dnd 5th – What spells could a bard identify in a book of Shadows of the Warlock Tome?

Legally, the book is useless for the bard. How does this manifest itself at DM?

A shadow book contains only traps:

Your boss gives you a book called the Shadow Book. When you get this feature, choose three rollovers from the list of spells of any class.

If this warlock also invokes the ancient secrets book, he can also add rituals to the book:

You can now include magic rituals in your Book of Shadows. Choose two first-level spells that carry the ritual tag in the spell list of any class (both do not have to belong to the same list).

Since a class can only read spells from scrolls and so on. in his class list, this would mean that a Bard, at best, could only read rituals and misinterpretations that are already in Bard's list of spells.

However, the bard could not use any of Bard's spells in the book as a Bard is limited in the number of word traps and spells he knows (as in all spell casting classes).

On the other hand, a DM could treat the spellbook as a scroll of spells and allow the Bard to launch the contents of the book while he was on it. But that would mean that the Warlock could not then cast those spells, because the pact also says:

As long as the book is on you, you can launch these cantrips at will.

And Summoning: With your book of shadows in hand, you can cast the chosen spells in the form of rituals. You can only cast spells as rituals unless you have learned them otherwise.

This means that without the book, these spells can not be cast. Once the bard made the spell to the warlock, he would lose access to those spells. The net number of known cantrips and rituals in the group would remain constant in both cases (unless the Warlock naturally knows one of the ritual spells in the book).

How the DM decides to handle the mechanisms from a traditional point of view is his choice. The bard can identify the type of magic for each spell (this is in accordance with the rules of the Detect Magic spell), but this has no real value. Maybe he / she is unable to read the book writing at all because the text appears as swirling and shapeless shadows, etc., so the nature of the magic is all that that she can glean.

What level spells can a level 3 paladin cast?

Paladins do not have access to spellcasting before level 2, can they cast level 1 and level 2 spells in their list? Or only level 1 because they could not start anything at level 1.

5th dnd – Can I cast reaction spells such as Shield or Contrespell when I cast a spell with a long casting spell and do not stop casting it?

Yes, you can use your reaction to cast another spell as long as it does not require concentration.

When you cast a spell with a longer casting time than an action, you must focus on the spell casting process and use your action each turn to keep casting the spell:

When you cast a spell with a longer casting time than an action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn to cast it and you must stay focused while you do it. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails …

Thus, your casting is interrupted if, for any reason, you do not use or can not use your action in your turn to continue to cast or if your concentration is broken. Assuming you continue to use your action, you only have to worry about your ability to concentrate, which can be caused by a handful of effects, but most importantly by:

  • Start another spell that requires concentration. You lose focus on a spell if you cast another one that requires concentration. You can not focus on two spells at once.

Notably, casting a different spell is not enough to break your focus; it must be a spell that requires concentration itself.

This means that you can cast other spells while you do it with a long casting time, provided that you do not have to use your action to do it, and these are not concentration spells.

5th dnd – Can I use reaction spells such as Shield or Contrespell when casting long spells and not throwing it?

Yes, you can use your reaction to cast another spell as long as it does not require concentration.

When you cast a spell with a longer casting time than an action, you must focus on the spell casting process and use your action each turn to keep casting the spell:

When you cast a spell with a longer casting time than an action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn to cast it and you must stay focused while you do it. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails …

Thus, your casting is interrupted if, for any reason, you do not use or can not use your action in your turn to continue to cast or if your concentration is broken. Assuming you continue to use your action, you only have to worry about your ability to concentrate, which can be caused by a handful of effects, but most importantly by:

  • Start another spell that requires concentration. You lose focus on a spell if you cast another one that requires concentration. You can not focus on two spells at once.

Notably, casting a different spell is not enough to break your focus; it must be a spell that requires concentration itself.

This means that you can cast other spells while you do it with a long casting time, provided that you do not have to use your action to do it, and these are not concentration spells. You can cast other spells using your reaction or even using a bonus action in your turn without interrupting the launch of the longest spell.

Actions – Can I use reaction spells like shield / counter-strike when I cast a long casting spell and do not stop casting it?

In my last game in AL (it's important to respect the rules), I was in the process of elementary conjurer (Duration: 1 minute, range: 90 feet, components: V, S, M). During this casting, I tried to use against-spelling to counter a spell in my range.

Suddenly, my DM said that when I throw against-spelling, I would drop my casting of elementary conjurer because I can not do that. Another player and I pointed out that I could do that and that against-spelling It's only a component S, so I have no problem running it.

But when I throw shield, my DM said that shield now has a V component, so I dropped your casting and we again reported the Sage Advice Compendium:

Can you cast a reaction spell on your turn? You can of course! Here is a common way for this to happen: the wizard Cornelius launches fireball in turn, and his enemy throws against-spelling on him. Cornelius also against-spelling prepared, so he uses his reaction to launch it and break the game of his opponent. against-spelling before he can stop fireball.

And after one session, he said that against-spelling works after the casting but before the effect. I have emphasized this line of counterspell:

You are trying to interrupt a creature casting a spell.

So, can I use reaction spells like shield / spelling when I cast a long casting spell and do not stop casting it?

3.5nd dnd – Do pets cause opportunity attacks when sending contact spells?

Looking now online, I found this:

If the master is level 3 or higher, a pet can assign touch spells. If the master and the pet are in touch when the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his pet as "touch". The pet can then cast the spell as the master could. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell will dissipate.

Can someone tell me something that explains whether or not they cause AOOs in a rule book?

5th dnd – Is it realistic to create a character that does not use a weapon, only spells?

Is it realistic to create a character who does not use a weapon, and only spells? Is there a way to create a character who only fights by magic? To be honest, I do not know that a wizard could not do this.

Obviously, I would use the wizard, warlock or cleric classes for that. When I create a character, there does not seem to be a class that fights only with magic.

spells – How can a swinging PC swiftly animate a killed enemy?

I would like a PC from my campaign to kill its enemies using a melee weapon or remotely like a sword or spear, then these enemies will immediately rise to join it in the fight as zombies or other kind of undead.

My initial thought was to use the metamagic exploit I fell animated it says in part: "You can change a spell that deals damage to enemies." Any living creature that could normally be raised as a zombie and has no more than double your typing dice, when it is killed outright by an animated spell, rises like a zombie under your control at the beginning of your next action "(Libris Mortis 26-7).

I would apply the benefit of the Fell Animate exploit to the 2nd level Drd spell, for example flame blade (Player's manual 231) or the third level spell of the Moon domain moon blade [evoc] (Compendium of spells 143) or maybe even – with my permission (I'm the SM) – the Sor / Wiz level 4 spell Sword of Darternae [evoc] (Celebrity Game Table Column "The Praemal Campaign") and make sure the magically created weapon lasts all day via the exploit persistent spell (Complete arcane 81) and the prestige class dancer (Magic of Faerûn 37-8).

Will this plan work? Is there a better one? In other words, is there a plan available at lower levels that is more practical or requires fewer resources and that allows an enemy to be killed with a sword (or, if applicable, an arrow) that then animates it as an enemy? that undead creature immediately?

Extreme cheese – word game, persistent complex stop time shenanigans, etc. – will be disapproved but will not be dismissed outright if it is entertaining. In addition, even the third-party material is acceptable to accomplish this task, but the more the material used to do it is official, the better. In addition, although this is not strictly necessary, try to keep in mind that PCs are at level 15, that the campaign limits the number of PCs to take all other levels of the same full broadcast class Level 1 or Level 2 (for example, a Level 15 PC could be a Clr7 / Wiz8 but not a Wiz15), and the new PC will come into play with a mere 59,000 W of NPCs.

5th dnd – Can a character learn spells from someone's spell book and then sell it?

The sources of the copied correction books can be sold as you wish.

Only wizards have the class feature to copy spells into their spell book. Your warlock friend can not copy spells in the spellbook and uses a totally different form of spell casting, namely: Magic Pact, granted by their wicked extraterrestrial who is detailed in the PHB (107).

How does it work for magicians:

An assistant has access to the 9th level spell locations at the 17th assistant level (PHB 113). If he's not at least a level 17 wizard, he can not copy the spell into his spell book because his level does not give him access to a level 9 spell slot.

Your spell book (PHB 114)

Copy a spell in the book. When you find a level 1 or higher wizard spell, you can add it to your spell book if it's a spell.
level for which you have spelling boxes and if you can spare time for
decipher and copy it.

To copy a spell into your spell book involves reproducing the base
shape of the spell and then decipher the unique scoring system used
by the assistant who wrote it. You must practice the spell until you
understand the sounds or gestures required, then transcribe them into
your spell book using your own notation.

Replacement of the book. You can copy a spell from your spell book into another book, for example, if you want to make a backup copy of
your spell book. It's like you're copying a new spell into your
spelling but faster and easier since you understand your own
scoring and already know how to cast the spell. If you lose your spell book, you can use the same procedure.
transcribe the spells you have prepared in a new
Spell book.

Copying a spell into your spell book reproduces the spell and actively transcribes it into your spell book in your own scoring style. Your copies are all based on your unique system and this unique system is required to prepare the spells from your spell book (PHB 114).

You can make these backup copies and sell them or their source as you please. You do not need the source after copying them. If you lose your spellbook, you can even cast your spells in a new book if you have already prepared them.


Also read: What are the requirements for an assistant to successfully copy a spell from a scroll in his spell book?

5th dnd – Learn spells from someone's spell book and then sell it?

The sources of the copied correction books can be sold as you wish.

An assistant has access to the 9th level spell locations at the 17th assistant level (PHB 113). If he's not at least a level 17 wizard, he can not copy the spell into his spell book because his level does not give him access to a level 9 spell slot.

Only wizards have the class feature to copy spells into their spell book.

Your spell book (PHB 114)

Copy a spell in the book. When you find a level 1 or higher wizard spell, you can add it to your spell book if it's a spell.
level for which you have spelling boxes and if you can spare time for
decipher and copy it.

To copy a spell into your spell book involves reproducing the base
shape of the spell and then decipher the unique scoring system used
by the assistant who wrote it. You must practice the spell until you
understand the sounds or gestures required, then transcribe them into
your spell book using your own notation.

Replacement of the book. You can copy a spell from your spell book into another book, for example, if you want to make a backup copy of
your spell book. It's like you're copying a new spell into your
spelling but faster and easier since you understand your own
scoring and already know how to cast the spell. If you lose your spell book, you can use the same procedure.
transcribe the spells you have prepared in a new
Spell book.

Copying a spell into your spell book reproduces the spell and actively transcribes it into your spell book in your own scoring style. Your copies are all based on your unique system and this unique system is required to prepare the spells from your spell book (PHB 114).

You can make these backup copies and sell them or their source as you please. You do not need the source after copying them. If you lose your spellbook, you can even cast your spells in a new book if you have already prepared them.


Also read: What are the requirements for an assistant to successfully copy a spell from a scroll in his spell book?