dnd 5e – When specifically stated “this weapon is magical for overcoming resistances” does that mean it does full damage against a character in rage

Generally speaking, such a feature would not overcome the barbarian’s resistances from their Rage feature.

First, for an example of such a feature, let’s refer to the (NPC) archdruid’s Wild Shape feature, which states:

The new form’s attacks count as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistances and immunity to nonmagical attacks.

Most of the features I’m aware of are phrased similarly enough to not make much of a difference.

The resistances that are part of the barbarian’s rage are described as the following:

You have resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage.

This resistance does not care about the magical or non-magical status of the damage dealt to the barbarian, so “magical for the purpose of overcoming resistances” doesn’t apply here. In the same vein, magical ‘physical’ damage from a spell like catapult, or from weapon attacks with a magical weapon would be halved against a raging barbarian as well (see this Q&A for a more thorough breakdown on this).

This is in contrast to things like air elementals’ resistances, which are phrased as the following:

Bludgeoning, Piercing, and Slashing from Nonmagical Attacks

Such a set of resistances would be overcome by a feature like the archdruid’s, as the attacks counting as magical means that those resistances are inapplicable. Similarly, those resistances would be ineffective against magical attacks causing ‘physical’ damage, such as thorn whip, or weapon attacks with magical weapons.

For another point of comparison, effects that intend to bypass general resistances that normally would apply seem to be more direct about it- for an example, see the vorpal sword:

In addition, the weapon ignores resistance to slashing damage.

This would bypass the resistances from Rage.

How does absorb elements work with pre-existing resistances

So I’ve looked around and can’t find an answer that quite fits what I’m wondering. For example if I were to already have fire resistance and I get hit with a red dragins fire breath would casting absorb elements halve the damage I take(effectively making it 1/4 damage) or not reduce damage at all because I already have 1 source of resistance

pathfinder 2e – Do resistances from class and Ancestry stack?

From the (rules about Resistances)(1):

If you have more than one type of resistance that would apply to the same instance of damage, use only the highest applicable resistance value.

(emphasis mine)

Since Resistances don’t normally have types (like the status, circumstances, item, etc.), it is clear that this reference applies to getting resistance from multiple sources.

dnd 5e – If I use the Shapechange spell to turn into a phoenix, can I use its legendary resistances to pass Con saves to maintain concentration?

Legendary Resistances are available to you while Shape Changed

The appropriate part of the spell description says:

Your game Statistics are replaced by the Statistics of the chosen creature, though you retain your Alignment and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores You also retain all of your skill and saving throw Proficiencies, in addition to gaining those of the creature, If the creature has the same proficiency as you, and the bonus listed in its Statistics is higher than yours, use the creature’s bonus in place of yours. You can’t use any legendary Actions or Lair Actions of the new form.

Legendary resistances are not mentioned anywhere as being unavailable or altered in anyway.

This is backed up by a (unofficial Tweet) tweet from Jeremy Crawford:

So you get Legendary Resistances?…

No rule says you don’t.

dnd 5e – Can a dragonborn Draconic Bloodline sorceror have 2 different resistances?

Yes, Elemental Affinity will only affect fire spells (given your choice of gold ancestry)

The Draconic Bloodline feature, Elemental Affinity, says:

Starting at 6th level, when you cast a spell that deals damage of the type associated with your draconic ancestry, you can add your Charisma modifier to one damage roll of that spell.

Where it says “associated with your draconic ancestry”, it is referring to what you get from the sorcerer archetype (Draconic Ancestor, which has the Draconic Ancestry table), not your race.

This is confusing, however, given that the Dragonborn racial trait is also called Draconic Ancestry.

Yes, you have resistance from your race and class (although the latter comes at a cost)

Dragonborn have damage resistance, which is linked to your Draconic Ancestry from your race, which in your case would be cold damage.

You can also gain resistance from your class (fire in your case), from that Elemental Affinity class feature again, but it only lasts an hour, unlike your racial resistance; quoting from Elemental Affinity again:

At the same time, you can spend 1 sorcery point to gain resistance to that damage type for 1 hour.

dnd 5e – Can a Dragonborn draconic bloodline sorceror have 2 resistances?

My player has rolled up a Dragonborn draconic sorceror, they have decided to be a silver Dragonborn (cold breath and resistance) and take the gold dragon ancestry. This means they now have resistance to both fire and cold, but elemental affinity will affect only fire based magic am I understanding that correctly?

dnd 5e – What are the resistances of a sprite in recent impressions of the Monster Manual?

My copy of Player Manual and my copy of Monster Manual the two declare that a leprechaun has resistance to:

(…) clubbing, piercing and carving non-magic weapons that are not silver.

And then DnD Beyond (without buying books there) says:

(…) Clubbing, piercing and carving non-magic attacks that are not silver

Meanwhile, the Player Manual errata declares:

(…) clubbing, piercing and slicing non-magic attacks not made with silver weapons.

And the Monster Manual errata declares:

Throughout the book, the cases of "non-magic weapons" in the Damage Resistances / Immunities entries have been replaced by "non-magic attacks".

Applying this exact update would make my book condition:

(…) clubbing, piercing and slicing non-magic attacks that are not silver.

It fits the description of DnD Beyond but "the attacks that are not silver" seem very wrong to me. I do not know if this wording really exists in the impressions of the Monster Manual, this is exactly what the errata say.


Which of these formulations, if any, is correct; what is the formulation in the most recent prints Monster Manual? If this formulation conflicts with the Player Manual which errata has priority?

dnd 5e – Do the resistances granted by the scrolls of wishes count against the ceiling of the magic object?

During Season 8 of the Adventurer's League, Scrolls of Wish was relatively easy to acquire as a level 3+ adventurer. Many characters who have plunged the wizard or the wizard would buy these scrolls to gain resistance to the type of damage of their choice.

When season 9 started, a new direction was given to the FAQ regarding persistent effects. According to the FAQ of the League of Adventurers (v.9.1):

Elements with persistent effects

You can only benefit from a magic item
who grants the same permanent benefit once (for example, a
comprehension, bean bag, etc.). This orientation is retroactive.
In addition, items that have had a lingering effect (such as a
golems, via the wishes of the blades of luck, etc.) count against this
the character’s magic object limit as long as he keeps
advantage, even if they don't own the item or it has lost its magic
Properties. You can choose to replace or abandon the item as normal,
but in doing so, the benefits it has provided (resistance to damage,
capacity score increases, etc.) are lost.

Do the Scrolls of Wishes that were used to gain resistance to one type of damage now count towards a character's magic item limit, even if they are consumable magic items?

dnd 5e – How do barbaric rage resistances interact with magic weapons?

This question already has an answer here:

In statblocks of monsters that include resistance to clubbing, piercing and reduction, it is indicated that you can defeat this resistance with magic weapons or sometimes with silver weapons.

In the description of barbarous rabies, nothing of the sort is mentioned. But I've always thought that magic weapons always ignored this resistance and I wondered why some monsters including something like Demogorgon:

Magic Weapons. Demogorgon's weapon attacks are magical.

Maybe it's just flavor for Demogorgon to be simply better against other monsters or that these attacks also ignore the resistance that the barbarian has when he's raging.

Do rampaging barbarians have resistance against attacks with a magic weapon or weapon that counts as magic to defeat the resistance?

When a spell specifies two possible resistances, how do you choose one?

According to the title.

For example, the Create memories spell specifies

Resisting the spell requires passing an MR or PsR check with a
Difficulty of 100.

Who determines what verification is done and how does it determine it?