dnd 3.5e – Is the damage from Snap Kick fixed like, for example Insightful Strike or can you add any more bonuses to it?

Snap Kick states the following (emphasis mine):

When you make a melee attack with one or more melee weapons (including
a standard attack, full attack, or even a strike maneuver), you can
make an additional attack at your highest attack bonus. This attack is
an unarmed attack that deals damage equal to your base unarmed attack
damage + 1/2 your Str bonus
. You take a -2 penalty on all attack rolls
you make this round.

My character has Shadow Blade and therefore can add its DEX to the damage, and also has the possibility of making Sneak Attack with Assassin’s Stance and adding even more damage with Craven and some other maneuvers. Do these bonuses affect Snap Kick’s attack too? My theory is that it does since it does not specify that it doesn’t like with Insightful Strike (emphasis mine):

As part of this maneuver, make a melee attack. If this attack hits,
you do not deal normal damage. Instead, you make a Concentration check
and deal damage equal to the check result. Your Strength modifier,
your weapon’s magical properties (if any), and any other extra damage
you normally deal do not modify this check (including extra damage
from class abilities, feats, or spells).

Since both writings are from the same book, I can assume that they are consistent in that if it would not be possible to add the bonuses, it would have an addendum equal to the one in Insightful Strike, but I’m not sure and that’s why I’m asking.

windows 10 – Is there any way to “disconnect” Counter Strike game from Internet?

I have a very old setup file of Counter Strike: Condition Zero game which someone gave me about 14 years ago. It always worked perfectly. But recently, it started causing problems when my laptop is connected to Internet. I tried to find solutions but they didn’t work.

The exact problem is: When I launch the game when Internet is connected, the game home screen freezes, the intro music keeps running and I’ve to force quit the game from Task Manager. And it shows an error something like Half-Life launcher is not responding.

But if my Internet is disconnected and I launch any of the games (Condition Zero or Counter Strike 1.6), it launches successfully and I can connect to Internet again, the game doesn’t get affected.

Now, I really don’t need Internet as I just play Condition Zero Tour of Duties only which are offline missions.

So is there any way to stop interacting this game with Internet at all? Can it be blocked for just this one program? So that I don’t have to turn off the Internet just to launch the game.

Thanks.

dnd 5e – Can the attack granted by the Gloom Stalker Ranger’s Stalker’s Fury be forgone by features such as the Battle Master Fighter’s Commander’s Strike?

This is inspired by the following two related questions:

Notably, the features in question (Warlock’s Pact of the Chain Pact Boon and Battle Master Fighter’s Commander’s Strike) both allow you to forgo an attack after taking the Attack action:

(…) Additionally, when you take the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow your familiar to make one attack with its reaction.

(…) When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct one of your companions to strike. (…)

And the other features asked about (Two-Weapon Fighting and the Hunter Ranger’s Horde Breaker feature) both grant an additional attack that is not part of the Attack action:

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. (…)

Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon (…)

The answers to those questions do not all agree, and part of their differences lies in the fact that these additional attacks are not part of the Attack action, which are exactly the type of attacks I would now like to ask about. A particular example would be the Gloom Stalker Ranger’s Stalker’s Fury feature, which states (emphasis mine):

(…) Once on each of your turns when you miss with a weapon attack, you can make another weapon attack as part of the same action.

How does this feature interact with things like Commander’s Strike and Pact of the Chain? Can the additional attack be forgone by these features?

dnd 5e – Can the attack granted by the Gloom Stalker Ranger’s Stalker’s Furry be forgone by features such as the Battle Master Fighter’s Commander’s Strike?

This is inspired by the following two related questions:

Notably, the features in question (Warlock’s Pact of the Chain Pact Boon and Battle Master Fighter’s Commander’s Strike) both allow you to forgo an attack after taking the Attack action:

(…) Additionally, when you take the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow your familiar to make one attack with its reaction.

(…) When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can forgo one of your attacks and use a bonus action to direct one of your companions to strike. (…)

And the other features asked about (Two-Weapon Fighting and the Hunter Ranger’s Horde Breaker feature) both grant an additional attack that is not part of the Attack action:

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. (…)

Once on each of your turns when you make a weapon attack, you can make another attack with the same weapon (…)

The answers to those questions do not all agree, and part of their differences lies in the fact that these additional attacks are not part of the Attack action, which are exactly the type of attacks I would now like to ask about. A particular example would be the Gloom Stalker Ranger’s Stalker’s Fury feature, which states (emphasis mine):

(…) Once on each of your turns when you miss with a weapon attack, you can make another weapon attack as part of the same action.

How does this feature interact with things like Commander’s Strike and Pact of the Chain? Can the additional attack be forgone by these features?

dnd 5e – Can I make an unarmed strike while holding a two handed weapon?

My barbarian Gus uses a Greataxe, a two handed weapon. While raging in combat against harpies, a round passed without Gus taking damage. On his turn, all harpies were out of his melee range, and he had used all his javelins. To maintain his rage, he slapped the fighter with an unarmed strike. The DM ruled that Gus could not make a unarmed strike, as he was wielding a 2 handed weapon. I argued that he was not wielding the 2 handed weapon, just holding it; my DM didn’t see the difference, and as long as Gus held a 2 handed weapon his weapon attacks must be made with that weapon. In the end I dropped the weapon, slap the fighter, then pick up the weapon as a free object interaction. Then he reminded me that rage is only maintained by attacking a hostile opponent, but that’s not important here.

I understand that a 2 handed weapon only requires 2 hands when you attack with it, and my DM agrees with that. The only debate is whether you can, while holding the weapon with 1 hand, make an unarmed strike with your other hand. The description for unarmed strikes seems to imply that you could make an unarmed strike with full hands:

Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon Attack, you can use an Unarmed Strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow.

Even if I did have full hands, could I have head butted the fighter here? enter link description hereWas my DM correct in this ruling, or was I?

dnd 5e – Does True Strike alert an enemy to my presence?

You point a finger at a target in range. Your magic grants you a brief insight into the target’s defenses. On your next turn, you gain advantage on your first attack roll against the target, provided that this spell hasn’t ended.

True Strike only has a somatic component, that of pointing at the target, so while that would be noticeable to all present, it would be a leap of logic for most people to infer the spell had been cast at the same time.

So, RAW, there is very little to give away your intent with that cantrip.

If you were hidden at the time you cast it then even the gesture would go unobserved.

spells – How much does True Strike improve my DPR?

Casting True Strike does multiple things: first, it gives you what is essentially “advantage” in other systems (rolling two dice and taking the higher), which is worth +3.325 on average. Second, it ignores circumstance penalties to the roll. Third, it ignores any flat check to hit on concealed or hidden targets.

Let’s break those down.

For the first effect, a +3.325 is valuable, but not necessarily better than an extra attack. It depends on how likely you are to hit and how much damage you deal.

For the second effect, the value is obviously dependent on whether you are taking any penalties.

The third effect is deceptively powerful. On a hidden creature, you’re ignoring an instant 50% chance to miss, and on a concealed creature, you’re ignoring an instant 20% chance to miss. That is extremely powerful when it’s relevant.

So, True Strike is particularly valuable against stealthed enemies. That’s a particularly good time to use it. Otherwise, you would consider using it if you really need one particular attack to hit (for sneak attack, poison, etc.) or if your attack (especially a third attack) is likely to miss otherwise.

class feature – How does Shadow Sneak Attack Progress? Will it work with Strategic Strike?

First, Shadow Sneak Attack doesn’t progress. It’s 1d6 forever.

You gain the sneak attack class feature, except you deal 1d6 precision
damage regardless of your level. Sneak attack from multiple sources
isn’t cumulative. If you have sneak attack from more than one source,
use only the highest number of dice when you sneak attack rather than
adding the amounts together.

However, fortuitously for you, it does stack with your Strategic Strike. Precision damage stacks with itself by default, and where there are exceptions, they’re called out specifically (as above).

dnd 5e – How does Steel Wind Strike interact with Heated Body special trait?

Eddy the mage is facing 3 Azors, which are 15, 25 and 10 ft far away from him. Azors have the special trait Heated Body (emphasis mine):

Heated Body. A creature that touches the azer or hits it with a melee attack while within 5 feet of it takes 5 (1d10) fire damage.

Eddy casts Steel Wind Strike (emphasis mine):

You flourish the weapon used in the casting and then vanish to strike like the wind. Choose up to five creatures you can see within range. Make a melee spell attack against each target. On a hit, a target takes 6d10 force damage.

You can then teleport to an unoccupied space you can see within 5 feet of one of the targets you hit or missed.

hits all of them, and he does not teleport from his current position.

Since a melee spell attack is a melee attack, does Eddy take the fire damage given by the Heated Body trait? Is he considered to be within 5 feet during each attack?

dnd 5e – Does a Javelin of Lightning allow a cleric to use Thunderous Strike?

To quote Naut Arch’s answer

It’s going to be up to the situation and up to the DM

There are no rules that specify who does what when it’s not a directly related cause and effect that can easily be traced back to a creature. Heck, it’s not even always cut and dry to trace back to a creature.

Because of that, the situations will matter and it will end up being a DM decision as to if the warlock is the source or something/someone else.


Personally, clearly the thrower of the Javelin is dealing damage

This specific case does not give any truly explicit indication of who/what is dealing the damage. That said, the weapon does state the following:

(…) Make a ranged weapon attack against the target. (…)

Where you, the attacker, the one using the Javelin, are making the attack. However, this is, technically, not 100% utterly and entirely explicitly stating that you are also the one dealing the damage. In fact, the same weapon later states (emphasis mine):

(…) the target takes damage from the javelin plus 4d6 lightning damage. (…)

I believe “from the Javelin” here is merely meant to convey that the target takes the regular damage as well as 4d6 lightning damage instead of just 4d6 damage, but this could still be construed as meaning the Javelin itself is dealing its normal damage and then also the 4d6 lightning damage.

The weapon’s description is not perfectly clear, but I would rule, in a heartbeat, that the one using the Javelin is dealing damage with said Javelin and thus they are the one dealing the damage. Perhaps the Javelin is also dealing the damage (after all, damage need not be caused by only one thing), but until a scenario arises where that call is required, I do not know how I would rule. I almost can’t imagine anybody even claiming the attacker isn’t the one dealing damage because it would be like arguing somebody swinging a sword isn’t dealing damage when they very much are.


What about the saving throw damage?

It is, of course, also ultimately up to the GM. That said, I would similarly, personally rule that this damage is also caused by the one attacking with the Javelin. They are the one who is dictating its path and choosing where the Javelin is sent, they have a great enough amount of agency in this scenario, they can, to me, meaningfully be said to be the causer or the damage, that I would conclude the damage can be considered to be being done by them as well.