes. I have my doubts on this, because he’s no spellcaster and usually you need to know the spell to write a scroll of it, but the Rune Knight is affine to the rune magic indeed.
So I wanted to ask: how do runes work in D&D 5e? And, if this isn’t already included in the answer to the first question, could a Rune Knight inscribe one? How, and with what costs and times?

spells – Can you make eldritch knight adjustments or buffs?

spells – Can you make eldritch knight adjustments or buffs? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

dnd 5e – Can an Echo Knight fighter’s Manifest Echo move through another creature’s space?

No

It’s not immediately clear, because the echo knight is not a creature, but some particular attributes are ascribed to it that are normally only ascribed to creatures.

There are several reasons for which we might state that the echo can occupy another creature’s space:

1. The Echo isn’t a creature

The basic rules impose the following restrictions on player movement, which are assumed to extend to all creatures, except in the case of exceptions:

You can move through a nonhostile creature’s space. In contrast, you can move through a hostile creature’s space only if the creature is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you. Remember that another creature’s space is difficult terrain for you.

The echo projected by an Echo Knight is not a creature, so this restriction does not apply to it.

2. The Echo doesn’t have a movement speed

None of the rules for movement, including the above, can be applied to the echo, because the echo does not ‘move’ in the way that creatures move. It has no speed of any kind, and moves ‘up to 30 feet in any direction’ when mentally instructed to do so by the Echo Knight. This movement includes upwards movement and is more akin to a caster moving their Mage Hand than to a creature expending their movement to traverse space in a physical way.

3. The echo is ethereal

Even if the Echo weren’t a creature and didn’t have a speed, it might still be constrained by the common sense adjudication that corporeal bodies cannot pass through one another freely. The echo, however is:

a magical, translucent, gray image

An ‘image’ is an ethereal object, which means that the echo can pass through creatures and objects alike.

But…

All of the above is overwritten by the ruling that the echo:

… is the same size as you, and it occupies its space.

‘Occupy’ and ‘space’ here are not meant in their most general sense, but are mechanical terms usually reserved for creatures. So whilst the echo is not a creature, it inherits the capacity of creatures to occupy space, and the restrictions of space-occupation which come with them. Whilst these rules refer explicitly to creatures being unable to occupy one another’s space, they are extended to the echo because the echo is a space-occupier even though it’s not a creature. This is a difficult edge case brought about by poorly written rules.

dnd 5e – Can an Echo Knight fighter’s Manifest Echo be moved through water?

It is unclear, so the table needs to decide

Unfortunately, this mechanic of the Echo Knight is incredibly unclear as to how to adjudicate these things for moving it. I have reviewed other potential similar mechanic like spiritual weapon or telekinesis, but none of those have the same properties of the Echo Knight.

Which leaves us with a giant shrug as to what to do. In these cases, it comes down to the player talking to the DM about what they feel is fair, reasonable, and fun. There is no ‘wrong’ answer here, but you should think about the potential consequences for each decision.

Looking at how this might affect gameplay of movement, positioning, and battlefield control, it’s important to think about the edge cases – but you’re not going to cover them all. And that’s okay! When they come up, discuss together and be reasonable. If the DM provides an unhappy result, table the argument until after the game and discuss why you didn’t like it and what you think a good compromise could be.

Prepare in advance

Given the lack of clarity about this subclass in general, if a player is considering choosing it then they should discuss these issues with the DM prior to playing. Making sure everyone understands the gray areas, what ambiguities need to be agreed on, and that judgments may come up that require an immediate ruling will go a long way to to mitigating any unhappiness and setting the expectation that this subclass is a little loosey goosey.

dnd 5e – Can another creature move through the Echo Knight fighter’s Manifest Echo’s space?

It is unclear, so the table needs to decide

Unfortunately, this mechanic of the Echo Knight is incredibly unclear as to how to adjudicate these things for moving it. I have reviewed other potential similar mechanic like spiritual weapon or telekinesis, but none of those have the same properties of the Echo Knight.

Which leaves us with a giant shrug as to what to do. In these cases, it comes down to the player talking to the DM about what they feel is fair, reasonable, and fun. There is no ‘wrong’ answer here, but you should think about the potential consequences for each decision.

Looking at how this might affect gameplay of movement, positioning, and battlefield control, it’s important to think about the edge cases – but you’re not going to cover them all. And that’s okay! When they come up, discuss together and be reasonable. If the DM provides an unhappy result, table the argument until after the game and discuss why you didn’t like it and what you think a good compromise could be.

Prepare in advance

Given the lack of clarity about this subclass in general, if a player is considering choosing it then they should discuss these issues with the DM prior to playing. Making sure everyone understands the gray areas, what ambiguities need to be agreed on, and that judgments may come up that require an immediate ruling will go a long way to to mitigating any unhappiness and setting the expectation that this subclass is a little loosey goosey.

dnd 5e – Can Echo Knight fighter’s Manifest Echo’s be forcibly moved?

It is unclear, so the table needs to decide

Unfortunately, this mechanic of the echo knight is incredibly unclear as to how to adjudicate these things for moving it. I have reviewed other potential similar mechanic like spiritual weapon or telekinesis, but none of those have the same properties of the echo knight.

Which leaves us with a giant shrug as to what to do. In these cases, it comes down to the player talking to the DM about what they feel is fair, reasonable, and fun. There is no ‘wrong’ answer here, but you should think about the potential consequences for each decision.

Looking at how this might affect gameplay of movement, positioning, and battlefield control, it’s important to think about the edge cases – but you’re not going to cover them all. And that’s okay! When they come up, discuss together and be reasonable. If the DM provides an unhappy result, table the argument until after the game and discuss why you didn’t like it and what you think a good compromise could be.

Prepare in advance

Given the lack of clarity about this subclass in general, if a player is considering choosing it then they should discuss these issues with the DM prior to playing. Helping make sure everyone understands the need gray areas, what needs to be agreed on, and that judgements may come up that require an immediate ruling may happen will go a long way to to mitigating any unhappiness and setting the expectation that this subclass is a little loosey goosey.

dnd 5e – What types of obstacles would hinder the Echo Knight fighter’s Manifest Echo movement?

I would like to know that map or terrain elements would impact the movement of an Echo Knight’s Manifest Echo.

  1. Can an Echo be moved through walls?
  2. Can an Echo be moved through an hostile creature’s square?
  3. Can an Echo be moved through an ally’s square?
  4. Is an Echo affected by difficult terrain?
  5. Can an Echo be moved through water?

Per the sub-class description, and Echo is defined as an “image”:

This echo is a magical, translucent, gray image of you that lasts until it is destroyed…

It has also been clarified that an Echo is not a creature, but rather an “object”. It can be hit (has HP, AC, and makes saves) and it “occupies its space”.

Your echo has AC 14 + your proficiency bonus, 1 hit point, and immunity to all conditions. If it has to make a saving throw, it uses your saving throw bonus for the roll. It is the same size as you, and it occupies its space.

Reference: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1240669629661380609

Reference: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1240664419161399297

It has also been clarified that an Echo can ‘fly’ or be moved in any direction. Per the Echo Knight rules:

…you can mentally command the echo to move up to 30 feet in any direction

This implies it is the Knight that is moving the Echo, and the Echo itself does not have a speed. This is very similar to how spells like Bigby’s Hand or Spiritual Weapon work, except they require a bonus action.

Reference: https://www.sageadvice.eu/2018/04/02/is-bigbys-hand-actually-flying-e-g-is-its-movement-speed-flying-speed/

Reference: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1242186507433070592

So, with all that said, how should we answer the above questions?

DreamProxies - Cheapest USA Elite Private Proxies 100 Private Proxies 200 Private Proxies 400 Private Proxies 1000 Private Proxies 2000 Private Proxies ExtraProxies.com - Buy Cheap Private Proxies Buy 50 Private Proxies Buy 100 Private Proxies Buy 200 Private Proxies Buy 500 Private Proxies Buy 1000 Private Proxies Buy 2000 Private Proxies ProxiesLive Proxies-free.com New Proxy Lists Every Day Proxies123