dnd 5e – Does a creature under the effect of Motivational Speech still get advantage on their next attack if the spell ends for them?

The spell motivational speech (Acquisitions Incorporated, pg. 77) says:

For the duration, each affected creature gains 5 temporary hit points and has advantage on Wisdom saving throws. If an affected creature is hit by an attack, it has advantage on the next attack roll it makes. Once an affected creature loses the temporary hit points granted by this spell, the spell ends for that creature.

So when the effected creature is hit by an attack, the spell grants the creature advantage on their next attack. But getting hit by an attack is going to be accompanied by damage – and 5 points seems like it will very often be gone with a single attack.

Does a creature hit by an attack still get advantage on its next attack if that attack dealt 5 or more damage? Or does the spell end for them immediately and they do not get advantage on the next attack?

It just seems like this effect is going to be self-defeating a lot of the time – the thing that grants the advantage is the thing that takes it away. Am I missing something?

Note, temporary hitpoints are always lost first, so no holding on to them while subtracting damage from your standard hitpoint pool. Sorry Jim, it was a clever thought.

dnd 5e – In D&D 5e is there a spell or ability that mimics the D&D 2e Priest spell Combine?

There is no such feature in 5th Edition.

I can’t properly prove this to you. But you can read through all of the class and subclass features of the 5e Cleric here and you will not find anything like this.

Additionally, there are no feats or magic items that interact with the cleric’s turn undead class feature in the way you are asking about.

Further, I am certain there are no abilities in 5e that allow you to temporarily increase your level or treat your level as though it was increased temporarily. Again, there is no way to prove this to you other than to say “go read all the source books, and note that no such feature exists.”

dnd 5e – Is this homebrew exfiltration spell balanced?

Dimensional Anchor

3rd Level Conjuration
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: self
Components: V, S, M (a small, leaden nail worth 5gp)
Duration: 1 minute

You pound a nail into a point in the ground, anchoring your being to the nail’s location. During the spell’s duration, you can utter a command phrase as a bonus action and magically teleport to the nail’s location and the spell ends.

You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn’t exceed what you can carry. You can teleport to the nail regardless of physical distance, planar distance, or obstacles (magical or otherwise, including barriers of magical force) between you and the nail. The effect occurs only if the command phrase is audible.

At higher levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 5th level or higher, the duration of this spell increases to 1 hour.

The intended purpose of this spell is as an exfiltration tool that must be prepared before usage, with clear differences between Misty Step and Teleportation Circle. I’ve deliberately made its teleportation and escape potential much stronger than the others to offset the setup added cost of this spell, and as a way to reward creative thinking and good planning.

Is this spell balanced?

I’ve prepared a list of balance consideration to help guide analysis.

Balance Considerations

  • I haven’t determined which classes will be able to use it, so for the purposes of analysis, you may assume that any spellcasting class can use it.
  • Comparison with Misty Step:
    • This spell is likely to be used in a similar manner as Misty Step–primarily a means of escaping a sticky situation. The escape potential for this spell is much greater, as it can be used to escape almost any bond or prison.
    • Misty Step can be cast reactively and requires a bonus action, whereas this spell requires a full action and bonus action. Action economy favors Misty Step in almost any scenario , unless the user has specifically approached a situation with a plan in mind.
    • This spell requires a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, while Misty Step requires only a 2nd level spell slot.
  • Comparison with Teleportation Circle:
    • This spell is mainly intended as a short-term, higher flexibility counterpart to Teleportation Circle .
    • Teleportation Circle can be used to access any existing Circle, whereas Dimensional Anchor can only be used to return to a recent location. As such, Teleportation Circle has much higher travel utility.
    • Due to its lower casting time, Dimensional Anchor can be used mid-combat.
  • Comparison with Word of Recall
    • This spell only works for a single creature (the caster) and has a finite duration.
    • This spell is significantly lower in level, meaning that it can be used more often at lower levels to avoid physical obstacles that wouldn’t otherwise deter a high-level player.
    • The return location for this spell does not require special or cleric-related significance. This greatly increases its real-time flexibility.
  • Silence prevents the user from teleporting via this spell.
  • The nail can be moved by any creature–hostile or otherwise.

dnd 5e – Is there a way (other than using a wish spell) for a Wizard to cast Ranger spells?

The Bard’s Magical Secrets feature allows them to learn spells from any class. You can use it to learn Conjure Barrage and/or Swift Quiver at level 10, or at level 6 if you choose the College of Lore archetype.

If you just want to launch darts like Naruto, you could refluff Magic Missile to have it be shuriken instead of magical missiles. Or find something else to refluff.

If you can convince your DM, there was a UA School of Lore Mastery for Wizard that lets you cast from any spell list once per long rest, at level 14. Not much better than using Wish, but definitely better.

Here’s a complete list of options for learning spells from other lists. That said, only Magical Secrets will work for you, and there are no archetypes I know of that include those spells in their modified lists either. Other than that you are out of luck.

dnd 5e – Can this Lair Action restore all the lich’s 8th or lower spell slots even when there’s no combat or any of the lich’s enemies within?

One of the Lair Actions of a lich does the following:

The lich rolls a d8 and regains a spell slot of that level or lower. If it has no spent spell slots of that level or lower, nothing happens.

A lich decided to attack the party, using some of its spell slots in the process, and then retreat to its lair to recover and await the party.

If the party manage to find the lich’s lair within 8 hours (i.e. before the lich can long rest and recover its spell slots that way), would the above Lair Action have (likely1) restored all of the lich’s spent spell slots (excluding the 9th level spell slot, obviously)?

Or is there some reason this wouldn’t work, such as the Lair Actions only being “active” when there are enemies of the lich actually in the lair (i.e. during combat)?


1 I say “likely” because there’s a dice roll involved, so technically it could not roll the numbers it needs to actually recover all its spell slots, but let’s discount that possibility as I imagine an hour or so of rolling will almost definitely roll the numbers that it needs eventually.

dnd 5e – Do monsters with a spellcasting trait get spell slots back after a long rest?

Some monsters, like a lich, have the Spellcasting trait. This trait allows such monsters to cast spells using spell slots, much as spellcaster player characters do.

However, taking the lich as an example, the trait does not mention how spell slots are regained (I’m ignoring their Lair Actions for the purposes of this question). Looking at the general rules on monsters’ Spellcasting trait in the Special Traits section:

Spellcasting

A monster with the Spellcasting class feature has a spellcaster level and spell slots, which it uses to cast its spells of 1st level and higher. The spellcaster level is also used for any cantrips included in the feature.

The monster has a list of spells known or prepared from a specific class. The list might also include spells from a feature in that class, such as the Divine Domain feature of the cleric or the Druid Circle feature of the druid. The monster is considered a member of that class when attuning to or using a magic item that requires membership in the class or access to its spell list.

A monster can cast a spell from its list at a higher level if it has the spell slot to do so. For example, a drow mage with the 3rd-level lightning bolt spell can cast it as a 5th-level spell by using one of its 5th-level spell slots.

You can change the spells that a monster knows or has prepared, replacing any spell on its spell list with a spell of the same level and from the same class list. If you do so, you might cause the monster to be a greater or lesser threat than suggested by its challenge rating.

There is no mention of spells slots coming back on a long rest. Elsewhere in the general rules, this is explicitly mentioned for other traits (such as X/Day traits):

For example, “1/Day” means a special ability can be used once and that the monster must finish a long rest to use it again.

It’s reasonable to assume that monsters with the Spellcasting trait do probably get their spell slots back on a long rest because that’s how it works for PCs, but on the other hand, monsters and PCs don’t necessarily use the same rules. So, does anything explicitly state that monsters with the Spellcasting trait get their spell slots back on a long rest?

dnd 5e – Does the Hallow spell remove an existing charm/fear/possession effect from creatures that are already in its area when the spell is cast?

Part of the description of the hallow spell includes the following effect (emphasis mine):

First, celestials, elementals, fey, fiends, and undead can’t enter the area, nor can such creatures charm, frighten, or possess creatures within it. Any creature charmed, frightened, or possessed by such a creature is no longer charmed, frightened, or possessed upon entering the area. You can exclude one or more of those types of creatures from this effect.

Say a creature is already charmed, frightened, or possessed by a listed creature type, and then the hallow spell is cast on an area that includes the creature. Is the charm/fear/possession effect ended, suspended, or unchanged when the spell is cast?

In other words, is casting this spell on the area such a creature is in enough to end one of these effects? Or must the creature leave and reenter the spell’s area to achieve this?

Could I cast a range spell as a melee attack? [closed]

I’m wanting to make a sorcerer that throws a little flare in his spell attacks. I was wondering if I could use a range spell attack as a melee attack like casting firebolt but punching with it instead of throwing it…

dnd 5e – What does the spell Compelled Duel actually do?

After reading through the description of the spell compelled duel, it seems as though the spell does not actually say what it does with respect to restricting the movement of the target creature.

Let’s review the description bit by bit:

You attempt to compel a creature into a duel. One creature that you can see within range must make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature is drawn to you, compelled by your divine demand.

“Compel a creature into a duel” is the flavorful description of what this spell does. The mechanical nature of this is supposed to be defined when the spell describes what happens on a failure. What follows after “on a failed save” is the spell’s definition of “compelled into a duel”.

So what happens on a failed save? “The creature is drawn to you, compelled by your divine demand”. This definitely reads like more flavor text. I can see two interpretations of this phrase. The first, we can understand “drawn to you” to mean “the creature cannot willingly move away from you”. But we can be certain that this is not the case, as the next part of the spell tells us what happens if the creature does attempt to move a certain distance away from you. The only other reasonable interpretation I can see is that this phrase is, once again, more flavor text, and the spell is going to tell us what it does later on in the description.

The next bit is perfectly clear,

For the duration, it has disadvantage on attack rolls against creatures other than you,

Moving on.

This where it gets weird. The spell now gives a condition which triggers a saving throw, and defines what happens on the success of that saving throw:

[The target] must make a Wisdom saving throw each time it attempts to move to a space that is more than 30 feet away from you.

Okay, this seems to heavily imply that the target is able to attempt to move to a square more than 30 feet away from you. This is what invalidates the first interpretation of “drawn to you” mentioned previously.

Now the spell describes what happens on a success on the saving throw:

if it succeeds on this saving throw, this spell doesn’t restrict the target’s movement for that turn.

As written, it seems the spell already does not restrict the target’s movement because the spell never says anything to that effect. It does not describe what happens on a failed saving throw. It never tells us how it restricts the movement of the target.

But it gets worse. Because the spell never tells us what happens on a failed save, there is no reason given in the description that would stop the target creature from attempting the saving throw until there is a success.

What does compelled duel actually do?

This question seems related, but is muddied by the fact that the asker employed an outdated or incorrect printing of the spell description.

dnd 5e – Does a target affected by the Compulsion spell have to take the Dash action?

The creature is not compelled to gain additional speed or movement

Compulsion forces the creature to “use as much of its movement as possible”. The Dash action does not involve using movement; rather, it allows a creature to “gain extra movement”. A compulsion to use all your movement does not imply a compulsion to also gain movement so that it can also be used. If it did, would you force a wizard to spend their action casting haste or fly on themselves so that they can better obey the compulsion? Would a monk be required to spend a ki point on Step of the Wind to dash? Must a druid wild shape into a eagle?

You are confusing “use as much of its movement as possible” with “move as far as possible”. The latter interpretation quickly opens up a Pandora’s box of ambiguities, as shown in the above examples. At a more basic level, it violates the “no secret rules” principle of D&D 5e. Not to mention, it contradicts the text of the spell itself, which explicitly gives the creature the option to use its action.

To be clear, if you do decide to take an action that gives you extra movement, you are then compelled to spend all of that newly-gained movement moving in the designated direction. However, nothing obliges you to take any such an action, including the Dash action.