5th dnd – Can you give a potion to a beast or a monster?

I am curious to know the rules regarding the administration of potions to beasts, monsters and ect.

Spells, like the healing word, work the same way as any other humanoid / player, so do the potions work the same way?

For example, let's say my horse was down, could I really give him a potion and the effects will stay?

5th dnd – Do the fast hands of a thief allow you to drink a potion as a bonus action?

A recent article by D & D Beyond, Epic House Rules: Toxicity of Potions and Drinking Quickly, mentioned this houserule:

Variation: Quick soup

You can use a bonus action, instead of an action, to drink a potion you hold.

I mentioned in a comment:

The only reason I would not use the rule of quick consumption of potions, is that there was a thief with the archetype of the thief in the group because it was altering whatever little their class function Fast Hands (the part "take the action Use an object").

My reasoning was that a thief thief might feel less special if everyone could do something that RAW alone would be able to do. For reference, here is what Fast Hands says (PHB, 97):

Starting at the 3rd level, you can use the bonus action provided by your Clever Action to perform a Sleight of Hand, use your thief's tools to disarm a trap or open a padlock, or take action Use an object.

Then another user, JamieMcGuire47, responded to my comment with the following information:

@nathanES RAW, you can not do that. If a Magic item (magic is the key word here because it divides the regular element interaction of the magic element interaction) specifically requires the use of an action for activate its capacity, the action Use an object does not apply to it (including fast hands).

DMG pg.139 discusses potions:

Potions are expendable magical items. Drink a potion or administer it to another character requires action.

DMG p. 141 discusses the activation of magic objects:

"If an item requires action to be activated, this action is not a function of the action Use item, so that a feature such as the fast hands of the thief can not be used to activate the item.

This suggests that, RAW, Fast Hands does not allow you to drink, for example, a healing potion as a bonus action. If this is the case, I should reevaluate whether or not I would use this rule (since apparently it does not change the thief thief after all).

The reasoning and evidence of JamieMcGuire47 seems pretty solid to me, and the only consensus I've found on this site seems to be in agreement (although this is not really a proof of this statement); see: What objects can a thief use as a bonus action with his fast hands?

Is JamieMcGuire47 correct? Can a thief thief not use Fast Hands to drink a potion for the reasons indicated?

dnd 5th – Does the Beacon of Hope spell work with a healing potion?

The beacon of hope affects all healings, including healing potions

the glow of hope spell states:

For the duration, each target […] recovers the maximum number of possible points of life of any cure.

And healing potion States:

You regain life points when you drink this potion …

So drink a healing potion would count as healing and so he would be affected by the glow of hope to spell.

Your calculations are correct, a common healing potion would heal 10, a greatest healing potion would heal 20, a superior healing potion 40 and one supreme healing potion 60.

If they had wanted the feature to work differently, they would use different phrases in the same way as with Life Cleric's ultimate healing function:

From the 17th level, when you will normally roll one or more dice to restore health with a spell, you use rather the highest number possible for each de …

This feature limits maximum healing to spells, but glow of hope does not have such a restriction.

Can an alchemist always have a potion buff?

This feat allows an alchemist to do the "indefinite" duration of one of his elixirs. The improbable feat of the elixirs allows them to develop a magic potion in the form of an elixir.

Can an alchemist with these two feats extend the duration of one of his potions indefinitely?

5th dnd – How to handle when the PCs taste a potion that is really a poison?

At your discretion, a partial dose of poison may have (reduced) effects.

DMG (257-258) distinguishes between different types of poisons and their effect, whether by contact, inhalation, injury or ingested (DMG 257):

Ingested. A creature must swallow an entire dose of ingested poison to suffer the effects. You can decide that a partial dose has a reduced effect, for example by allowing an advantage over the saving throw or by inflicting only half of the damage in case of a missed save.

Handle it at your discretion. Perhaps you would like to use the Variant Rule on the same page (DMG 136) which makes identification generally more difficult and adjust by specifying that tasting potions is dangerous or produces no effect.

The narration of poisons is also left to your discretion. You determine whether they are tasteless, odorless, indistinguishable (you can also tell the smell and taste of magic potions and you can indulge in healing potions that have an unpleasant taste or similar soap), etc. . The way the identifying potions should work gives narrative techniques.

5th dnd – Tasting a potion that is actually a poison

I will be soon DM for the first time. As a preparation, I read the DMG and found the rule on page 136

Potions are an exception. a little taste is enough to tell the taster what the potion does.

I have never seen this rule used in previous games as a player. We would always identify them as magic objects. Stay short or identify the spell. I find the rule risky and do not apply it as a player. If what the player assumes as a potion is actually a poison of contact, he would automatically suffer the effects, right? It seems to me a stupid idea to taste a strange liquid that I do not know.

How should I handle this as a DM if my players want to taste what they suppose to be a potion but who is actually a poison? Should I tell them that it smells "bad" and does not seem "healthy" to taste?

dnd 5e – What are the mechanical differences between the rare medallion of thoughts and the rare potion of mental reading?

There are two components: harmonization and concentration.

The initiation is obvious … you have 3 introductory sites to share among all the magic items you own, the Medallion of Thoughts uses one – a potion does not use it.

The other component is the concentration

The medallion of thoughts allows you to throw the Detect Thinking spell.

When you wear it, you can use an action and spend 1 charge for cast the spell of detection thoughts (save DC 13)

https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/medallion-of- think

According to the DMG …

Some magic items allow the user to to put a spell on from the article, often spending a fee. The spell is cast to the lowest possible spell and caster level, consumes none of the user's spellboxes, and does not require any components unless otherwise specified in the description of the item. The spell uses its usual time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must focus if the spell requires concentration.

https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dmg/treasure#Spells

However, the Potion of Mind Reading just takes you to gain the effects Detect Thoughts spell without actually launching it.

When you drink this potion, you win the effect detects the fate of thoughts (except DC 13).

https://www.dndbeyond.com/magic-items/potion-of-mind-reading

As a result, the potion makes do not need concentration to be able to use. If you use the Medallion of Thoughts, you must use your concentration to maintain the spell – so that you can not use other concentration spells at the same time. If you use the potion, it does not consume your concentration and you can use another spell next to it.

The ability to efficiently stack concentration spells is potentially very powerful. This allows you to stack quiet emotions and detect thoughts to get someone to relax enough to read their thoughts. Or Bane with Detect thoughts to reduce their chances of saving. Or Hell Call / Invocation of a demon with detection thoughts to allow you to call a demon and interrogate him by ripping him in the spirit. Even at most basic … Detecting Thoughts is potentially viable in combat … allowing you to read the spirit of the wizard with whom you are fighting, so that you can anticipate the spells that he is about to cast – while not impairing your ability to fight effectively.

Wear dice. Average of how much potion do I have?

Sorry for the confusing title, I do not really know how to formulate it.

I've been testing a beta game last week with a pretty fun system. When you have an article, you do not know how many copies of this article you have.

Let's give an example. The GM says you have "1d10" potions. Now you use a potion, you apply the effect, then you run 1d10.

If the result is greater than or equal to 3, you still have potions "1d10". But if the result is between 1 and 3, you now have "1d8" potions.

If you use another potion, you roll 1d8. If the result is greater than or equal to 3, you still have "1d8" potions. But if the result is between 1 and 3, you now have "1d6" potions.

The system goes up to 1d4. If you get between 1 and 3 with a d4, you have no more potion in your bag.

So let's say that I have "1d10" potions in my bag, how can I calculate the average of how many potions will I have?

Long story: I really want to reuse this system for a homemade RPG. But I wonder if I keep the limit "1-3" or if it uses a different limit, like "1-2". But I wonder how this will change the probabilities.

5th dnd – Can an unconscious player or NPC refuse to heal a potion?

After reviewing the 5th PHB on healing (page 197) and going through various healing spells, I found no reference to will as a required component for HP restore.

Can an unconscious player or NPC refuse to heal a potion? Please note that I am not referring to any form of resurrection, but only healing from potions.

Is there a basic rule that the patient must accept the effects of potion or RAW indicates by his silence that the PC / NPC unconscious in my case could be forced to regain consciousness by the potion?

5th dnd – Does a growth potion accumulate with the larger spell?

the growth potion States:

When you drink this potion, you get the "enlarge" effect of enlarge / reduce spell for 1d4 hours (no concentration required).

If a magician launches enlarge / reduce on you, you will now make the same magical effect twice, simultaneously. It would be no different if two wizards had cast the same spell on you at the same time.

Since the same game effects do not overlap, the growth potion does not interact with the enlarge / reduce to spell.

DMG Errata.

Combination of game effects (page 252) […] "Different game features can
assign a target at the same time. But when two or more features of the game
have the same name, only the effects of one of them – the
the most powerful – apply while the effect times overlap. […] The features of the game include spells, class features, exploits, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic objects. "