dnd 5e – For a base 1st-level spell, can a Scribes wizard use the Master Scrivener feature to copy it at 2nd level (before its power is enhanced)?

Master Scrivener, the 10th-level feature of Order of Scribes wizards, is described as follows (TCoE, p. 78):

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can create one magic scroll by
touching your Wizardly Quill to a blank piece of paper or parchment
and causing one spell from your Awakened Spellbook to be copied onto
the scroll.

The spellbook must be within 5 feet of you when you make the scroll.
The chosen spell must be of 1st or 2nd level and must have a casting
time of 1 action. Once in the scroll, the spell’s power is enhanced,
counting as one level higher than normal. You can cast the spell from
the scroll by reading it as an action. The scroll is unintelligible to
anyone else, and the spell vanishes from the scroll when you cast it
or when you finish your next long rest.

Obviously, the best would be to make it a 2nd-level scroll, thus getting a 2nd-level spell upcast to 3rd level.

But say you wanted a benefit that only a 1st-level spell had (say, Magic Missile‘s automatic damage). Could you copy a 2nd-level version of that spell into the scroll, and then the scroll would let you cast it at 3rd level? Or could you only copy the 1st-level version of the spell, for a final result of 2nd-level Magic Missile?

dnd 5e – What happens if a character takes the Thief of Five Fates invocation, but doesn’t have Warlock spell slots?

The text of the Eldritch Invocation is pretty clear…you can cast bane using a Warlock Spell Slot.

If you don’t have Warlock Spell Slots, you cannot cast it. This same rule applies to a multi-classed Warlock: they have to use a Warlock spell slot for this, they can’t use a normal spell slot that they acquired from, say, Multi-classing Sorcerer.

The language used across these Eldritch Invocations is very consistent. If it was intended that you could cast these spells using some other Spell Slot, then it wouldn’t specify that you had to use a Warlock Spell Slot. It would instead say something like…

You can cast bane once using a spell slot.

But it doesn’t. It would have been very easy for them to leave the specificity out, and they did not. Thus it’s a safe bet that this is intentional.

This is supported by an interview with Jeremy Crawford (lead rules designer for WotC), found here. To transcribe…

Bart Carrol: “So, for example, if it requires a warlock spell slot, then in that case it would require a warlock to be able to use it?”

J. Crawford: “What this feat is saying, is that it doesn’t matter what the prerequisite is. If an Invocation has a prerequisite of any kind, only a Warlock can take it”

While not a definitive ruling (as it’s just an interview, not a formal Sage Advice post), and is using Crawford’s usual circuitious language…I find this to be fairly strong support. Crawford appears to consider “you need a Warlock Spell Slot to cast this” to be a prerequisite.

dnd 5e – Material components for Commune spell

Welcome to roleplaying with spell components.

As written, a component pouch or a focus replace all of these components at no cost to the caster:

Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.

Since no cost is specified for the components of commune, either a focus or component pouch can replace these components without concern for if you have gone through roleplaying of finding these things. The idea here is that these things are standard fare for clerics, and any cleric would keep these things in their component pouch anyway.

That said, material components without cost provide an optional roleplaying experience for the caster. If you want (or if your DM requires it), it can be fun to keep track of these things, or to roleplay the interactions necessary to obtain the incense and (un-)holy water. But to be clear, these interactions are not required by the rules, but may be required by your DM.

dnd 5e – Does the Zealot Barbarians Warrior of the Gods feature work with Divine Soul Twinned Spell?

dnd 5e – Does the Zealot Barbarians Warrior of the Gods feature work with Divine Soul Twinned Spell? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

dnd 5e – Can an area of effect spell be cast through total cover?

Your ruling is almost correct.

The rules concerning a clear path to the target state:

To target something, you must have a clear path to it, so it can’t be behind total cover.

If you place an area of effect at a point that you can’t see and an obstruction, such as a wall, is between you and that point, the point of origin comes into being on the near side of that obstruction.

Since storm sphere is an area of effect, its point of origin should come into being on the near side of the wall of ice. To be technical, it is not that she cannot cast the spell, rather, she can cast the spell, but it does not come into effect where she wants it to.

There is an alternative you could have presented.

The wall of ice is only 10 feet tall, and the radius of storm sphere is 20 feet, so it is conceivable that a sphere placed in the air on the other side of the wall could have the desired effect. Though, your mileage may vary based on the form of the battlefield.

dnd 5e – If you use the creation spell to create gunpowder/blackpowder, how long would it last?

12 hours

Creation says:

The Duration depends on the object’s material. If the object is composed of multiple materials, use the shortest Duration.

  • Material – Duration:
  • Vegetable matter – 1 day
  • Stone/crystal – 12 hours
  • Precious metals – 1 hour
  • Gems – 10 minutes
  • Adamantine/Mithral – 1 minute

Gunpowder, or black powder,

consists of a fuel (charcoal), an oxidizer (saltpeter or niter), and a stabilizer (sulfur) to allow for a constant reaction.

  • Charcoal is vegetable matter (wood); 1 day
  • Saltpeter, aka potassium nitrate or nitre, is a mineral. As neither a precious metal nor a gem, it would last 12 hours
  • Sulfur is also a non-precious-metal, non-gem mineral; 12 hours

The shortest duration of these three is 12 hours, so by Creation‘s description, their mixture would also last 12 hours

dnd 5e – What happens when you use the knock spell on an object with a magical lock that isn’t specifically arcane lock?

The knock spell’s description reads:

Choose an object that you can see within range. The object can be a door, a box, a chest, a set of manacles, a padlock, or another object that contains a mundane or magical means that prevents access.

A target that is held shut by a mundane lock or that is stuck or barred becomes unlocked, unstuck, or unbarred. If the object has multiple locks, only one of them is unlocked.

If you choose a target that is held shut with arcane lock, that spell is suppressed for 10 minutes, during which time the target can be opened and shut normally.

When you cast the spell, a loud knock, audible from as far away as 300 feet, emanates from the target object.

As far as I see it, the description of the knock spell describes 4 things:

  • What the knock spell can target.
  • What happens if the knock spell targets something locked by a mundane lock, or is stuck or barred.
  • What happens if the locking mechanism is specifically the spell arcane lock.
  • The spell creates noise.

Valid spell targets include magical locks. But it doesn’t seem the spell says what it does when such a target is selected (except for create a loud knock sound). This is the case, unless a magical lock is considered ‘stuck’ in which it is according to the spell the lock would be unstucked.

However, the spell says what it does to stuck things where it specifies what happens to a target that is held shut by a mundane lock, or stuck or barred. If magical locks were considered stuck, there wouldn’t have been any need to specifically say what happens to a mundane lock, because it would apply to non-mundane locks too.


I originally asked this question here, but the question unfortunately got edited into a different question. The answer there addresses the question it got edited to. So I feel it is appropriate readdress the main issue in a new thread. For this reason, I don’t think this is a duplicate question, even though I copied the majority of the content of this question from that thread.

dnd 5e – What happens when you use the knock spell on dimensional shackles?

The knock spell’s description reads:

Choose an object that you can see within range. The object can be a door, a box, a chest, a set of manacles, a padlock, or another object that contains a mundane or magical means that prevents access.
A target that is held shut by a mundane lock or that is stuck or barred becomes unlocked, unstuck, or unbarred. If the object has multiple locks, only one of them is unlocked.

If you choose a target that is held shut with arcane lock, that spell is suppressed for 10 minutes, during which time the target can be opened and shut normally.

When you cast the spell, a loud knock, audible from as far away as 300 feet, emanates from the target object.

As far as I see it, the description of the knock spell describes 4 things:

  • What the knock spell can target.
  • What happens if the knock spell targets something locked by a mundane lock, or is stuck or barred.
  • What happens if the locking mechanism is specifically the spell ‘arcane lock.’
  • The spell creates noise.

Valid spell targets include magical locks, but they aren’t a mundane lock, and we have good grounds to presume they aren’t limited to the arcane lock spell either.

Is something locked by a magical lock considered stuck for the purpose of what happens to a stuck object? This would be strange to me because why then do they specify mundane lock.

Moreover the part referring to things that are locked by a mundane lock, stuck, or barred seems to have an inclination towards the mundane (non-magical), are there magical means of making something stuck which would be included in this description? If so, where is the line between being magically locked and magically stuck?

Is the creation of noise the only result for using the knock spell on a magical lock that isn’t arcane lock?


I’m interested in the answer to this because I’m wanting to break out the dimensional shackles infusion on my artificer. Dimensional shackles seem to be magically locked for all intents and purposes. Moreover the item is designed to prevent teleportation, among any humanoid they were probably made for mages, can a mage simply open them with knock (presuming they know the spell and have it prepared)?

dnd 5e – Can a Hunter Ranger under the effects of the Shapechange spell use Whirlwind Attack with a Monster’s attack?

Yes this is possible, following the precedent on opportunity attacks from the Sage Advice Compendium

First I will point out the similarity to the wording of the “Opportunity Attacks” section:

To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature.

Compare this with the Whirlwind Attack feature:

You can use your action to make a melee attack against any number of creatures within 5 feet of you, with a separate attack roll for each target.

These use near-identical wording and thus we can say that rulings the Sage Advice Compendium has made regarding opportunity attacks also apply to Whirlwind Attack.


With that concluded, the Sage Advice Compendium has said the following:

Q. What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed?

A. A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules (PH, 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike (…)

From the above quote we see that things such as the Bulette’s bite attack can be used with opportunity attacks and thus they can also be used with Whirlwind Attack.


A GM has no obligation to agree with the Sage Advice Compendium

The SAC is a collection of official rulings, or ways to interpret rules and these are, of course, able to be contested or changed by any GM. In this case in particular, the SAC ruling doesn’t state anything to support its own stance.

Similarly, Whirlwind Attack is a rather exceptional feature (also according only to the SAC) in that it is a single attack despite involving multiple attack rolls. So even if a GM agrees with the SAC’s ruling on opportunity attacks, they do not have to apply that same ruling to Whirlwind Attack or other similar cases (we don’t even know why it applies to opportunity attacks so technically we can’t even extrapolate it to any other cases at all without making some assumptions).

Basically, while the SAC does seem to make this just work, a GM has plenty of room to rule otherwise coming from quite a few differently angles.

dnd 5e – What happens when you use the knock spell on an object with a lock that is magical but isn’t specifically arcane lock?

The knock spell’s description reads:

Choose an object that you can see within range. The object can be a door, a box, a chest, a set of manacles, a padlock, or another object that contains a mundane or magical means that prevents access.
A target that is held shut by a mundane lock or that is stuck or barred becomes unlocked, unstuck, or unbarred. If the object has multiple locks, only one of them is unlocked.

If you choose a target that is held shut with arcane lock, that spell is suppressed for 10 minutes, during which time the target can be opened and shut normally.

When you cast the spell, a loud knock, audible from as far away as 300 feet, emanates from the target object.

As far as I see it, the description of the knock spell describes 4 things:

  • What the knock spell can target.
  • What happens if the knock spell targets something locked by a mundane lock, or is stuck or barred.
  • What happens if the locking mechanism is specifically the spell ‘arcane lock.’
  • The spell creates noise.

Valid spell targets include magical locks, but they aren’t a mundane lock, and we have good grounds to presume they aren’t limited to the arcane lock spell either.

Is something locked by a magical lock considered stuck for the purpose of what happens to a stuck object? This would be strange to me because why then do they specify mundane lock. Moreover the part referring to things that locked by a mundane lock, stuck, or barred seems to have an inclination towards the mundane (non-magical), are there magical means of making something stuck which would be included in this description? If so, what is the line between being magically locked and magically stuck?

Is the creation of noise the only result for using the knock spell on a magical lock that isn’t arcane lock?


I’m interested in the answer to this because I’m wanting to break out the dimensional shackles infusion on my artificer. Dimensional shackles seem to be magically locked for all intents and purposes. Moreover the item is designed to prevent teleportation, among any humanoid they were probably made for mages, can a mage simply open them with knock?

DreamProxies - Cheapest USA Elite Private Proxies 100 Private Proxies 200 Private Proxies 400 Private Proxies 1000 Private Proxies 2000 Private Proxies ExtraProxies.com - Buy Cheap Private Proxies Buy 50 Private Proxies Buy 100 Private Proxies Buy 200 Private Proxies Buy 500 Private Proxies Buy 1000 Private Proxies Buy 2000 Private Proxies ProxiesLive Proxies-free.com New Proxy Lists Every Day Proxies123