dnd 5th – How to limit the power of the Phasing Eye ability of the mystic

A player in my campaign plays a mystical Unearthed Arcana V3 and uses the Phasing Eye ability. I've tried to find a way to reduce its use a little.

Most of the time, this is not a problem and is used to spying behind the scenes or containers. As for the dungeons, Phasing Eye is first sent throughout the complex and there are not many ways to keep some areas inaccessible. I do not have a problem with giving the player a chance to track, that's what the ability was designed to do after all, but it still raises some issues.

  • Time: Screening can take a long time. The party is encouraged to send the eye through the entire dungeon, to map as and then to retread the area itself.
  • Drama: When the whole dungeon is open to reading, it is difficult to set up ambushes, traps or dramatic revelations.
  • DM flexibility: Giving the dungeon layout and the enemy's position means that things can not be changed on the fly to improve the game. The encounters can not be moved behind the curtain and it can be strange to have to imagine an explanation of what a monster could do in his spare time.

Arcane Eye is similar but can be controlled by well-placed physical barriers. As I understand Phasing Eye, nothing less than 30 feet. Thick wall can hinder its movement.

Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum, as it is written, only blocks divination spells. I think it's reasonable enough for him to also block Phasing Eye, but I prefer to use it sparingly because all dungeons do not make sense for the spell to be effective.

I've planned to add nomadic guards who can see the invisibility, but even if they see the sensor (I do not know if they could or not), they could not destroy it or dispel it. The best that they could do would be to give the alarm that an amorphous glowing object was seen floating.

Are there alternatives to limit the use of capacity or can changes be made to the design of the dungeon to better adapt it?

dnd 3.5e – Is an early apprentice enough for Mystic Theurge?

Mystic Theurge has this requirement:

spells
Capable of casting second level divine spells and second level arcane spellss.

My DM argues that the requirement regarding arcane spells is plural, and the early learner gives you one.

I would say that it does not require that you launch more than one per day. I can cast a spells within a week. More importantly, this is the only reason to take an early learner.

5th dnd – Do I correctly evaluate the effectiveness of the abilities of a mystic in CQC, fight a jellyfish?

descriptions

Petrifying look.

When a creature that can see the jellyfish's eyes begin to turn within 30 feet of it, the jellyfish may require it to make a backup roll of the DC 14 constitution if the jellyfish is not unfit and can see the creature.

Tremorsense.

A monster with tremorence can detect and locate the origin of the vibrations in a specific radius, provided that the monster and the source of the vibrations are in contact with the same soil or the same material.

Blinded.

A blind creature can see its surroundings without counting on the view, in a specific radius.

Perfect senses.

You acquire a keen sense of smell and an instinct to detect prey. You can see creatures and invisible objects within 10 feet of you, even if you are blinded.

Explinations

A creature using only Tremorsense is only able to locate the Jellyfish. Because of this, such a creature could not see his eyes and therefore would not be affected by his face. Even if she stays motionless, she still has a beating heart or other functions that would create vibrations.

As for Perceiving Sight, if you look through your own blindfold and see his eyes, you can be petrified. Nowhere in the text of the petrifying gaze does she see that she must see your eyes, only yourself, that you have not hidden from her.
Perceiving the invisible is essentially the same. If you can stop seeing his eyes and only looking at his auras, it should be fine.

Blindsight is funny, but RAW, you do not "see" with it. He states that you rather see. Because of this, and because it is specifically said that one must "see" the jellyfish eyes in Petrifying look, the blind characters are virtually immune to this attack.

In the text of the perfect senses, we see that the word "see" is explicitly used. If you had this and looked at the jellyfish, you are a gonner.

Spells and attacks.

Most spells require you to see your target. These spells would not work against the Medusa as a RAW file as long as you only use tremor. However, if your DM is nice, they can allow you to cast the spell with a drawback on your jet or give the Jellyfish an advantage over its backup, or a similar mechanic, just to see if you can aim it at the right place .

For weapon attacks using only tremorsense, you would be at a disadvantage again, because the rules state that you must be able to see your target.

When you attack a target that you can not see, you have a disadvantage on the attack roll. This is true that you guess the location of the target or that you are targeting a creature that you can hear but not see. If the target is not at the location you have targeted, you automatically miss your shot, but the GM simply says that the attack is missed, without asking you if you have correctly guessed the point. location of the target.

HOWEVER, this tweet by Jeremy Crawford states that blind creatures can see effectively. This means that targeting creatures with spells and attacks that require seeing the individual is not at a disadvantage.

pathfinder – How do the ki powers of the qinggong monk's spell interact with the Sensei's Mystic Wisdom function?

the Sensei The archetype of the monk allows, from the 6th level, a monk to use the capacity

Mystic Wisdom (Sur)
On the 6th level, a sensei can use his ability to hint when he spends points from his ki pool to activate a class ability (using the normal actions required for each) so that this ability affects an ally unless 30 feet rather than the sensei itself. …

Do one Qinggong The powers of the ki as a spell – taken to replace class features, such as "Slow autumn" for SLA "True Strike" – count as a "class capacity" for the purposes of "Mystic Wisdom" aptitude?

And if so, have the ability "affects an ally within 30 feet rather than the sensei himself" does SLA spell effects affect the ally, or would they simply get the ability to cast it themselves?

dnd 5th – Using a lower level spell for the mystic arcan of a warlock would it harm the balance?

I confess that I find myself clueless with the 8th level spells available for the Mystic Arcan Warlock function, especially if you for example. to have one or more bards in the party (as I do).

(Maddening Darkness seems to have such a huge radius that it would disable your party, Glibness and Dominate Monster seem covered with bards, Power Word Stun and Demiplane look disappointing, and I'm not sure what I think about Feeblemind – I saw an assertion that pouring was probably less ethical than making your deal in the first place.)

Honestly, the 7th level spells all look much more interesting, flexible and useful. (Etherealness, Forcecage, Star Crown, Airplane Change and Death Finger all look like much more flexible choices or better to fill niches that bards can not cover, especially the role of blaster.)

I see in this question that it is not consistent with RAW to choose a level 7 spell (instead of a level 8) for their mystic arcane at warlock level 15, but imbalance?

5th dnd – Can you enchant the Gauntlets with the Magic Weapon spell or the Mystic Psy-Pen discipline?

No. Or at least, even if you can, it does not do what you want.

Note that there are no rules for the Gauntlets, so it belongs to your DM if the Gauntlets are weapons or they benefit your unarmed attacks in one way or from another.

If gauntlets are weapons, then yes, you can use a magic weapon or a psionic weapon with them. But if they are weapons, you will not use them to make unarmed strikes.

Alternatively, if the gauntlets are not weapons and they simply benefit from your bare – handed strike, you can not use any magic weapon or psionic weapon anyway.

It should also be noted that if your deputy minister does not consider gauntlets as weapons and do not let them take advantage of your unarmed strikes, you can still use them as improvised weapons, by RAW. In this case, they could not benefit from magic weapon or psionic weapon, and you could not use them with unarmed keystrokes.

Finally, if you can get your hands on a demonic armor (this credit goes to LinoFrankCiaralli), you will still not be able to use a magic weapon or a psionic weapon, the unarmed strikes made with the gauntlets count as magic, benefit a +1 bonus and deal 1d8 points of damage instead of 1.

dnd 5th – Does the "charming presence" ability of the AU Mystic inform someone who has been charmed?

In the mystical libretto for AU in 5th, the description of the charming presence is as follows:

Lovely presence (1-7 psi). As an action, you exert an aura of friendly power. Roll 2d8 per psi point spent for this ability; the total is the number of creature life points that this option can affect. Creatures within 30 feet of you are assigned in the ascending order of their maximum points, ignoring creatures that are incapable, creatures immune to spell, and creatures engaged in battle.
Starting with the creature with the lowest health point, each creature affected by this option is charmed by you for 10 minutes and regards you as a friendly acquaintance. Subtract maximum health from each creature from the total before moving to the next creature. The maximum health of a creature must be equal to or less than the total remaining for this creature to be affected.

Let's compare this to the charm spell, which explicitly states in its description:

When the spell ends, the creature knows that he was charmed by you.

Combine the comparison with the fact that there are no components in the psionic casting (document UA page 9), and I do not see why anyone would know that they are charmed.

Is there any reason for anyone to know that he was seduced by the successful rescue of the charming presence ability? Would the creature know that she was charmed after the fact?

dnd 5th – How many times can a mystic use a psionic body?

There is no limit to that. why would there be a limit? Things do what they say, and nothing in the psionic body's description indicates that it has a cooldown – aside from the simple fact that if you do not exist you can not die anymore, so it can not be used again until you return and then die again.

Even when dying, even if less than 10 points are obtained, really stop the ability to work – if resurrected, you would still have that ability and therefore be able to continue using it.

And again, the question remains: why should it be limited? An adventurer of all levels at the 20th level uses various methods to defeat death. Resurrection was made available to religious of this level for seven levels – and resurrect, which is almost as good, for literally more than half of their career. Sure, resurrect or resurrection has some disadvantages (the caster can not throw any other message that day, the subject suffers a penalty that takes a few days to disappear), but the psionic body also has a disadvantage: you can not do anything for 1d3 days. It's better than resurrect or resurrection, but the class features are supposed to make you more powerful, especially those level 20!

Pathfinder – Does a mystic have to apply the same elemental glyph to each target ally?

As written, an item must be chosen for each use of this ability, applied to a selection of allies.

Complete line of use of Elemental Glyph class function, with added emphasis:

As a movement action, the mystic can spend a point of animus to apply an elementary glyph to a number of allies equal to its mystical initiation modifier within sight.

It is different to choose a number of allies to provide elementary glyphs. at. Without specifying that you can change the selected glyphs for each target, you default to doing exactly what the text says.

It's not clear if this should be the function, and you should talk to your GM if you think it's more thematic or balanced to ignore. However, this is consistent with Pathfinder's standard capabilities, such as communal spells and bardic performances.