pathfinder 1e – Magic Item Creation: Save Bonus Limit

This is actually something I’ve run into lately myself. I found this quote sourced from d20pfsrd Magic Armor

… Magic Armor bonuses are enhancement bonuses, never rise above +5, and stack with regular armor bonuses (and with shield and magic shield enhancement bonuses). …

In addition to an enhancement bonus, armor may have special abilities. Special abilities usually count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of an item, but do not improve AC. A suit of armor cannot have an effective bonus (enhancement plus special ability bonus equivalents, including those from character abilities and spells) higher than +10. A suit of armor with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus.

This effectively means that the enchantment bonus of the item is limited to +5 but you can go up to +10 in cost by adding abilities such as Billowing or Spell Resistance that don’t effect the enchantment bonus. That’s why the cost table goes up to +10.

I know that the Cloak of Resistance from the question isn’t “armor” in the sense that it goes in the armor slot and adds AC, but I found very similarly worded entry on d20pfsrd Magic Weapons so it’s probably safe to assume this applies to all magic items.

… Magic weapons have enhancement bonuses ranging from +1 to +5…

… Some magic weapons have special abilities. Special abilities count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of the item, but do not modify attack or damage bonuses (except where specifically noted). A single weapon cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents, including those from character abilities and spells) higher than +10. A weapon with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus.

So in the end, you can have your Cloak of Resistance +5 with Spell Resistance, but not a Cloak of Resistance +6.

Pathfinder 1e Magic Item Creation: Save Bonus Limit

Ultimately, there aren’t “rules” for creating custom magic items—there are guidelines, and those guidelines are for the GM to help them decide what to allow and at what value. So nothing based on those guidelines is strictly “legal,” and your GM can (and should, per those same guidelines) not allow some of the things the guidelines suggests. They’re not a perfect tool and they explicitly warn GMs that they still have to use their judgment on individual cases.

That being the case, the only really “legal” items are those that were actually printed in the book. And the best cloak of resistance that’s seen print is the cloak of resistance +5. You can definitely make that, because it’s an item in the book. (The GM can, of course, always ban an item as a houserule—but that’d be a pretty weird choice in the case of an item as basic and fundamental as a cloak of resistance.) The guidelines say a resistance bonus to saving throws is worth bonus² × 1,000 gp, which the cloak of resistance +5 matches exactly by being worth 25,000 gp. A hypothetical cloak of resistance +6 would thus be worth 36,000 gp. But since there isn’t any cloak of resistance +6 in print, it’s up to your GM whether or not that item is one that is possible to craft.

In my experience, most GMs do not allow a cloak of resistance +6.

dnd 5e – Is there any reasonable way to use a magic weapon as a throwing-weapon specialist?

Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything includes two features relevant to a throwing-weapon specialist:

  • The artificer’s Returning Weapon infusion, which can be applied to a nonmagical thrown weapon to give it a +1 bonus to attack and damage and allow it to return to your hand after an attack. (This infusion also appeared in Eberron: Rising from the Last War.)

  • The Thrown Weapon Fighting Style, available to several classes, which allows a fresh throwing weapon to be drawn with every attack.

However, neither of these allows you to consistently use a magic weapon, nor does either provide a way to avoid losing a magic weapon you throw. Returning Weapon is explicitly incompatible with weapons that are already magical (it does make it count as magic, which is good, but not the same as being able to use a magic weapon one finds). Thrown Weapon Fighting can be used with a magical weapon, but provides no mechanism for using that weapon again, so unless you have a supply of them, that’s just one attack, plus you better make sure to collect your weapon again after, which can be a problem.

Is there anything that allows a thrower to use, say, a random magic spear they find, as a thrown weapon? One could, of course, include magic weapons that have a built-in Returning property in addition to other properties (though as far as I know, none exist), but that isn’t the same thing. So it seems that, despite recent material to improve it, and despite the character-building investment required by those features, throwing is still a uniquely disadvantageous combat style, with insurmountable drawbacks that apply to no other style.

Is this analysis correct? Or are there options I am missing that address this?

performance – Lo Shu Magic Square (Python)

I wrote a python program to find if a matrix is a magic square or not. It works, but I can’t help feeling like I may have overcomplicated the solution. I have seen other implementations that were a lot shorter, but I was wondering how efficient/inefficient my code is and how I could improve it and/or shorten it to achieve the result I am looking for.

def main():

    matrix = ((4,9,2),
              (3,5,7),
              (8,1,6))
    
    result = loShu(matrix)

    print(result)


def loShu(matrix):

    i = 0
    j = 0

    for i in range(0, len(matrix)):
        for j in range(0, len(matrix(j))):
            if ((matrix(i)(j) < 1) or (matrix(i)(j) > 9)):
                return ("This is not a Lo Shu Magic Square - one of the numbers is invalid")

    row1 = matrix(0)(0) + matrix(0)(1) + matrix(0)(2)
    row2 = matrix(1)(0) + matrix(1)(1) + matrix(1)(2)
    row3 = matrix(2)(0) + matrix(2)(1) + matrix(2)(2)

    ver1 = matrix(0)(0) + matrix(1)(0) + matrix(2)(0)
    ver2 = matrix(0)(1) + matrix(1)(1) + matrix(2)(1)
    ver3 = matrix(0)(2) + matrix(1)(2) + matrix(2)(2)

    diag1 = matrix(0)(0) + matrix(1)(1) + matrix(2)(2)
    diag2 = matrix(0)(2) + matrix(1)(1) + matrix(2)(0)

    checkList = (row1,row2,row3,ver1,ver2,ver3,diag1,diag2)

    temp = checkList(0)

    for x in range (0, len(checkList)):
        if checkList(x) != temp:
            return ("This is not a Lo Shu Magic Square")

    return ("This is a Lo Shu Magic Square")


main()

Does GURPS Thaumatology require GURPS Magic?

Thaumatology is a magic-system construction guide. You’re very unlikely to be using the whole of the book in one campaign, any more than you’d be using all of Fantasy or Space. Some of its advice is relevant to games with Magic-style spellcasting, other bits aren’t. So the answer is “it depends on the sort of magic you want in your game”.

If you want something like traditional dungeon-bash magic, lots of showy stuff achieved relatively quickly, you’ll want Magic; if you want to tweak it in detail, you’ll also want Thaumatology. (The downsides of Magic are mostly that the text wasn’t sufficiently proofed before publication, so much of it is the same as in the 3e magic books with some of the old bugs still present, and the artwork is a bit naff.)

If you want subtle magic that takes a while (as in the old Voodoo and Spirits books), or if you want potentially world-altering magic like the sort of thing you’d meet in a Mage campaign, you won’t need Magic too.

larp – How can I safely represent non-combat fire magic?

Any sort of fire is very dangerous and should not be used. Read up on fire twirling for using fire if absolutely necessary.

You could use LED lightning to represent fire; LED lights are cheap and come in many colours. If you stick to reds, yellows, and orange, you could get good fire effects.

You could also use electroluminescent sheets (known as EL sheets) or wire. These are sheets like paper that glow when an electrical current is applied, and are quite safe. To get fire, you could cut fire shapes from a red EL sheet.

spells – What is the mechanic of the check when using detect magic, Greater to identify magical signature?

Detect magic, greater says:

You can recognize this signature if you succeed at a Spellcraft check when later identifying a spell to determine whether or not that spell was cast by the same individual.

I am confused what is the mechanic for the DC and other functions for identifying spells signature features:

  • isn’t it supposed to be a knowledge (arcana) to recognize spells currently in effect?
  • is the DC calculated using spellcraft skill’s “identify spell as it being cast” math or the one presented previously on the spell regarding “identify last spell cast by creature” effect of the spell?

dnd 5e – Can I use Pact Magic spell slots gained on a short rest to gain sorcery points?

Yes, Flexible Casting doesn’t specify where the spell slot comes from, just that you expend one to gain points. This means that you can expend a spell slot that you have from Pact Magic to satisfy its requirement, and thus gain sorcery points from it.

And yes, this has been confirmed as the correct reading by Jeremy Crawford, the lead rules designer for D&D 5e, for exactly the use you’re asking about (though Crawford’s tweets are no longer considered official rulings):

Bill Cavalier @dungeonbastard · 6 May 2015
@JeremyECrawford Can a warlock/sorcerer covert warlock spell slots to sorcery points?

Jeremy Crawford‏ @JeremyECrawford · 6 May 2015
The sorcerer’s Flexible Casting feature is omnivorous, able to turn spell slots from any class into sorcery points.

Bill Cavalier‏ @dungeonbastard · 6 May 2015
@JeremyECrawford The use case is: convert warlock slots to sorc points, short rest, regain warlock slots. Turning a short rest asset to long

Jeremy Crawford‏ @JeremyECrawford · 6 May 2015
@dungeonbastard Yep, that works. Similarly, a paladin/warlock can use warlock slots for Divine Smite. Warlocks have so few slots on purpose!

dnd 5e – Does darkvision granted by a magic item affect what a caster can see in a dark location using the Clairvoyance spell?

The description of clairvoyance states:

When you cast the spell, you choose seeing or hearing. You can use the chosen sense through the sensor as if you were in its space.

The wording “as if you were in its space” arguably leaves room for ambiguity.

If a creature with innate darkvision — e.g., an elf — uses the spell to see into a dark location, there is no question that the caster would benefit from that darkvision. If “you,” the elf casting the spell, were physically present in the dark location, you undeniably would have the benefit of your darkvision.

The same logic might not apply, however, to a creature who has darkvision solely by dint of a magic item. If “you,” a human caster wearing goggles of night, were physically present in the dark location, whether you would benefit from darkvision would depend on whether “you” means just you or you and your equipment.

The by-now-familiar wisdom that spells do only what they say they do (and anything more is left up to the DM) seems not to resolve this issue, because it is not clear what the spell is saying it does.

How does darkvision granted by a magic item interact with clairvoyance?

dnd 5e – (How) Can a Rogue use the Use Magic Device feature to cast spells from Spell Scrolls?

Thief rogues get the Use Magic Device feature at 13th level, which lets them ignore all class, race, and level requirements on the use of magic items.

Spell scrolls are an unintelligible cipher if the spell isn’t on your class’s spell list. If using a spell scroll to cast a spell higher than you’re normally capable of, you need to make an ability check using your spellcasting ability against a DC equal to 10 + spell level.

Since the Thief rogue ignores all class and level requirements on the use of magic items, does this mean they may use spell scrolls without an ability check regardless of their level (essentially allowing them to be able to fake being a high-level caster for any class as the situation warrants)?

Or does the ability just let them attempt to use the scroll, but because the spell’s not on their spell list (because they don’t have a spell list), they need to make the ability check? If so, what ability would they use to make the spellcasting ability check?