dnd 5e – Can a Warlock use Pact Magic slots to cast spells learned from another spellcaster class?

Yes, you can use warlock slots to cast any spell you know. It’s in the PHB in the section on multiclassing. Page 164:

If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature, and you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know.

The effect is determined by the slot’s level, as always in D&D 5e.

dnd 5e – If a warlock activates the Maddening Hex eldritch invocation, does it damage all targets cursed by the warlock?

The intent is that you can only damage one cursed target (and creatures next to it) at a time

The invocation repeatedly refers to a single cursed target

As you note, the Maddening Hex eldritch invocation says (XGtE, p. 57; emphasis mine):

As a bonus action, you cause a psychic disturbance around the
target
cursed by your hex spell or by a warlock feature of yours
(…) When you do so, you deal psychic damage to the cursed target
and each creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it.
(…) To use this invocation, you must be able to see the cursed
target
, and it must be within 30 feet of you.

The feature doesn’t explicitly say the damage is dealt to only one cursed target, but it repeatedly refers to the target in the singular (i.e. “the (cursed) target”, or “it”). This suggests that even if you do have multiple curses active – such as a hex on one creature, and a Hexblade’s Curse on another – you simply choose one of these cursed targets when you activate Maddening Hex, dealing the damage to only that creature and other creatures (of your choice) adjacent to it.

Designer intent indicates that Maddening Hex triggers off just one of the creatures you have cursed

Rules designer Jeremy Crawford answered this exact question in an unofficial tweet from November 2017:

For Maddening Hex, does the psychic damage trigger off of every target cursed by you within range, (One creature cursed by Hexblade’s Curse and another cursed by the spell Hex, or the like) or only a single cursed target per turn?

Maddening Hex works on one cursed target at a time.

Crawford’s unofficial ruling seems to match the wording of the feature. You may have multiple targets cursed at a time using different warlock features and/or the hex spell, but Maddening Hex only activates on one such target. As you point out, it says “the (cursed) target”, singular – so even if you’ve cursed multiple targets, you can only use Maddening Hex to deal damage to one cursed target (and creatures adjacent to that one, of your choice) at a time.

Lore of relation between warlock and wild magic

I have a question about wild-magic areas in DnD.
I’m playing D&D 5e but my question is more lore related. If you want I’ll accept an dead-magic answer 🙂

Are wild-magic zones affecting warlock?

As I interpret the lore wild-magic is basically wound in Weave, in magic threads(or net). So it shouldn’t affect divine magic as it’s a “different type” of magic. The problem is that warlock also has some entity from whom he receive magic. We can say it’s type of divine magic, can’t we? Warlock is praying to someone or something and effect something is happening, pretty much like cleric, it’s a favour. A highier beeing should be able to cast a spell without any difficulty therefore warlock should too.

Is there any in-lore reason that wild-magic affects or not warlock or is it a gm decision? If so, give me the reasons.

dnd 5e – How many spell slots does a Level 3 Warlock have?

The explanation of spell slots is shown on page 107 of the PHB:

SPELL SLOTS

The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have.
The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all
of your spell slots are the same level. To cast one of your
warlock spells of 1st level or higher, you must expend a
spell slot. You regain all expended spell slots when you
finish a short or long rest.

For example, when you are 5th level, you have
two 3rd-level spell slots. To cast the 3rd-level spell
thunderwave, you must spend one of those slots, and
you cast it as a 3rd-level spell.

So at 3rd level, you have 2 slots, you know 4 spells and you cast them as 2nd level spells.

dnd 5e – Are the Book of Shadow or Genie’s Vessel granted by Warlock features considered as magic items?

Basically the title.

If a Warlock fights by wielding their Book of Shadow or Genie Vessel in one hand as a spell focus and keeps the other one empty to meet the requirement of somatic component, they will eventually end up in situations where they are forced to use the book or vessel as an improvised weapon (like when an enemy closed the distance or when the Warlock needs to perform an Opportunity Attack). So the question is, would hitting someone with the spine of the book of shadow or their oil lamp of a Genie Vessel be considered using an improvised weapon with magical properties?

For the Vessel, It is a tiny object, but not specifically written as “a magical tiny object” even if the previous sentence mention that the patron has imbued magical powers with it. The Warlock can do lots of wacky stuff with it like sleeping in it or dragging others into it to rest, but it almost seems like its the power of the Class Feature using the item in question as the medium in which the feature’s power (and thus your Patron’s power) is expressed, and not the power of the Item proper.

Genie’s Vessel ;
1st-level Genie feature ;
Your patron gifts you a magical vessel that grants you a measure of the genie’s power. The vessel is a Tiny object, and you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells. You decide what the object is, or you can determine what it is randomly by rolling on the Genie’s Vessel table.

The book of shadow is even more vague; it is only stated to be a grimoire, and nothing else about it’s materalistic properties are mentioned or explained further other than that if its lost or destroyed you can resummon it. How durable is it, anyway?

This also opens some icky boxes like “Would anti-magic fields suppress their magical properties or destroy them outright?” and something like “If the Genie’s Vessel is indeed a magic item and using it as an improvised weapon can pierce resistance, the Genie Warlock has access to a magical weapon that is basically the equivalent of a +0 but magical dagger at LV1” etc.

I am aware that some similar questions have been asked, like “Does attacking with an improvised weapon using a magic item count as a magical attack?” and “Are punches with Gauntlets of Ogre Strength magical, improvised weapon attacks?”; but the main issue here is that both the book of shadow and the vessel’s status as a separate magical item seems to be a bit unclear.

PS: Before someone says that using it as an improvised weapon is a poor choice of tactics, keep in mind that Genie Warlocks gain extra damage from the “Genie’s Wrath” Feature equal to their proficiency bonus. Compared to wielding a regular dagger with the damage of 1d4 + dex + pb, using the Genie’s Vessel as an improvised weapon of 1d4 + str + pb isn’t that bad; and depending on how the DM would rule it could be counted as magical and be able to pierce resistances.

dnd 5e – How should my Warlock player use their familiar during battles?

One of my players has a Warlock character and is using Pact of the Chain for their Pact Boon. They most often cast a pseudodragon as their familiar, but neither of us are sure about how they should be using the pseudodragon during fights. Does the familiar get its own turn in the turn order? Or can the familiar only act when the Warlock gives up their action slot? I read the PHB content, but I’m still unclear how/if the pseudodragon should be used in fights.

anima beyond fantasy – Do I need to have the Gift to be a Wizard / Warlock etc?

The group is getting started (I’m the GM), and we’re confused – do you need to take the CP Advantage “the gift” in order to be a Mystic class? (Warlock/Wizard/Summoner etc)? It isn’t mentioned as a requirement, but it’s heavily implied by how the advantage is worded. Is it intended that these classes have a generic -2 Advantage point balance? Makes a huge difference in character generation – thanks in advance if anyone has any insight.

dnd 5e – Does a warlock require material components for a Mystic Arcanum spell?

Mystic Arcanum only excuses the spell slot requirement.

Mystic Arcanum states:

At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again.

Notably, we are still casting the spell, so any requirements for casting the spell that are not excused by the feature still apply:

A spell’s components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it.

You don’t expend a spell slot, but you still need to fulfill any and all component requirements.

dnd 5e – Can a high level warlock with Book of Ancient Secrets learn ritual spells higher than 5th level?

Yes, but it’s not a big deal

There are only two spells that are above 5th level and have the ritual tag; Forbiddance and Drawmij’s Instant Summons

Let’s look at the wording of the Invocation:

You can now inscribe magical rituals in your Book of Shadows. Choose two 1st-level spells that have the ritual tag from any class’s spell list (the two needn’t be from the same list). The spells appear in the book and don’t count against the number of spells you know. With your Book of Shadows in hand, you can cast the chosen spells as rituals. You can’t cast the spells except as rituals, unless you’ve learned them by some other means. You can also cast a warlock spell you know as a ritual if it has the ritual tag.

On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows. When you find such a spell, you can add it to the book if the spell’s level is equal to or less than half your warlock level (rounded up) and if you can spare the time to transcribe the spell. For each level of the spell, the transcription process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp for the rare inks needed to inscribe it.

So you start with two spells from any class list, so long as they are rituals. As you adventure, you can also transcribe other ritual spells, so long as their level is half of your warlock level, rounded down. Not the level of spell you can cast. So at 12th level, you can cast 6th level ritual spells, so long as you have acquired and transcribed them into your Book of Shadows.

Additional, you can “cast a warlock spell you know as a ritual if it has the ritual tag.” But once again, this list is very limited; seven total if we include all Warlock sub-classes:

  • Comprehend Languages
  • Illusory Script
  • Unseen Servant
  • Silence
  • Feign Death
  • Meld into Stone
  • Contact other Plane

And it works for Arcanum, too

If some future rule change adds either Forbiddance or Instant Summons as an Arcanum, or they make a new sub-class with a new 6th-level ritual spell, those work too.

The wording of Arcanum states:

At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum.

You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again.

At higher levels, you gain more warlock spells of your choice that can be cast in this way.

So Arcanum are warlock spells, and the Invocation states that the character can cast ritual warlock spells as rituals.

dnd 3.5e – Can a warlock combine an essence into hellfire blast?

Yes, Hellfire Blast can be combined with eldritch essences.

Hellfire Warlock’s Hellfire Blast ability is not an eldritch essence. Here is the description of the ability (from Fiendish Codex II, p. 89):

Hellfire Blast (Sp): Whenever you use your eldritch blast ability, you can change your eldritch blast into a hell fire blast. A hellfire blast deals your normal eldritch blast damage plus an extra 2d6 points of damage per class level. If your blast hits multiple targets (for example, the eldritch chain or eldritch cone blast shape invocations), each target takes the extra damage. This damage is not fire damage. Hellfire burns hotter than any normal fire, as described in the sidebar on page 119.

Each time you use this ability, you take 1 point of Constitution damage. Because the diabolical forces behind the power of hellfire demand part of your essence in exchange for this granted power, if you do not have a Constitution score or are somehow immune to Constitution damage, you cannot use this ability.

No mention is made in this ability of being an eldritch essence, or being incompatible with eldritch essences.

When you combine eldritch blast with an eldritch essence, you are still using eldritch blast, and therefore qualify for the triggering conditions described above (“Whenever you use your eldritch blast ability”).

How would that change effective caster level of the blast?

Neither Hellfire Blast nor eldritch essences have any effect on your caster level when using eldritch blast. The effective caster level of the blast will be your effective Warlock class level (including advancement from Hellfire Warlock), plus any bonuses you have to caster level from other sources.