dnd 3.5e – How Do Prepared Actions Involving a Movement Interact with a Charge?

Situation:

In turn, Alice uses the action ready. It specifies the condition "a creature attacks me" and an action that would take her out of her melee range (like teleporting with dimension door).

At Bob's next turn, he's charging Alice. The attack that he would take at the end of his charge meets the trigger conditions of Alice's prepared action, so she teleports.

What exactly come?

  • Can Bob make his melee attack before Alice is teleported?
  • Does it matter if Alice teleports somewhere that would have been in Bob's original charge range, compared to a place where he could not bill?
  • If Bob fails to attack, does he still lose all of his full round action for charging? Or did he just spend a movement action if he can never attack? What happens if it is already farther than it could be with a single action (since you can load twice as fast)?
  • Would it matter if Alice had chosen a different trigger condition for her prepared action, like "a creature approaching me at 20 feet?"

dnd 5th – If I am multi-classified into 2 or more classes casting, how can I determine my known / prepared spells?

Multi-class spell casting rules in the PHB (p.164) or basic rules clearly explain how known and prepared spells work if multiclassed into 2 or more classes (or subclasses) with Spellcasting:

Your ability to cast spells depends in part on your combined levels in all of your spell casting classes and in part on your individual levels in those classes. Once you have the Spellcasting feature of multiple classes, use the rules below. If you use multiple classes but you only have the Spellcasting feature of a single class, you follow the rules described in this class.

Known and prepared spells. You determine the spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-class member of that class. For example, if you are a Ranger 4 / Wizard 3, you know three first-level Ranger spells based on your levels in the Ranger class. As a third level wizard, you know three wizard traps and your spell book contains ten wizard spells, two of which (both you got when you reached the third level as a wizard) can be second level spells. If your intelligence is 16, you can prepare six wizard spells from your spellbook.

Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the casting ability of that class to cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a sacred symbol, can only be used for the class spells associated with that focus.

If one of your powers increases power to higher levels, this increase is based on the level of your character and not on your level in a particular class.

As explained above, when you perform a multiclassification in multiple spell casting classes, you determine your known and prepared spells as if you were categorized into one class in each of these classes.

Note that certain class / subclass characteristics (such as the additional magic secrets of the Lore Bard Wizard, cleric domain spells, or paladin oath spells) may provide additional known or prepared spells that are not not counted in your known / prepared spell count for this class. . If this is the case, the class / subclass feature description will tell you whether or not these spells are counted into your known / prepared spell limit.

What about warlocks?

You may notice that the rules I've mentioned so far mention the Spellcasting feature in particular. So you can ask how they interact with warlocks, which have the Pact Magic feature rather than the Spellcasting feature. On this topic, the multiclass mailing rules simply state:

Magic Pact. If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class of the Warlock class, you can use spell locations obtained with Pact Magic to cast spells that you know or have prepared for. from classes with the Spellcasting class function. can use the spell locations you get from the Spellcasting class function to cast warlock spells you know.

Technically, they do not mention how known spells are determined for multiclass warlocks with another class, but only how multiclashing interacts with their Pact Magic locations and which slots can be used to cast warlock spells. However, based on the stated logic and the absence of contrary rules, this seems clear: your known warlock spells are determined as if you were classified as warlocks, as in any other class of casters.

The rules designer, Jeremy Crawford, unofficially confirms that the same is true in a series of tweets from December 2017:

The cleric spell casting function indicates that you can cast spells up to your spell location. Pact Magic gives you higher level spell locations. can a warrior level 1/5 cleric prepare for Animate Dead? since Warlock does not have a spell function, do not use multiclass rules

Launching multiclass spells. You determine the spells you know / prepare for each class individually, pretending that you have only this class. Slots from the multiclash rules do not apply. Do you have 1 level in cleric? You prepare cleric spells as a first-level cleric.

"If you use multiple classes but only have the Spellcasting feature of a single class, you follow the rules described in this class." The Warlock does not grant the Spellcasting feature, so he would follow the Cleric "Spells must be at a level for which you have spell locations." Is it always wrong?

Keep reading, starting with the following sentence: "Known and prepared spells …"

"If you have the Spellcasting feature of multiple classes, use the rules below." In this case, I would not have the Spellcasting feature of more than one class, so the rules below for known and prepared spells would not apply.

Continue all along the page. You will get the "Pact Magic" section, which explains how Pact Magic interacts with Spellcasting. This has no effect on what you can prepare.

The spell casting feature does not mention where the spell locations should come from.

Now that you have re-read the multiclass rules, let's go to the cleric. The first sentence of "Preparing and Casting Spells" reads as follows: "The cleric's chart shows the number of spell locations needed to cast your spells …". This initial text opens the way for the following in this rule.

"Spells must be at a level for which you have spell locations." The text in Prepare and Cast Spells does not explicitly state that it only applies to Cleric spell sites, however. I do not think the first line limits you this way.

When writing this rule, I started with this sentence for a reason: contextualize everything you read after this rule. The sentences in our rules are not meant to be interpreted in isolation from each other.

Thus, it is clear that the determination of known / prepared spells when multiclassed in a warlock is supposed to work the same way as for any other combination of spell casting classes.


Let's go back to the example:

For example, if I play a multi-class character with 1 level in the warlock, 2 levels in the bard and 3 levels in the paladin, how can I determine which spells I know / have prepared?

We need to examine the casting feature and class table of each class to determine the number of known or prepared spells you have for each class:

  • The warlock board shows that a first-level warlock knows 2 traps and 2 additional spells. And according to the Pact's Magic feature, "At 1st level, you know two first-level spells of your choice in the list of warlock spells." (If you are learning a new spell or replacing an existing spell with a new one at higher levels of warlock, your new spell should be at a level no higher than your Pact Magic slots.)

  • According to the bard table, a level 2 bard would have 2 spells and 5 additional spells. As in the case of the Warlock Pact's Magic feature, the Spellcasting feature of the bard indicates that your spells other than those in the trap must be at a level for which you have spell locations; as the Bard chart shows, a level 2 bard only has level 1 spell locations, so all 5 spells must be type 1.

  • Finally, paladins prepare their spells instead of knowing / learning them. The Paladin's Spellcasting feature indicates that you can prepare "a number of paladin spells equal to your Charisma modifier + half your paladin level, rounded to a minimum (at least one spell)." He adds that spells must be at a level for which you have spell slots; according to the Paladin table, a 3rd level paladin has only 1st level spell locations. Suppose your paladin has a charismatic score of 16, and therefore a charismatic modifier of +3. This means that you can prepare a spell count equal to your Charisma mod (3) plus half of your Paladin level (3/2, rounded to 1), for a total of 4 spells.

    However, it is not everything. On the 3rd level, the paladins receive the Sacred Oath function; each oath gives them spells at specified levels. Your oath spells are always automatically prepared and do not count in the number of spells prepared by the paladin (and are still considered paladin spells for you). The paladin oath oaths of the level 3 paladin devotion oath are protection from evil and good and sanctuary. This brings to 6 the actual number of paladin spells prepared.

So, as a Warlock 1 / Bard 2 / Paladin 3 with a Charisma score of 16, you:

  • know 2 warlock spells and 2 1st level warlock spells
  • know 2 bard cantrips and 5 first-level bard spells, and
  • prepare 4 first level paladin spells and 2 always prepared oaths
    the spells specified in the subclass description (for example, protection against
    bad and good
    and sanctuary for a paladin of devotion)

You would like do not have access to level 2 or higher spells in any of these classes unless you have taken at least 3 total levels of Warlock or Bard, or at least 5 total levels of Paladin.

5th dnd – Can you escape from Web or Moonbeam using a prepared move?

Web is a simpler case; as you have shown, it says (it is me who underlines):

"Every creature who start his turn in the paintings or who enters them in turn must make a saving throw of dexterity … "
Quote from https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/web

And if you have already done the Ready action to move on your previous turn (with a trigger that occurs), you will be able to move away from the canvases before your turn occurs and you will not make the roll. backup.

Moon Beam is a bit more complicated because it has the following wording (it's me who points out):

"When a creature enter the area of ​​the spell for the first time a lap or start his turn there, he is engulfed by ghostly flames that hurt him very much, and he has to make a saving throw of the Constitution … "
Quote from: https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/moonbeam

This raises the question of whether or not the creature has entered the area of ​​the spell. Fortunately, this was developed as follows in the Sage Advice Compendium (mine in parentheses):

Our design intent for such spells (including Moobeam) is: a creature enters the area of ​​effect when the creature passes through it. Creating the effect area on the creature or moving it on the creature does not count. If the creature is still in the zone at the beginning of its turn, it is subject to the effect of the zone.
Quote from page 16 of https://media.wizards.com/2019/dnd/downloads/SA-Compendium.pdf

Thus, the creation of the moon Beam The area of ​​effect does not trigger a save and the creature does not have to create one at launch.

There is the question of when exactly a creature is "passed" into an effect zone. But for me this requires to really go in, actually entering an area of ​​effect. Thus, using a move prepared to move from the inside of the effect area to the outside will not trigger any backup because you have not succeeded. in the area, you simply moved through he.

5th dnd – Can you give up your prepared action to take an opportunity attack instead?

Yes

Nothing in the Opportunity Attack or Opportunity Attack Rules suggests that they exclude each other beyond the use of his or her reaction, which does not occur. is used only to launch the opportunity attack or to take the action prepared. Therefore, you can give up using the fireball prepared to launch a second-hand attack if you wish and if circumstances permit.

Using his reaction to the attack of an opportunity consumes his reaction until his next turn, so that the prepared action can not be undertaken. For prepared spells, the character will not recover the used slice of spell and may technically remain focused on the prepared spell, although they can not trigger it without an unspent reaction. Any prepared actions that have not been taken can not be more than the beginning of the character's next turn, as explained in the player's manual errata:

Ready (page 193). You have until the beginning of your next turn to use a prepared action

Therefore, in practice, a character loses his prepared action when he launches an attack by opportunity, unless he has a feature allowing him to launch an opportunity attack without using his reaction (as the Combat Fighter Tunnel Style of Underdark UA).

mysql – The value of the prepared statement is listed as an error in the query string

I've created a WordPress plugin that writes data to a proprietary table.

The query in the log is:

INSERT INTO berichten_devices (device_UUID, article_id) VALUES (% s,% s)

If I take this line and enter it manually via the administrator in the database, replace the first% s with "test". and the second% s by 1:

INSERT INTO berichten_devices (device_UUID, article_id) VALUES ("test", 1)

This is stored in the database without problems. There is also another table that is written from the plugin and works well.

The php responsible for storing the data is as follows:

function insert_artice_read ($ uuid, $ article_id) {
error_log ($ uuid: $ uuid, 0);
error_log (& # 39; $ article_id: & # 39 ;. article_id, 0);

$ query = "INSERT INTO berichten_devices (device_UUID, article_id) VALUES (% s,% s)";
error_log (& # 39; $ query & # 39; 0);
error_log ($ query, 0);
$ query = $ this-> wpdb-> prepare ($ uuid, $ article_id);
return $ this-> wpdb-> query ($ query);
}

The parameter $ this-> wpdb is defined as

$ this-> wpdb = $ wpdb;

The logging displayed is as follows:

dcr-wordpress | [Tue Jun 25 10:45:03.363771 2019] [php7:notice] [pid 1953] [client 192.168.224.1:43584]    $ uuid: ABCDEF01-2345-6789-ABCD-9876543210AA
dcr-wordpress | [Tue Jun 25 10:45:03.363776 2019] [php7:notice] [pid 1953] [client 192.168.224.1:43584]    $ article_id: 1
dcr-wordpress | [Tue Jun 25 10:45:03.363781 2019] [php7:notice] [pid 1953] [client 192.168.224.1:43584]    $ request
dcr-wordpress | [Tue Jun 25 10:45:03.363785 2019] [php7:notice] [pid 1953] [client 192.168.224.1:43584]    INSERT INTO berichten_devices (device_UUID, article_id) VALUES (% s,% s)
dcr-wordpress | [Tue Jun 25 10:45:03.364844 2019] [php7:notice] [pid 1953] [client 192.168.224.1:43584]    You have an error in your SQL syntax; Consult the manual for your MySQL server version for syntax to use near ABCDEF01-2345-6789-ABCD-9876543210AA & # 39; at line 1 of the request ABCDEF01-2345-6789-ABCD-9876543210AA gemaakt door require (wp-blog -header.php), wp, WP-> main, WP-> parse_request, do_action_ref_array (& # 39; parse_request & # 39;), WP_Hook-> do_action, WP_Hook-> apply_filters, rest_api_loaded, WP_REST_Server-> serve_quest  Inc \ Core \ RestController-> article_retrieved, Prop \ Inc \ Common \ Repository -> insert_artice_read
dcr-wordpress | 192.168.224.1 - - [25/Jun/2019:10:45:03 +0000] "POST / wp / wp-json / prop / v1 / berichten-devices HTTP / 1.1" 200 802 "-" "Mozilla / 5.0 (iPhone; UC iPhone OS 12_3_1 as Mac OS X) AppleWebKit / 605.1.15 (KHTML, as Gecko) Mobile / 15E148 "

From this logging, it is obvious that the SQL syntax has a problem, but this line seems strange to me:

for the correct syntax to use near & ABCDEF01-2345-6789-ABCD-9876543210AA & # 39;

These are the parameters data of the prepared instruction, I would expect to see something like

for the correct syntax to use near% s

I've tried using% i instead of% s for the second parameter, be sure, but there was no difference.

That's the definition of the table:

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS berichten_devices (
device_UUID VARCHAR (255) NOT NULL,
article_id int (10) NOT NULL,
date timestamp (4) NOT NULL DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP (4),

KEY `dev_uuid` (device_UUID)

My question is basically: "What am I doing wrong?"

3.5nd dnd – Can a spell prepared with Alternate Spell Source benefit Divine Metamagic?

Say a cleric 3 / Wizard 2 / Mystic Theurge 5 with Divine metamagic and Another source of fate prepare Blessed goal like an arcane spell.
Divine metamagic States:

As a free action, you can use the energy needed to transform or restore undead and use it to apply a metamagic exploit to divine spells that you know. You must pass a turn or attempt to resume, plus an additional attempt for each level increase in the metamagic exploit you use. – CoD, my emphasis

And Another source of fate said:

You can choose to prepare one of the your divine spells as profane spells or any of your arcane spells as divine spells.

Can this spell benefit from DMM cost reductions?

Is this effect of secular spells prepared as divine?

pathfinder – What is the result of an action prepared to move the target triggered by an attack attempt in melee?

The melee attack fails and it no longer has any action

Prepared actions occur before the action that triggered them:

You can prepare a standard action, move action, fast action, or free action. To do this, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will perform it. Then, at any time before your next action, you can take the prepared action in response to this condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of the activities of another character, you interrupt the other character. Assuming that he is still able, he continues his actions once you have finished prepared action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the meeting, the result of your initiative is the account for which you performed the prepared action, and you act immediately in front of the character whose action triggered the prepared action.

If the target still has actions (not 5 feet, fast action and free actions), he can still execute them, but he has already used his movement and his standard actions.

How to use the prepared statement for Microsoft SQL Xpath queries in Java

I have trouble using Prepared Statement for sql xml xpath query below in java.

SELECT * FROM dbo.EMPLOYEE_DTLS WHERE EMPLOYEE_DTLS.EMP_XML.exist (// emp / empId[text()[1]=]& # 39;) = 1 AND (EMPLOYEE_DTLS.EMP_XML.exist (& # 39; // emp / designationList / designation[contains(.,?)]& # 39;) = 1 OR EMPLOYEE_DTLS.EMP_XML.exist (& # 39; // emp / designationList / designation[contains(.,?)]& # 39;) = 1 OR 1! = 1)

I would like to set values ​​to all places with? symbol. Since? is within single quotes in xpath, it is not considered a placeholder and I can not define the values. Someone can help me with this. Any help is greatly appreciated.

5th dnd – How much can I put in a prepared action?

What activity can a character integrate into a prepared action? According to the rules, I know that I can do an action or move. What about other types of actions: reaction, bonus action, free action, speech (and any other actions that I've forgotten / that I do not know). Examples:

  1. Can I speak while exercising my prepared action? As if my prepared action is to stab someone and shout "cowabunga!" when they walk by. According to this question, it seems that you can not speak normally outside your turn.

  2. Can I use a free action when performing my prepared action? Like moving and opening a door on my way.

  3. I think I can not use a bonus action based on my prepared action, and reactions react normally.

I do not know if there are certain types of actions missing, but I hope that this question is sufficiently precise.

dnd 5th – Can you push before attacking with Shield Master using a Prepared action?

You ask two different questions here.

Your first question is:

Can you perform a ready action as long as you complete your bonus action, then do your bonus action and then complete your action from your ready action?

And the answer is yes, you can do it. However, you do not really get any benefit from it, because any bonus action you could take to trigger the action must be a bonus action you could undertake anyway. You can not just prepare an action, use your bonus action, and then perform a normal action.

Your second question is:

Is not this a legal feat to reverse the order of action?

The feat of Shield Master says:

If you take Action Attack on your turn, you can use a bonus action to try to push a creature within 5 feet of you with your shield.

Although you can prepare an action to trigger the bonus action "try to push … with your shield", you will never actually be able to use this reaction and will actually have wasted your action.

The important text is "If you take the action Attack on your turn …". The action of attack is distinct from an attack and a regular action. If you have prepared an action, even if it is to perform the attack action, you still have not taken the action of attack. Since you do not perform the attack action, your bonus action "Push … with your shield" never takes place during your turn.

In this scenario, you make continues to attack if, after preparing this action, an opponent ends up being both adjacent and subject to you. However, you will still lose bonus Shove Shove action if it happens outside of your turn.