l5r 4e – Where do I find the length of the seasons in Rokugan?

Rokugan has a rather large canon lore, and I am a little dumbstruck when trying to sift through all of them for the information I seek about the climate of Rokugan.

In particular, I try to find out when the seasons are changing, and if Rokugan does feature a “rainy season” like Japan, which is kind of an addition to in between Spring and Summer there. For example, the year 2019/20 has the following dates for its seasons in Kyoto Area:

enter image description here

l5r 4e – Does the Jirozame Bushi school’s rank 2 technique Eyes of the Predator cause a loss of Honor due to using Intimidation?

Rank 2 of the (Shark Clan) Jirozame Bushi school’s rank 2 technique Eyes of the Predator states:

In the wild many animals are paralyzed when faced with a clearly
superior predator, and the Shark bring this attitude to the fight,
purging all emotion from their mind to establish superiority. Before
initiative is rolled (or before the Assessment roll in a iaijutsu
duel) you can make an Intimidation/Awareness roll, contested by your
opponent’s Honor/Willpower. If successful, you can add +5 to your
Initiative roll, or to your Focus roll in a iaijutsu duel.

Using Intimidation normally makes your character lose honor. Does using this rank still make me lose Honor?

l5r 4e – Shark Clan losing Honor due intimidation

Reading Rank 2 of the Jirozame Bushi Eyes Of the Predator

In the wild many animals are paralyzed when faced with a clearly
superior predator, and the Shark bring this attitude to the fight,
purging all emotion from their mind to establish superiority. Before
initiative is rolled (or before the Assessment roll in a iaijutsu
duel) you can make an Intimidation/Awareness roll, contested by your
opponent’s Honor/Willpower. If successful, you can add +5 to your
Initiative roll, or to your Focus roll in a iaijutsu duel.

Using Intimidation makes your character to lose honor. Does using this rank still make me lose Honor?

l5r – Keep the results with Strife if my teammates keep Strife

I will be directing a game of L5R for the first time and I have questions about Strife in L5R 5th (the one from Fantasy Flight Games). I may have missed the answers in the basic rules book because I read it while jumping from one page to another, but I didn’t found the answers.

Can I keep results with Strife while I am compromised (page 30) if I use help and my friends take Strife for me (page 26)?

The text concerning the compromise says (underline mine):

The vigilance attribute of a compromised character (see page 36) counts as 1. In addition, during a verification, a compromised character cannot keep dice containing conflict symbols (to a minimum potential of 0 kept dice).

However, the text in Using Help reads as follows:

during Step 3: assemble and roll the dice pool, if a character performing a test receives help from one or more others, the character performing the test rolls an additional skill die per assistant character who has 1 or more ranks of the skill used, and a ring ring additional per assistance. character who has 0 rank in the skill used. Each player whose character assists must describe how he is helping, and the GM decides if he can contribute.

At the discretion of the Director General, Step 4: Modify the dice rolled, up to an advantage of a helper character can be applied.

Then during Step 5: Choose preserved dice, a character carrying out an assisted test can keep up to 1 additional die per assistant character.

Finally, during Step 6: solve the symbols on the preserved dice, each assistant character can choose to undergo 1 conflict to cancel 1 conflict symbol on the check.

By RAW and due to the order of the stages, it seems that a compromised character cannot keep dice with conflict symbols, but the last paragraph indicates that the symbol is denied while being resolved, not ignored. I understand that the order is like this, so no one takes Strife by rolling an unguarded dice, but if the Strife symbol is rolled, should it be possible to keep it if another person takes the penalty?

l5r 5e – Questions regarding conflicts in L5R 5E

I will be directing a game of L5R for the first time and I have questions about Strife in L5R 5th (the one from Fantasy Flight Games). I may have missed the answers in the basic rules book because I read it while jumping from one page to another, but I didn’t found the answers.

1) Can I offer help (page 26) while I am compromised (Page 30)?

2) Can I keep results with Strife while I am compromised if I use help and my friends take Strife for me?

3) Regarding combat and postures (page 251), can I keep results with Strife if I use the null position?

4) With regard to combat and postures, does success with conflicts count as double success?

Thanks for your time reading my questions!

l5r – How to use the Skirmish Combat skill?

I can confirm with RAW, I know Mastery 5 adds a combat skill to skirmish initiation. And more on the hypothetical side than what is explicitly indicated, focus on skirmish should take effect on initiative roles in a skirmish

When it comes to tactical applications, by having such a high initiative, your character can use this high initiative to fight, entangle or other means of interfering with the action of an opponent who helps your party by proxy. To help members of your group directly, you can immediately choose to Keep them, or otherwise alert your party to other opportunities. However, much like an acquaintance, battle is a good way for your GM to tell you things your character may know, that you don't know.
Examples include, but are not limited to:

Detect enemy forces (whether they saw you or not)

  • Predict enemy movements, which beyond the obvious can include things like patrol schedules and ways to avoid / find reconnaissance groups
  • Assess the terrain, which if you don't play with a board can "create" things to play
  • Assess the quality of enemy training or things you might have overlooked when planning out loud with the group.

l5r 5th – Can you trigger a knockout with compromise and unmasking?

The dueling rules on P.159 of the base book say:

The first time his opponent becomes compromised or unmasked during a duel, a character can immediately execute a knockout.

Does that mean you can do a knockout the first time each arrive where a come?

FOR EXAMPLE. Tonbo Testdummy wins enough conflicts to become compromised so that Kitsu killhappy immediately makes a finishing strike. Unfortunately, they are forced to keep enough conflict symbols to compromise themselves. Tonbo-san Unmasks to avoid the dice penalty for staying compromised and potentially getting a better roll. Can Kitsu-san attempt a second knockout?

l5r – Rank 1 kakita applied to damage

It's a tricky thing let's go step by step!

+ 1k1 Attack Rolls and Focus Rolls, as well as in the rounds after leaving Center Stance.

When do the attack rolls take place?

The rules are in the L5R basic rules on page 82 (it is me who points out):

Attack and defense

Any attack a character makes against an opponent requires a
throw, usually a skill roll that includes a weapon skill like a
of its components. Attacks can be melee or ranged,
depending on the weapon used. These rolls are made
using the rules included for Skill Rolls above, and the result
of a attack throw is compared to the opponent's TN armor. (…) If the result
of attack throw meets or exceeds the target's TN armor and then
the attack succeeded and the opponent was struck with
the weapon in question. Pity should now be rolled.

Penalties or bonuses may be applied to attack rollers for a
variety of reasons. (…)

Injuries

(…) Wounds inflicted by a attack fill
these rows of injuries so (…)

When do Focus Rolls take place?

Concentration jets only occur during Iaijutsu duels in step 2 after the evaluation throw.

What happens after the Stance center?

With Way of the Crane, you get +10 Initiative for this turn and + 1k1 + Ring of the Void on anyone roll (standard) and + 1k1 on all attack rollers (Crane path).

Attacks are an action that requires success first attack throw who then asks to drive for pity, a distinct and separate role, which does not apply the same modifiers. You do not do it Apply Way of the Crane to damage rolls, but you can apply the standard central position bonus to a damage roll – as long as you hit.

Search for support skills for a tattooed monk in an L5R game

Our group recently launched a L5R 3rd edition campaign. I decided to go with a monk from the Dragon Clan. After a few play sessions, I start to have problems finding a role for the character. We have enough remote characters in the group (two dedicated archers, a shugenga (wizard) and a scout) that it doesn't make much sense for me to rush into a melee. Either the party kills the threat, or it was too strong to engage face to face anyway.

My ideal solution would be to modify the character so that it is more support oriented. After all, these kinds of remote squishies need someone to watch their back. Unfortunately, this system doesn't seem to offer many tools to support this style of play. I have my tattoos, but these are quite limited. Apparently, the monks of the dragon clan don't have the & # 39; kiho & # 39; abilities like normal monks.

Are there skills or abilities that I can acquire that will allow me to adapt this character to better adapt to the party? Is "running and hitting hard" really my only option?

l5r – Where are the rules for memorizing spells?

I heard that Shugenja could memorize spells, or at least be able to do so in editions prior to the 4th edition. I did not find the relevant rules yet in the 4th edition, so I wonder:

Can Shugenja still learn to cast spells without scrolls, and if so, where are the rules?