dnd 5e – Can you stack the martial discipline “weretouched” in the living weapon monk subclass?

The living weapon monk subclass has the “Martial discipline” class feature, where you can choose a martial style. And one of them say as follow:

Weretouched. Once per turn, when you hit a creature with an unarmed attack, you can spend 1 ki point to rend your target and inflict deep bleeding wounds. At the start of each of the creature’s turns for the next minute, it takes 1d4 points of slashing damage from this effect. The effect ends early if the creature has one or more hit points restored, if any creature uses its action to expend one use of a healer’s kit, or makes a successful Wisdom (Medicine) check with a DC equal to your ki save DC.

Can you stack the bleeding effect if the enemy doesn’t get rid of it?

pathfinder 1e – How does Improved Critical feat work with a Soul Knife’s Emulate Weapon Blade Skill?

You can take Improved Critical Mind Blade (or rapier)

From Form Mind Blade,

She can also choose her mind blade for feats requiring a specific weapon choice, such as Weapon Focus and Improved Critical.

And Emulate Melee Weapon,

The soulknife is proficient with her mind blade in this form and it functions in all ways as the chosen weapon.

The emulated melee weapon ‘counts as’ whatever weapon you Emulate and, if you chose them, Feats and other abilities that specify that weapon would work… but it is also still a Mind Blade and benefits from anything that specifically affect Mind Blades.

dnd 5e – If spiritual weapon allowed you to use spells with it would it be broken? Yes, but if I put this limit on it would it still be?

I am toiling with a spiritual weapon-based subclass homebrew idea. In the base game, the way you would use spiritual weapon would be alongside a cantrip or weapon attack. This is because you can’t use 2 spells in the same turn in the base D&D ruleset.

First to describe it in full: at the third level, you would gain the ability to use a spiritual weapon with other spells with a limit on what spells you could use.

Essentially, the homebrew would be a cleric that could be able to use spells with spiritual weapon. I’ve been doing the numbers comparing it to other clerics and the damage seems strong even if you limit the spell slots usable when attacking with it to using spells up to half the cleric spell slot level you used to cast it rounded up. Only being able to use 5th level spells like flame strike would be the strongest option. At level 20 The damage with a 9th level spiritual weapon and a flame strike would be 4d6 fire damage, 4d6 radiant damage, and 8d8 radiant damage. In total that would be 112 damage assuming you got the highest possible roll. Even at level 20, this is a high amount of damage, especially for a cleric but I don’t think there is a way to increase that. A paladin power gaming super hard can do around 200 damage. Any other cleric can do 70 damage with firestorm. Most spellcasting classes can do 240 damage with meteor storm alone. Of course, this is at extremely high levels.

At low levels, it has reasonably higher damage than most classes but still does less damage than a war cleric or any other character with the Great Weapon Master feat alone. I’m thinking at most levels, except when you get 9th level spells, it should be fine. Clerics don’t really gain higher damaging spells past 5th level so it’s hard making the damage comparable. They gain more utility instead.

I’m thinking if I stray away from stronger subclass spells it should be fine. What do you think? I’m also considering that someone has already thought of and made this idea but I don’t know of any cleric class that does this in homebrew. Of course, it can’t be stronger than the peace domain so it’s probably fine.

Now in hindsight, I realized that a cleric can do more damage with toll the dead and spiritual weapon at level 17. They can in fact do 112 damage exactly. This makes the highest possible damages more comparable but flame strike is an area spell so it can do more overall damage but so can something like sunburst with that logic. It would also consume fewer resources.

I’m essentially asking for any thoughts on if this is too strong. Also, remember that the built-in limit is you can only do this with cleric spells off your cleric spell list. So no divine soul sorcerer tomfoolery.

dnd 5e – If spiritual weapon allowed you to use spells with it would it be broken? Yes, but if I put this limit on it would it still be?

I am toiling with a spiritual weapon-based subclass homebrew idea. In the base game, the way you would use spiritual weapon would be alongside a cantrip or weapon attack. This is because you can’t use 2 spells in the same turn in the base D&D ruleset.

First to describe it in full: at the third level, you would gain the ability to use a spiritual weapon with other spells with a limit on what spells you could use.

Essentially, the homebrew would be a cleric that could be able to use spells with spiritual weapon. I’ve been doing the numbers comparing it to other clerics and the damage seems strong even if you limit the spell slots usable when attacking with it to using spells up to half the cleric spell slot level you used to cast it rounded up. Only being able to use 5th level spells like flame strike would be the strongest option. At level 20 The damage with a 9th level spiritual weapon and a flame strike would be 4d6 fire damage, 4d6 radiant damage, and 8d8 radiant damage. In total that would be 112 damage assuming you got the highest possible roll. Even at level 20, this is a high amount of damage, especially for a cleric but I don’t think there is a way to increase that. A paladin power gaming super hard can do around 200 damage. Any other cleric can do 70 damage with firestorm. Most spellcasting classes can do 240 damage with meteor storm alone. Of course, this is at extremely high levels.

At low levels, it has reasonably higher damage than most classes but still does less damage than a war cleric or any other character with the Great Weapon Master feat alone. I’m thinking at most levels, except when you get 9th level spells, it should be fine. Clerics don’t really gain higher damaging spells past 5th level so it’s hard making the damage comparable. They gain more utility instead.

I’m thinking if I stray away from stronger subclass spells it should be fine. What do you think? I’m also considering that someone has already thought of and made this idea but I don’t know of any cleric class that does this in homebrew. Of course, it can’t be stronger than the peace domain so it’s probably fine.

Now in hindsight, I realized that a cleric can do more damage with toll the dead and spiritual weapon at level 17. They can in fact do 112 damage exactly. This makes the highest possible damages more comparable but flame strike is an area spell so it can do more overall damage but so can something like sunburst with that logic. It would also consume fewer resources.

I’m essentially asking for any thoughts on if this is too strong. Also, remember that the built-in limit is you can only do this with cleric spells off your cleric spell list. So no divine soul sorcerer tomfoolery.

balance – If spiritual weapon allowed you to use spells with it would it be broken?

balance – If spiritual weapon allowed you to use spells with it would it be broken? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

pathfinder 1e – Does the Soul Knife’s blade skill Mind Blade Finesse require the Weapon Finesse feat?

Mind Blade Finesse states:

Mind Blade Finesse: The benefits of the Weapon Finesse feat apply to the mind blade even when it is in forms that cannot normally be the subject of Weapon Finesse (including two-handed forms).

Compare this to Flurry of Fists:

Flurry of Fists: When making unarmed attacks and making a full attack, the soulknife can make one additional attack at her highest attack bonus, but all attacks in the full attack suffer a -2 penalty to the attack roll. This extra attack does not stack with abilities that grant additional attacks, such as Two-Weapon Fighting, Flurry of Blows, or other such effects. The soulknife must have the Improved Unarmed Strike feat in order to select this blade skill.

Since Mind Blade Finesse does not have that line about requiring weapon finesse in order to take it, you can take it without having the feat.

Note: In order to receive the effects of weapon finesse, you still need to have taken the feat, as all Mind Blade Finesse does is allow you to apply its effects to your weapons.

dnd 5e – When are Opportunity Attacks provoked while holding a reach and a non-reach weapon?

What I find unclearly defined in the rules is how long the benefit to reach lasts when using a weapon with reach.

Consider again the text:

Reach. This weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it.

Emphasis added.

Clearly we cannot believe that every time you swing a whip your reach increases, first to 10, then to 15, then to 20 and so on. This is obviously not the intended interpretation.

So, how long does the benefit to reach last? Your attack? Your turn? The entire round? Until your next turn? This much seems to be unclear when working strictly within RAW.

An overly-restrictive interpretation would be that when your opponent triggers the opportunity attack, you are not currently attacking with any weapon at all. In that case, your reach is 5 feet. If you take this interpretation, then opportunity the opportunity attack only occurs if the opponent moves out of your 5 foot reach.

How we interpret the RAW verbiage in our campaign:

An alternative interpretation that I consider worth some merit requires an imaginative interpretation of “when you attack.” It is this: whichever weapon you use for the attack action should also be the weapon with which you make opportunity attacks.

Using this interpretation, even if fighting two-handed, it is unambiguous which weapon is used to perform opportunity attacks, and therefore unambiguous what your reach is for opportunity attacks. If two weapon fighting, you would use the same weapon used for your primary attack action, not the weapon used for your bonus action. In the whip/dagger combination, which is not compatible with two weapon fighting, you would use the weapon most recently used to attack.

Specifically addressing the whip/dagger situation, it is already understood that because a whip is not light, a character cannot use a bonus action to enable attacking with both weapons in a round. While not explicitly stated in RAW, I consider it a reasonable extension that a reaction also does not enable attacking with the second weapon.

pathfinder 1e – Does a weapon imbued with the Inquisitor Bane ability count as magical for bypassing DR and damaging incorporeals?

Yes, it count as magical.

It is sure that the weapon count as magical related to bypass damage reduction and so on when you apply the bane inquisitor ability to it because the bane ability is a supernatural(Su) effect (and therefore is magical).

In short, yes it overcomes DR/magic and can damage incorporeal foes.

Su: Supernatural abilities are magical but not spell-like. Supernatural abilities are not subject to spell resistance and do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated (such as an antimagic field). A supernatural ability’s effect cannot be dispelled and is not subject to counterspells.

Your other question can be a bit more tricky but what I suggest to you (so do not take that as a rule because what are you asking is not directly specified in the manuals as far as I know) is to follow the rule that specific overrides general and say that you can apply the bane ability to a weapon regardless of if it is already magical or not (since it does not specify anything in this matter).

Bane (Su): At 5th level, an inquisitor can imbue one of her weapons with the bane weapon special ability as a swift action. She must select one creature type when she uses this ability (and a subtype if the creature type selected is humanoid or outsider). Once selected, the type can be changed as a swift action. This ability only functions while the inquisitor wields the weapon. If dropped or taken, the weapon resumes granting this ability if it is returned to the inquisitor before the duration expires.

As an example you can see that in other abilities of this kind (where you apply effects to a weapon) are very specific:

From paladin divine bond:

(…) These bonuses are added to any properties the weapon already has, but duplicate abilities do not stack. If the weapon is not magical, at least a +1 enhancement bonus must be added before any other properties can be added.

From magus arcane pool:

(…) Adding these properties consumes an amount of bonus equal to the property’s base price modifier. These properties are added to any the weapon already has, but duplicates do not stack. If the weapon is not magical, at least a +1 enhancement bonus must be added before any other properties can be added.

Hope it helps,

Marco.

dnd 5e – If I have expertise in a skill and I take Aereni Expertise over the Elf Weapon Training, does that mean that I would have quadruple proficencey bonus?

dnd 5e – If I have expertise in a skill and I take Aereni Expertise over the Elf Weapon Training, does that mean that I would have quadruple proficencey bonus? – Role-playing Games Stack Exchange

dnd 5e – If a character with the Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style has no weapons drawn, can they use Two-Weapon Fighting to draw and throw 2 daggers?

No, the interaction of these two rules does not allow you to draw and attack with two daggers using TWF.

(See @Medix2’s answer for how you might achieve the desired result anyway, though.)

The Two-Weapon Fighting rules (as you’ve quoted) require you to already have both weapons drawn (emphasis mine):

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, (…)

The “holding in one hand” is a qualifier for both the first and the second weapon, meaning that at the start of this attack combo, you need to have both weapons in one hand each.

The Thrown Weapon Fighting fighting style allows you to draw them as part of the Attack action, which means that when you make attack #1, you do not have weapon #2 in your hand.

This concludes in grammatical nitpickery, because Two-Weapon Fighting specifies that the conditions (both weapons in a hand each) have to be met when making the first attack. Since this (implicitly) excludes drawing them within the action, you cannot use Two-Weapon Fighting in this case.


However, as a DM, I personally would absolutely let this slide. You are already taking a niche and likely non-optimal route, so why not?

DreamProxies - Cheapest USA Elite Private Proxies 100 Private Proxies 200 Private Proxies 400 Private Proxies 1000 Private Proxies 2000 Private Proxies ExtraProxies.com - Buy Cheap Private Proxies Buy 50 Private Proxies Buy 100 Private Proxies Buy 200 Private Proxies Buy 500 Private Proxies Buy 1000 Private Proxies Buy 2000 Private Proxies ProxiesLive Proxies-free.com New Proxy Lists Every Day Proxies123